We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The way it was.”
Review of Ona Campanario

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ona Campanario
Ranked #12 of 28 Hotels in Mijas
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The way it was.”
Reviewed September 29, 2013

This complex was taken over by Ongroup Time share only 18 months ago they have made very good efforts in such a short time to bring this by all accounts rundown complex back to life, it is beautiful now, pool & gardens fantastic.
The inside rooms are of a good standard some are better then others but all rooms are very clean from what we looked at, only down side no kettle or hairdryer in the room.
The roof terraces are very good and most are private, the only issue with the one we had there were no sun beds for us to use I asked but none could be made available.
The staff were fantastic all round. Thank you we look forward to returning and seeing the improvements.

Room Tip: Front suites large and have the sun most of the day, some road noise, note no lifts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tometoyou999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OnaHotels, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Ona Campanario, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your time and for sharing your opinion with us. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay in our resort.
We are sure that all your suggestions will help other customers to enjoy their stay at Ona Campanario even more.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    65
    32
    6
    8
See reviews for
70
33
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Great place to go to for a relaxing time..good choice of breakfast, entertainment, lovely meals...really enjoyed the pool area & available sun loungers... the surrounding gardens are kept very tidy...complex very clean...the staff were all very pleasant & helpful....the disappointment was the air conditioning....there was none in the bedrooms & the beds were not comfortable..but overall I would definitely go back!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elaine331
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OnaHotels, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Ona Campanario, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your warm comment, which is a great motivation for the whole team.
Ensuring that all our guests have a fabulous stay is our main objective and knowing that we have achieved it gives us pride.
We hope to host you again in your future visit.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

We have just returned on the 26th August from our second stay here this year. We had a 3 bedroom apartment which was lovely. A couple of minor items missing from the apartment, ie,kettle and hairdryer. We informed reception and they were in our apartment within half an hour.
The staff are lovely and very helpful, the only criticism would be there is no air con in the bedrooms. This wouldn't normally matter but it was unusually hot through the night.
This wouldn't stop us from staying there again and plan to do so.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OnaHotels, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Ona Campanario, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for the time spent in sharing your opinion through TripAdvisor.
We are sure that your comments will help other users to enjoy their stay with us even more.
The whole Ona Campanario team strives daily to fulfil the wishes of our guests and our ultimate reward is customer satisfaction.
We look forward to welcoming you to our hotel on your next visit.

Warmest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We have just returned from a fabulous holiday at Ona Campanario. Initially there was a mix up with our reservation and we were given two 1 bedroom apartments which were fabulous, after a couple of days we were moved into a 3 bedroomed apartment - all I can say is WOW. Fabulous accommodation. Fabulous Pool area, no rushing for a sun bed (first time ever on holiday) and what can I say about the staff here. Carmen and her front of house staff were all friendly. The cleaning staff who came every day again were all friendly. The guy who served the food, who was on his own the day we decided to eat in was run off his feet (there were 9 of us all together), but he managed well and the food was good.
Would definitley recommend this accomodation, the only thing I would say is that you get use to the walk to the restaurants at the bottom of the hill.

Room Tip: We had room 33, this was a three bedroom apartment and better than having a top floor apartment as i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OnaHotels, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Ona Campanario, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your warm comment, which is a great motivation for the whole team.
Ensuring that all our guests have a fabulous stay is our main objective and knowing that we have achieved it gives us pride.
We hope to host you again in your future visit.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellesmere, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Just returned from a great holiday here, we exchanged our timeshare via interval, we stayed in room 36 a two bedroom apartment it was spotless as was he whole complex, the pools were great too. We ate breakfast every day in restaurant here which was great value.
Members of staff were amazing Carmen on front desk helped us a lot with days out and information always welcoming with a smile.Raya guest relations was lovely too couldn't help us enough always smiling. Will in the restaurant was such a lovely guy who did his best every morning to help even though he was ran off his feet bless him.
The only downside is the pool bar was closed which was an inconvenience as there were no where to purchase drinks by the pool but had to go to main restaurant.
Having travelled alt we can be very critical of places but even though amenities need updating the whole site is spotless and clean with very competent staff every where, would go back here.
Shops and small bars about 200 yrds away.

Room Tip: We were in room 36 which had a private balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindafaulkner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OnaHotels, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Ona Campanario, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your time and for sharing your opinion with us. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay in our resort.
We are sure that all your suggestions will help other customers to enjoy their stay at Ona Campanario even more.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

I am at the apartment hotel now (apartment 93), 23 JULY 2013. The Apartment hotel is in extremely bad shape. The pictures on the web lie. Full of ants in the kitchen and living room. The gym is an a horrendous state, with old rusty material (it is not a gym). The entertainment is non-existant because it belong to a separate restaurant at which you MUST east there. It is not worth the price. And Onagrup, the owners, just rip you off, becaseu its members (or Interval members) are paying yearly for nothing. It MUST be ranked 1 key and not 3 keys as it is now. I seriously recommend to avoid it!

Room Tip: Avoid this place, unless you can y¡get it for 40 EUROS a night in which case bring plenty of ant ins...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DominicW_Madrid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OnaHotels, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Ona Campanario, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Dear Dominic,

First of all, let me thank you for the time you have dedicated to write a review regarding your recent stay at Ona Campanario.
We welcome suggestions and comments: thanks to them we can detect our weaknesses and at the same time, make improvements to our service. This is under the condition that they conform to some experienced reality.

I apologize if your stay was not as expected, the whole team Ona Campanario strives daily to offer the best service and the maximum customer satisfaction.
We hope to welcome you again in the future in order to demonstrate our interest for customer satisfaction.

Warm greetings,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Mijas hotels

Heanor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2013

We stayed here for a week self catering in September 2009.

We were happy with the accommodation. Clean, spacious and well equipped. Gym was a nice touch. Pool was freezing! Parking spaces out front which was handy as we hired a car. Supermarket and little shopping area at the bottom of the street. Straight off the Cadiz road, so well positioned to explore the area. We went to Marbella, Gibraltar, Fuengirola, Benelmadena, Mijas, Coin and La Cala, and this hotel was positioned nicely between them all.

My husband's parents (who we took with us) said they would have liked more daytime things to do within the immediate area (i.e walking distance). There were however some nice bars and restaurants, where we spent most evenings, with only a short walk back to the apartment.

Happy with this choice of accommodation, good value for money.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank AmiHoggard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OnaHotels, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Ona Campanario, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your time and for sharing your opinion with us. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay in our resort.
We are sure that all your suggestions will help other customers to enjoy their stay at Ona Campanario even more.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mijas hotels
0.3 mi away
Club Calahonda Crown Resort
0.2 mi away
Club Marbella/Regency Palms Crown Resort
5.2 mi away
Eurostars Mijas Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Club Delta Mar Crown Resort
Club Delta Mar Crown Resort
#2 of 3 in Sitio de Calahonda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grangefield Oasis Club
Grangefield Oasis Club
#26 of 28 in Mijas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 583 reviews
2.3 mi away
VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol
VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol
#3 of 4 in La Cala de Mijas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ona Campanario? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ona Campanario

Property: Ona Campanario
Address: Urbanizacion Sitio de Calahonda | Avenida Espana 22, 29649, Mijas, Spain (Formerly Atlantic Club Campanario de Calahonda)
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Mijas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 28 Hotels in Mijas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ona Campanario 3*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ona Campanario is a fantastic holiday complex situated a 15-minute walk from Calahonda Beach, in Mijas - Costa. The apartment complex offers an outdoor pool, a hot tub and gym as well as a cafe with terrace, a perfect spot to start the journey with a tasty breakfast. For your comfort these apartments have a 24-hour reception. Ona Campanario offers 1 (55m2), 2 (75m2) and 3 (100m2) bedroom apartments equipped to make you feel at home. In that way, all of them have air-conditioning, a private balcony and satellite TV. Kitchens include a microwave, fridge and washing machine. The complex is located in Mijas Costa, between Marbella and Fuengirola. The supermarkets, bars and restaurants of Sitio de Calahonda are within a 5-minute walk. Puerto de Cabopino Port is one kilometre away, and La Siesta Golf Club is less than 3 km away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Ona Campanario reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vime Campanario De Calahonda Hotel Mijas
Vime Campanario De Calahonda Mijas
Ona Campanario Spain/Mijas, Costa Del Sol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing