We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very quiet and relaxing holiday.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
ILUNION Hacienda del Sol
Ranked #5 of 28 Hotels in Mijas
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very quiet and relaxing holiday.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

Stayed here for 10 nights recently. Hotel has lovely grounds and a fantastic pool. Food is average but we didn't starve! Plenty to chose from at breakfast but poor selection of deserts at dinner. Evening entertainment is very poor, a man on his electronic keyboard who sounded like a Eurovision reject!! There were some poolside activities for the kids but they were mainly Spanish kids but my son was happy to join in. Hotel was very clean though so no complaints there. It really is in the middle of nowhere. You can get a bus up to Mijas which only takes 5 minutes or a bus down to Fuengirola but the buses stop running at 10pm. We were half board and the bar drinks were quite expensive so it may be better to go all inclusive. We went with our 7 year old son and didn't pay over the odds for the holiday so cant really complain. If you want a quiet and relaxing holiday this is the hotel to go to although the most exciting thing to happen to us was the bush fire on the road outside the hotel!

Room Tip: We had a room on the top floor overlooking the pool. Had to change from the original room we were of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sunsian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

770 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    204
    321
    169
    40
    36
See reviews for
172
372
23
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

We stayed there with our 2 young kids as a first stop on a longer trip - kids didn't want to leave! Room was clean and very spacious. Nice clean pool. Good buffet breakfast. Plenty of space for kids to run around. Overall very satisfied with the place as it was very reasonable money.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Ed O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

Just got back from a weeks all inclusive stay with my husband,hotel is lovely a bit out of the way which makes it a nice relaxing break.Mainly full of Spanish holidaymakers entertainment was a let down ,food was good bar service slow as only one on but there is a pool bar available.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ryanmia02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

Lovely tidy hotel great views of the surrounding mountings but you must hire a car as you cant walk anywere as there arnt paths but there is a bus stop outside . Its about 15 mins drive to nearest beach 5 mins, to nearest mini market (quiet cheap) lidl 7 mins away lol. rooms very clean good air conditioning mini fridge but no kettle or irons available !! But they do offer a laundry service rooms would suit 3 star but hotel its self is defo 4 star .the hotel offers indoor and outdoor pool .tennis courts , gym , table tennis , mini golf . Staff are extremely friendly and help full

Make sure you hire a car our you will regret it I would recommend you give gold car rentals a wide birth

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank edge2247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

Very clean rooms, an excellent evening buffet and an efficient booking in and out system,promises an enjoyable stay. The pool and outside terraces are well laid out with plenty of space. The only downside is the location. The road into Mijas is along a steep and winding road neccesitating use of the local bus service.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

We have been four times and always enjoyed it especially this year and it has improved. The staff are very welcoming and happy to help anytime,the will cater for your every need and the bus trip to Fuengirola and Mijas is very near by and staff will provide you with a bus timetable. The cleanliness is first class and the food also. Beautiful views from every window. Bed and breakfast and all inclusive are both a great value. Would recommend to anyone thinking of booking here and we will gladly come for our fifth time. This place is a true Hacienda

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank Mia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

The Hacienda is a more traditional Spanish Hotel, it is 3 miles from Fuengirola , the bus stop is just around the corner from the hotel.The village of Majas is a short way and worth a visit to eat out. The Hacienda is slightly away from the main tourist attractions but that is exactly what we wanted.

The hotel attracts people passing through on coach trips or independant travellers. Hotel rooms are quite basic, plesent and clean. The pool is lovely but very cold while we were there ,plenty of sun beds.
We went all inclusive which worked out well for us, food was buffet style and generally very good.(all inclusive ended at 12 midnight) and the bar shut then too was a bit annoying sometimes if you wanted to drink after that time We went as a large wedding party and had a wonderful stay sometimes we could get a little noisy but the staff were great and tried to accommodate everyone A big thank you to the staff who helped on the wedding day especially the housekeeping ladies who ran around ironing shirts and trousers for many of the young men in the wedding party

We had a wonderful time at the hotel and would love to return one day a week would be enough Thank you all.

Room Tip: A room not near a staircase can get a bit noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jasmine078
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mijas
1.2 mi away
TRH Mijas
TRH Mijas
#7 of 28 in Mijas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,174 reviews
6.1 mi away
VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol
VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol
#3 of 4 in La Cala de Mijas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,173 reviews
7.0 mi away
El Oceano Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Eurostars Mijas Golf & Spa
2.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Resort & Spa Reserva del Higueron
5.6 mi away
Hotel & Spa Benalmadena Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ILUNION Hacienda del Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ILUNION Hacienda del Sol

Property: ILUNION Hacienda del Sol
Address: Carretera Fuengirola | KM 4, 29650, Mijas, Spain (Formerly Hacienda Puerta del Sol)
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Mijas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Mijas
#2 Best Value Hotel in Mijas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — ILUNION Hacienda del Sol 4*
Number of rooms: 151
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TravelUp, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your ILUNION Hacienda del Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hacienda Puerta Del Sol Hotel Mijas
Hacienda Puerta Del Sol Mijas
ILUNION Hacienda Del Sol Spain/Mijas, Costa Del Sol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing