We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel and staff but make sure you hire a car”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
ILUNION Hacienda del Sol
Ranked #8 of 27 Hotels in Mijas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel and staff but make sure you hire a car”
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Lovely tidy hotel great views of the surrounding mountings but you must hire a car as you cant walk anywere as there arnt paths but there is a bus stop outside . Its about 15 mins drive to nearest beach 5 mins, to nearest mini market (quiet cheap) lidl 7 mins away lol. rooms very clean good air conditioning mini fridge but no kettle or irons available !! But they do offer a laundry service rooms would suit 3 star but hotel its self is defo 4 star .the hotel offers indoor and outdoor pool .tennis courts , gym , table tennis , mini golf . Staff are extremely friendly and help full

Make sure you hire a car our you will regret it I would recommend you give gold car rentals a wide birth

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank edge2247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

834 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    214
    340
    188
    51
    41
See reviews for
190
405
23
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Very clean rooms, an excellent evening buffet and an efficient booking in and out system,promises an enjoyable stay. The pool and outside terraces are well laid out with plenty of space. The only downside is the location. The road into Mijas is along a steep and winding road neccesitating use of the local bus service.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

We have been four times and always enjoyed it especially this year and it has improved. The staff are very welcoming and happy to help anytime,the will cater for your every need and the bus trip to Fuengirola and Mijas is very near by and staff will provide you with a bus timetable. The cleanliness is first class and the food also. Beautiful views from every window. Bed and breakfast and all inclusive are both a great value. Would recommend to anyone thinking of booking here and we will gladly come for our fifth time. This place is a true Hacienda

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank Mia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013

The Hacienda is a more traditional Spanish Hotel, it is 3 miles from Fuengirola , the bus stop is just around the corner from the hotel.The village of Majas is a short way and worth a visit to eat out. The Hacienda is slightly away from the main tourist attractions but that is exactly what we wanted.

The hotel attracts people passing through on coach trips or independant travellers. Hotel rooms are quite basic, plesent and clean. The pool is lovely but very cold while we were there ,plenty of sun beds.
We went all inclusive which worked out well for us, food was buffet style and generally very good.(all inclusive ended at 12 midnight) and the bar shut then too was a bit annoying sometimes if you wanted to drink after that time We went as a large wedding party and had a wonderful stay sometimes we could get a little noisy but the staff were great and tried to accommodate everyone A big thank you to the staff who helped on the wedding day especially the housekeeping ladies who ran around ironing shirts and trousers for many of the young men in the wedding party

We had a wonderful time at the hotel and would love to return one day a week would be enough Thank you all.

Room Tip: A room not near a staircase can get a bit noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jasmine078
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level 6 Contributor
314 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Stayed here for one night, first night of a Riviera Travel tour.
Good size room, not particularly clean, e.g. dust on the floor. Fairly spartan room but just about acceptable for one night. Despite being a good way from the lifts, towards the end of the corridor, plenty of noise at night.
Very nice terrace and pool area.Bar service fine but I do wish Brits could learn a few words in Spanish when ordering or at least say please or thank you.
Had the evening buffet as the last bus back from Fuengirola was apparently 21.30. Got there at 19.45 (it started at 19.30, presumably to please British & French customers) and found the salad starters had almost all gone. Did not see them replenished. Mainly English style food which was edible but not what I was in Spain to eat.
Would I return to stay - no way

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GasheadBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

Nice hotel and good value - we were attending a wedding so just stayed for three nights. Very clean and the staff were helpful. One niggle - no ironing board available for guests to use - instead had to put shirts in laundry.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Ashley R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Just returned from our first visit to Mijas and to this Hotel.It was a really lovely place, very quiet with an excellent pool & grounds. Its true that the Hotel is a little off the beaten track, but we knew this when we booked it, there's a regular bus into Mijas & its very easy to get about. We found the Hotel to be very clean, the room we stayed it was immaculate with (free air conditioning), with the use of a safe, small fee payable. We would definately recommend this Hotel to anyone to wants to escape from it all, and just relax by the pool. Breakfasts were very good with lots of choice, and the snacks through the day too. Really enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: We were at the rear of the Hotel, it was very, very quiet with a lovely view of the Sunsets over the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Beet1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mijas
1.2 mi away
TRH Mijas
TRH Mijas
#5 of 27 in Mijas
1,243 reviews
2.5 mi away
Eurostars Mijas Golf & Spa
7.0 mi away
Muthu Grangefield Oasis Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol
VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol
#3 of 4 in La Cala de Mijas
1,227 reviews
2.3 mi away
ILUNION Fuengirola
ILUNION Fuengirola
#9 of 37 in Fuengirola
952 reviews
2.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Resort & Spa Reserva del Higueron
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ILUNION Hacienda del Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ILUNION Hacienda del Sol

Property: ILUNION Hacienda del Sol
Address: Carretera Fuengirola | Km 4, 29650, Mijas, Spain (Formerly Hacienda Puerta del Sol)
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Mijas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Mijas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — ILUNION Hacienda del Sol 4*
Number of rooms: 151
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your ILUNION Hacienda del Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hacienda Puerta Del Sol Hotel Mijas
Hacienda Puerta Del Sol Mijas
ILUNION Hacienda Del Sol Spain/Mijas, Costa Del Sol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing