We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice place away from the coast” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hacienda Puerta del Sol

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hacienda Puerta del Sol
Ranked #5 of 28 Hotels in Mijas
Manchester , UK
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“nice place away from the coast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for one night as part of a RivIera Tour . The hotel is situated below Mijas and above Fuengirola . There is a bus that links the two which stops outside and runs every thirty minutes ; cost of a journey €2.50 . Hotel is attractive with a nice terrace and pool area . Food was perfectly acceptable though we would recommend giving the so-called orange juice a miss at breakfast !

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeandSueUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

755 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    320
    161
    40
    35
See reviews for
169
363
22
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bedfordshire
Level Contributor
141 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

We only stayed one night but thought the hotel was very acceptable. Room fairly basic and breakfast passable. Hotel setting very good but a little isolated. Dinner disappointing. Pool and grounds very good.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DerekHardy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

just come back from the hacienda, and for the price (£38) with breakfast per night we thought it was well worth it.ok the hotel is prob not worthy of 4 stars and could do with a refurb,but for us it was good value for money.breakfast was ok,not a great spread but it filled a hole.we spent 3 nights here and had a relaxing time.would def come back again if we paid a similar rate.great pool by the way

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gunnernutter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

Quiet, very nice hotel. Great choice if you're heading to Mijas.
The beach was not that close, but was worth the extra 10 minutes more to reach it because of the overall calm. Would definitely return there.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Clovis48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Runcorn
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

We stayed here for 7 nights at the end of May. The hotel is situated 5 mins from Mijas and costs 1.5 euros on the bus. Very quiet and clean, lovely pool not heated so took some getting use to. Maid service every day - no complaints there. Lots of outside seating so relaxing and comfortable. Free WiFi which extended to the rooms - which was nice to have.

The hotel just didnt seem to have enough bar staff, only one on most of the time which was not enough when people were waiting. No money was taken at the bar also, so if you wanted to pay the bar staff would have to visit reception to get your change - whilst we all waited!!

Food, ok/good at times - buffet style, lunches were better than the evening selection, i always obtained my orange juice for the bar - not from the breakfast machines; Nasty!!

Overall a lovely place for a quiet relaxing break if you dont mind waiting for the bar staff

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, England
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

Stayed one night as part of a tour. Rooms are adequate. Pleasant grounds with views and pool although you can hear the road. As other reviewers have said it is a short (uphill) bus ride on a mainish road to Mijas with no pavement - I wouldn't try to walk it - and there doesn't seem to be anything much else within reach by foot; it is used by tour companies so not a problem if this is how you are visiting.

Buffet dinner (organised by tour company) was quite good. Breakfast was disappointing but adequate - cooked food was tepid and greasy although we were among the first into the dining room, not much fresh fruit and how do they make the orange juice taste like that in a country where oranges are so plentiful?

In summary - perfectly good for a short stay as part of a tour package but I wouldn't choose to stay here otherwise.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fishy010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

If your looking for party central then don't go here!
However if you are looking for a quiet relaxing holiday by the pool with stunning scenery and good facilities then you should consider the hacienda.
We spent a week here to attend a friends wedding staying on an all inclusive basis, and found it great value for money considering what we paid. the food was really good, lots of choice with a great range of salads and fruit. Plus the bar tenders definitely don't know what a measure is.
It was super clean and on the whole the staff were helpful. The room had all the basics and water was freely available. I had read a lot of people saying they wish the rooms had tea and coffee facilities in the room but i didn't find that a hardship as the bar happily served tea and coffee along side the alcohol. If i was to be very picky id say the hotel could improve the variety available on the snack menu, but in the grand scheme this is a minor gripe.
On the whole we spent a very relaxed week with all our needs met! Exactly what I was looking for as an escape from the hustle and bustle of life. Returned well rested and would consider another stay there.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Allison E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mijas
1.2 mi away
TRH Mijas
TRH Mijas
#7 of 28 in Mijas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,159 reviews
6.1 mi away
VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol
VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol
#3 of 4 in La Cala de Mijas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,144 reviews
7.1 mi away
El Oceano Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Hotel & Spa Benalmadena Palace
2.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Resort & Spa Reserva del Higueron
5.1 mi away
Los Amigos Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hacienda Puerta del Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda Puerta del Sol

Property: Hacienda Puerta del Sol
Address: Carretera Fuengirola km 4, 29650, Mijas, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Mijas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Mijas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hacienda Puerta del Sol 4*
Number of rooms: 129
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Hacienda Puerta del Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hacienda Puerta Del Sol Hotel Mijas
Hacienda Puerta Del Sol Mijas
Hacienda Puerta Del Sol Spain/Mijas, Costa Del Sol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing