We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Watch out for Mosquitos!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
ILUNION Hacienda del Sol
Ranked #8 of 27 Hotels in Mijas
Bedford, UK
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Watch out for Mosquitos!”
Reviewed November 11, 2012

We stayed here for one night on Riviera tour. We enjoyed afternoon by the pool with views to the sea. Hotel was fine but dated. We went to Mijas in the evening which was a beautiful whitewashed village. Breakfast was disappointing and we were bitten badly by Mosquitos despite our best attempts at swatting them as we ate. Not a pleasant start to the day. It was a good base from which to start our holiday but we were happy to move on the next day.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nickBed4d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

834 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    214
    340
    188
    51
    41
See reviews for
190
405
23
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2012

What a find,this hotel has all the qualities and style of a Parador,without the higher price.It is built in traditional Spanish style with quality decor throughout.The managing director Snr Fernando Rosas ensures that his well trained staff provides an excellent service.The food is of a high standard and the rooms are clean and have a refrigerator.The hotel looks out to the sea to the south and to the mountains surrounding picturesque Mijas to the North.Although a car would be useful it cerainly is not essential as the local bus stops just ouside the hotel to take you to either Mijas,Coin or Fuengirola where you can change for buses to take you throughout the region.The hotel provides a romantic setting for couples of all ages for which it is paricularly suited.We are already recommending this hotel to other discerning contacts.
K.W West Yorkshire

Room Tip: Ask for west facing if you enjoy sunsets. The south facing suites have large balconies and views
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank keith w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

My wife and i have just got back from a week at the hacienda del sol and would love to say that this is a 4 star but i can't.The bathroom was very tired,and needed a good clean,The dinning room is also in need of a revamp as it is very dated.The evening meal was monotonous and often luke warm.We went all-inclusive and felt some of the male staff treated us as slightly inferior beings.
On the up side, the hotel looks impressive from the outside with a great pool and lots of amenities and spectacular views all around.This could be a 4 star+ with a bit of T L C.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank graham_hitchen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk
Level 6 Contributor
253 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

We stopped here for one night on a Reviera Classical Spain Tour. The hotel is in nice grounds and had pleasant lounge areas and helpful staff. Our ground floor room was fairly small but attractive. The bed was comfortable and we had a bath in our bathroom. (Which we prefer to shower only).
We arrived as it was just getting dark, and were reluctant to catch a bus to go up the hill to Mijas itself. So we were isolated in the hotel. However the buffet dinner was very acceptable, with various items of qood quality within the hot and cold buffet. Simple wine list - good value (as is usual in Spain) and our half and 50cl bottles of white and red Rioja were good. The espresso from the bar was good. Breakfast was perfectly fine, although coffee barely adequate.
Strolling around the grounds in the morning was enjoyable. So, if the evenings were lighter enabling one to go up to Mijas, this could be a pleasant base for a few nights.
Always hard to give a rating, when not aware of the direct cost - but in the context of a hotel stay within an organised tour, I would rate this as a good hotel experience.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derry, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
182 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012

I enjoyed my stay here even though the room was basic. It was clean and served my needs. I had a small balcony over looking the mountains on one side and the sea on the other. Breakfast had all the usual breakfast fair, and was well organised. Grounds were lovely to walk round.

Room Tip: Basic rooms which were ver comfortable and clean. Staff more than friendly, grounds were nice. I e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank celtictiger_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Arrived at the hotel for one night at the start of a week's touring. Check-in was speedy and the room was big and airy. Grounds and outdoor swimming pool were a delight. Breakfast food had a nice selection. The only disappointment was the evening barman who seemed to take delight in ignoring my friend and me (both ladies). We eventually left without being served and, unfortunately, this is my lasting impression of what, otherwise, was an enjoyable stopover.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jill-Jack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012

This hotel was an average hotel, NOT a 4 star as advertised. Hotel is dated and rooms are all sparsely decorated. Bathroom was ok, with a decent size shower. I had problems with mosquitos in the room. They did give me another room that was better, with a larger bed to compensate the mosquito problem I had. Breakfast is included with hotel stay. Breakfast was alright, and not your typical Spanish breakfast, which is MUCH better. The views from this hotel are beautiful. Its located at the foot of the mountains, facing the sea. The hotel has a pool and terrace, that are very nice. Parking is available with hotel stay...no additional fee. Buses to MIjas town & Fuengirola are available right on the road the hotel is located in. Overall this hotel is ok...but bring bug spray for the mosquitos.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tstsisters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mijas
1.2 mi away
TRH Mijas
TRH Mijas
#5 of 27 in Mijas
1,243 reviews
2.5 mi away
Eurostars Mijas Golf & Spa
7.0 mi away
Muthu Grangefield Oasis Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol
VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol
#3 of 4 in La Cala de Mijas
1,227 reviews
2.3 mi away
ILUNION Fuengirola
ILUNION Fuengirola
#9 of 37 in Fuengirola
952 reviews
2.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Resort & Spa Reserva del Higueron
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ILUNION Hacienda del Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ILUNION Hacienda del Sol

Property: ILUNION Hacienda del Sol
Address: Carretera Fuengirola | Km 4, 29650, Mijas, Spain (Formerly Hacienda Puerta del Sol)
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Mijas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Mijas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — ILUNION Hacienda del Sol 4*
Number of rooms: 151
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your ILUNION Hacienda del Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hacienda Puerta Del Sol Hotel Mijas
Hacienda Puerta Del Sol Mijas
ILUNION Hacienda Del Sol Spain/Mijas, Costa Del Sol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing