We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Try the fried chistorra”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Bodega el Placer - CLOSED

Bodega el Placer
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $39
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Spanish, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Dining on a budget, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Late Night, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Budapest, Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Try the fried chistorra”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

Very good tapas place, all the food was great. Try the croquette with mushroom and the fried chistorra. Also the mini hamburger is good.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank eriksz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

249 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    180
    46
    12
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great fun, great tapas”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

Down a bit of a side street in Mijas, some barrels outside guard a tiny low-key restaurant. To be honest we thought we'd made a mistake, and contemplated moving elsewhere, but glad we didn't. Tapas is first rate and very resonable (dishes range from 2 - 4.50 euros!). I'd let the waiters pick favourites for you to try, we had 7 excellent dishes. Tuna dish was memorable. Rioja Reserva was glorious I would strongly recommend it for about 15 euros/bottle. We ended with a date liqueur which was very unusual!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BillyBer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Level Contributor
98 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere and good value food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

This place looks like a bar with high tables and stools. You can certainly get good value wines here but its tapas platters are the reason for visiting. We sampled over a dozen from the menu and they were all great. Flavoursome, presented well and arriving in a timely manner. My favourite was a lemon and ginger sorbet to finish with that really grabbed you. The four of us ate and drank well for around 50 euros. It stands out amongst the other very touristy steak and fish places.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BiggerAl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
114 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Pure gastronomic pleasure”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013

We visited a little town Mijas specifically to try tapas at Bodega el Placer. This place had been highly praised by our friends and it stood to our highest expectations. The owner and the staff were very welcoming and helpful. In order to try a wide and off beat range of tapas, we asked to bring 8 different items based on owner's recommendation. All were simply delicious! So we kept on ordering more and more... Our definite favorites were cod with tomato sauce and breaded shrimp. It may sound ordinary, but Bodega el Placer takes food to the level of art creating masterpieces out of seemingly ordinary ingredients. Important to add that the prices are very reasonable. Whether into Spanish cuisine or not, this place is a must for everybody visiting Malaga area.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tuchka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Almere
Level Contributor
76 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“What a joy!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

Thanks to Tripadvisor and its reviews we went to this small bodega. Our group of 6 were very happy with this choice. Thanks to a former review I specifically choose the Goat Cheese with Truffle, Cream, and Fig. Indeed, it was a joy for the tongue. As well as some 7 other tapas we picked out and the wine was not bas as well and friendly prized. The young guy who helped us was very friendly. We all left with a smile on our faces. That's what makes a trip to Andalusia worthwhile!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank petersluijter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bodega el Placer also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing