We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Amazing Wedding Reception - 20.9.13”

Aroma Cafe & Secret Garden
Ranked #51 of 473 Restaurants in Mijas
Cuisines: Argentinean, Spanish, Bar, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Aroma Café & Secret Garden is a truly unique restaurant on the Costa del Sol. Firstly the restaurant is located in an old house dating to 1872 with many nooks and crannies to discover. Within its walls a whole world opens, starting with arguably Mijas´ most beautiful Andaluz Patio. Follow the Patio to its end and let a whitewashed passage guide you to our gem on the crown, the Secret Garden. Here you will find Mijas as it was a century ago, an enchanted forest of olive, orange, fig and loquat trees. Stroll to the end of this sprawling garden and you will discover an ancient ´water mine´ dating back to the Moorish times. In our garden you will enjoy Argentinean BBQ prepared right before your eyes into the early mornings on warm summer nights. Our celebrity Chef from the Canary Islands meanwhile prepares sumptuous dishes which will tempt you to come back time and again until all that is offered has been tasted! Now just come discover for yourself, our friendly team awaits you!!!
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“Our Amazing Wedding Reception - 20.9.13”
Reviewed October 25, 2013

I cannot praise the Aroma Cafe & Secret Garden enough (which we carefully selected from many different venues we visited in and around the area to hold our Wedding Reception on 20.9.13). Thomas and his staff bent over backwards to ensure that our special day was as magical as possible and allowed us to decorate the Secret Garden just as we wanted it. Food and drink just kept coming - both were outstanding, we really couldn't have asked for anything more - very highly recommended, will add some photographs now...

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kelly R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

988 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    491
    291
    90
    57
    59
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Disappointing second visit”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

we had a reasonable meal here in August, when the garden was pleasantly cool and quiet in a very hot month. The food was reasonable, but we were doubtful about the live chickens that were scratching about in the garden and pooping at will. Not too hygienic in a food outlet. We decided to give it another chance about two weeks ago. The restaurant was very busy this time, and we waited for some long while before we were attended to. I had a chicken breast which was over whelmed with a tomato sauce, and the chefs special potatoes. The only thing special about them was their inedible quality. A leathery texture, and an appearance and flavour indicating that they had been rehashed. My complaint to the waiter was greeted with a shrug, but no apology or suggested alternative. There were no condiments, bread or olives or anything that is usually presented in a quality place. My wife's salad was passable, but very ordinary. We will not be going there again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank cstanleyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EU-Travelwriter, Owner at Aroma Cafe & Secret Garden, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear client,
I deeply regret that your visit to our restaurant did not live up to your expectations. Our chicken breast is topped with a red pepper and garlic sauce, not tomato just to be clear. Regarding the potatoes it is true we had an issue with our supplier but this has been rectified along with huge apology from them, (however, we do NOT EVER reheat our food or leave for the next day). Bread and olives are available upon request and our wait staff would have been happy to replace any dish you were not happy with as this is our policy. Regardless, I am very sorry again that you were let down, as owner there is nothing that pains me more than an unhappy customer. As with all the other critiques on Trip Advisor a copy will be sent to each and everyone on our staff so that we may learn from our mistakes immediately and I thank you for taking the time for writing.
sincerely,
Thomas Weller
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MANCHESTER
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting, great BBQ”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Wonderful dining area in the back, fantastic bbq food great live music. We dined here twice and have had a couple of afternoon tea/coffee at the front on San Sebastian - charming, relaxing and great service. The steaks, lamb chops, burger, kebabs all delicious - if you like your steak medium ask for well done and it's just about right! As per true Argentine steaks they had a sprinkling of salt flakes, not too much and certainly enhanced the great flavour! Only slight down side was on our last visit and the staff / BBQ chef and servers got a little rowdy laughing at a video on the chefs phone which was being shown on high volume. This continued and repeated for rather a long time.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank caprilovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devonport, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
512 reviews
299 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 275 helpful votes
“A gem.”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Cannot believe we didn't know this gem existed until this visit. What a surprise. A delightful garden tucked away. We actually had coffee and cake at one of the tables in the street last year totally unaware that this special place existed. We enjoyed our visit and sitting in the peaceful hidden garden. We will definitely go back.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Worldstar44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palma de Mallorca, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 219 helpful votes
“Fabulous outdoor eating”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

We came upon this by accident and loved the secret garden at the back of the resturant. We had lunch there one day and were so impressed returned on another day for evening meal, when the garden was all lit up. Very pretty. Even better the food was excellent. The chips were perfectly cooked and the meat really good.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank lynneybell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aroma Cafe & Secret Garden also viewed

 
Mijas, Costa del Sol
Mijas Pueblo, Mijas
 
Mijas Pueblo, Mijas
Mijas Pueblo, Mijas
 

Been to Aroma Cafe & Secret Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing