We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best restaurant on the coast”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Restaurant

The Restaurant
Ranked #65 of 448 Restaurants in Mijas
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Mijas, Spain
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best restaurant on the coast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

I've lived in Spain over ten years and only found this gem of a place February of this year, have been coming regular since then as the food is amazing brilliant staff and a great atmosphere. I've never had a bad dinner here and I've tried a lot. It's simply amazing xxx

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Emmanick2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    15
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Food,service and a friendly welcome that keeps you coming back”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

Been coming here for nearly 10 years and this has to be the best restaurant for miles around and we've tried a lot. You can see Carl hard at work in the open kitchen cooking food that is good, hot, substantial and excellent value for money. The crab cake and smoked salmon starters are very good but remember to leave room for mains of which the seafood bake, lamb fillet and steaks are particular favourites. Shelley, front of house, provides a warm, friendly welcome to her customers most of whom, like us, keep coming back. Service is excellent and the complimentary after dinner liqueurs round off, what is always a lovely evening, well.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stowken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Almoradi, Spain
Level Contributor
115 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Much better now that it is bigger!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

Lovely roast dinner, particularly the roast potatoes. The crab cake starters were good too. Clive and Shell are a lovely couple, and always make you very welcome (known them for many years). They have worked hard to make a go of their tiny place (as it was). Now that they have been able to extend into the next door place it makes for a very nice restaurant, and with some outside space too!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carole S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Bucks
Level Contributor
140 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Great Meal and Great Service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

Staying at the Dona Lola resort and being fairly lazy this time around, we were glad to find this great little restaurant just walking distance away. We ate there twice in the week that we stayed and they were definitely the best meals we had during our week.

Service was excellent, with complimentary liqueurs a nice touch at the end of the meal and the cooking was of a great standard. On our first trip I had the beef carpaccio as a starter and it was excellent and the second time around I enjoyed a filet steak as my main course. The beef was truly excellent and cooked as I asked as opposed to spoilt. Scallops in my starter were perhaps a little over done on that occasion, but that is being fussy.

Shelley was a fine host and Carla great chef and I wish them both well - they run en excellent restaurant and deserve to do well.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank grumpyguts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Again for me the best restaurant in the area”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

I must admit I was gutted when we went to the restaurant the first night of our holiday to discover that they were themselves away in Portugal and wouldn't be opening until the Tuesday of our second week. So we patiently waited and finally Tuesday came around, as I mentioned in my last review we first discovered this little restaurant fourteen years ago, they've since expanded but the food is just as good as ever. It's just simply wonderful food and amazing value for money when you consider what you get, as well as a full meal a dish of hot fresh veg and a large dish of dauphinoise potato are placed on your table. We ate here Tuesday, Wednesday and Thursday and had three of our best meals of the holiday.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Deborah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Restaurant also viewed

Sitio de Calahonda, Mijas
Sitio de Calahonda, Mijas
 
Sitio de Calahonda, Mijas
Sitio de Calahonda, Mijas
 

Been to The Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing