We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst meal ever eaten in la cala”
Review of Grill De La Cala

Grill De La Cala
Ranked #346 of 459 Restaurants in Mijas
Price range: $10 - $26
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Spanish, European, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Capacidad de 60 comensales en el interior, terraza amplia y soleada con facilidad de aparcamiento. Restaurante especializado en carnes a la brasa, fundado en el ano 2000, es un restaurante familiar que ofrece un ambiente relajado optimo para cenas familiares y de cualquier ocasion. Aunque nuestra especialidad es carnes a la brasa, ofrecemos otras variedades de platos, asi como un menu exclusivo para ninos. Disponemos de una bodega con gran variedad de vinos a su disposicion.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Worst meal ever eaten in la cala”
Reviewed October 31, 2013

We have eaten at many bars and restaurants in la cala over the years - this is one place that we will never return to. Slow service. Expensive drinks. - 4euros for a bottle of water! Vat added to the advertised meal of the day charge - not mentioned on their outside display board, but is in small print of main menu. McCain type chips, frozen mushed up vegetables, extremely small portion of spag Bol, stale chocolate cake. Extremely over priced restaurant. Chinese restaurant on opposite side of the street, in front of taxi rank offers far superior service, food and value.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Visitors from U... U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    16
    16
    15
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Simply lovely would go back any time.
Not only me but family and friends really enjoyd. Am not saying is the best but yes i recomend to try it .

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank gilwais
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“We felt robbed!!”
Reviewed September 11, 2013

We went tried Grille de La Cala for the first and last time this holiday. Starters were bland and small portions, not the worst. For main we ordered from the hot stone, only for the hot stone to DVD brought to out table and we would have to cook it ourselves, 5 varieties of meat on one little plate, including raw chicken. There was no taste in any of the meat, strain from the freezer along with the Mccain oven chip and the green giant frozen veg. Others had lemon chicken which was barley cooked and hardly resembled chicken at all, stuffed with disintegrated slices of lemon which left a strong acid taste for several hours. We then got the bill which was 87.00 for 4 people, not bad if it's nice food. We then complained and the waitress who spoke perfect English taking our order could no longer speak it, would not go back even if it was free!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 316JackS_93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staines, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
350 reviews
255 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

-although it looks like a nice location in the centre of town but sitting outside is right by the road, a roundabout with a taxi stop directly next to the table. Basically, noisy
-lacked in some atmosphere even though the staff were very friendly
-food was pretty nice but nothing that special
-we ordered the set menu based which had a good price. Only when the bill arrives did we notice it was ex-VAT. In very small writing it did say that VAT was not included but we felt a bit cheated.
-overall, disappointing!!!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TheChap69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
337 reviews
205 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Great place for lunch or dinner away from the beach”
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Hi on our first day on the Mijas Costa and what a great place to have lunch in the town square no more than 5 - 10 minute walk from the beach.
On this occassion we had dinner (4 of us) excellent spanish meats and fish and very reasonably priced including wine and beer the meal for the 4 of us cost under 100 euros

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeff R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grill De La Cala also viewed

 
La Cala de Mijas, Mijas
La Cala de Mijas, Mijas
 
La Cala de Mijas, Mijas
La Cala de Mijas, Mijas
 

Been to Grill De La Cala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing