We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Resort Highly Recommended” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Matchroom Country Club

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Matchroom Country Club
Ranked #15 of 28 Hotels in Mijas
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great Resort Highly Recommended”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

Fabulous stay at Matchroom, check in was friendly and very efficient. Apartment was great and well equipped overlooking the beautifully maintained gardens and smaller pool. The apartment was spotless and the beds were great, I never manage to sleep whilst away but I slept like a baby. The resort is away from the coast but this is why I chose it as it gives you peace and there is a nice mix of nationalities. Yes you need a car but I find it hard to believe people who use timeshare do not hire a car, Fuengirola, restaurants & supermarkets/shops are only 7 minute's drive away.
The apartment is cleaned every two days which was above and beyond what is needed if you are a normal traveller and not OCD! There was ample towels and kitchen equipment, a flat screen TV in the lounge with ample channels and a TV in the double bedroom. Also it was nice to have air conditioning.
The pool was great and not at all crowded, one evening we were still swimming at 20:30, no pool towels are not provided but who would complain about this we ought some in town for €5 each a bargain that we left behind as we did not want to take them home.
I would recommend this resort to anybody who enjoys a peaceful location and high standards and is not hung up about having to hire a car. Our stay was perfect as were the staff, nice international fellow guests who are courteous and a good chance to practice your languages. The resort is free the loud loutish behaviour you get in some resorts on the Costa del Sol, I will be back!

Room Tip: All apartments are good we were in apartment 11.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kelly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeritageResorts30, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Matchroom Country Club, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
We are really pleased to read that you’ve had a lovely time at Heritage Resorts & Hotels – thank you for your review! We really hope that you’ll consider us for future visits to Spain, and we look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    76
    42
    10
    11
See reviews for
68
83
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

We spent a week at Matchroom Country Club in a two bedroom apartment. We were on the top level with a roof top terrace. The view of the pool, golf course and hillsides was great. The pool was really nice and the restaurant was excellent. El Golf restaurant down the road is well worth a try as well. We did not rent a car so it was difficult getting around. The taxis are expensive and hard to find at the beach. The have a shuttle to the town but only on Mondays and Fridays from 10:00 to 1:00. We enjoyed our trip to Rhonda and Marbella. Expensive for taxi and tour but well worth it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeritageResorts30, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Matchroom Country Club, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
We are really glad to learn that you had a relaxing time here with us and enjoyed your stay in one of our spacious well appointed apartments. We hope to see you coming back with another visit soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxted, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

Stayed in a superb apartment with lovely view over the newly refurbished golf course and pool. Looked like it had recently had a new kitchen. The resort was very welcoming and the staff helpful. They provided details of local markets and can provide tips on places to visit.

No organised activities which was fine as we wanted a quiet week sat round the pool reading. Really need a car to get to shops or to get around as the resort is quite isolated. About 5 mins to supermarkets in car.

Quiet bar and underused restaurant. Never crowded around the pool.

Got accommodation as timeshare exchange.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeritageResorts30, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Matchroom Country Club, responded to this review, September 23, 2014
We are really glad to learn that you had a relaxing time here with us and enjoyed your stay in one of our spacious well appointed apartments. We hope to see you coming back with another visit soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

General
- Lovely location for golfing and also as a base for discovering the Andalusian hills and villages. With Mijas (30 mins by car) and Ronda (100 mins) recommended as must see. If the idle rich and people watching is your thing then Puerto Banus (60 mins) is also a must.
- The resort is located approx 17 miles or 30 min drive from Malaga airport
- If you take a taxi from the airport then budget for around 60€ one way
- Quick note for anyone thinking of picking up a car at the airport. Allow up to 3 hours if you have booked through rentalcars.com or Gold Cars. Queues were unbelievable and unless you have an express check-in priority booking be prepared for the incomprehensible wait! It's the norm apparently. Also be prepared to pay for a full tank of fuel at airport prices and return the car empty. Total rip-off.

Resort Pros
- all of the staff from reception, bar and housekeeping were extremely friendly and accommodating
- the resort is good for young families with 3 pools but there are no lifeguards on duty
- the apartment was clean and well equipped. For RCI members the apartments would require updating to remain or retain a Gold Standard
- the room came with a complimentary safe

Resort Cons
- Apartment noise. Water flushing, people climbing steps and doors closing all echoed around the marble floored rooms Seems like there is no sound proofing at all in the building and you can assume a morning one up all up scenario for the duration
- TV facilities in the room had limited channels and at times poor reception
- Limited free wifi is available in the bar area. Or if you want to use in the apartment wifi is available but costs approx 8€ per 24hrs
- There is no shop on site or even in the near vicinity. The nearest shop is a 5 min drive or 20 min hike along a main road taking your life in your hands as there are no pavements
- The resort does not provide pool towels
- The resort possesses a nice poolside bar, but it is rarely open
- Restaurants on site had a rather limited menu and seemed overpriced. Recommend short 200m walk to the El Golf restaurant for better atmosphere, choice of food and value for money
- Access to a car is also a must when staying here. Underground secure parking is available and provides a challenge to the most experienced of drivers and the bigger the car the more fun you're likely to have.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

We had a 3-bedroom apartment which we found clean, very spacious and with everything we wanted. The views from all our windows were beautiful and our balcony overlooked the main pool. The downside was having just two changes of towels in 7 days, which we thought poor compared to other resorts, and no pool towels were provided. Luckily, we had taken our own. The showers were powerful with plenty of hot water. The food in the restaurant was excellent. A supermarket on site would have been useful as a car was required to get to the nearest. Our only disappointment was with one receptionist - Nadine - who was most unfriendly and unhelpful on more than one occasion although the other members of staff made up for this.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank diamond2607
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conroe, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

Two weeks ago, on March 9, 2013, after a long flight from the United States, my husband and I and two friends checked into the Matchroom Country Club impressed and excited to be visiting Spain and looking forward to an amazing week. We had no idea we were walking into an unsafe, unsecure, frightening place.
Unit 51, a top floor penthouse, looked cozy and comfortable enough - a 2 bedroom, 2 bath unit with a balcony leading up to a rooftop deck. We found the safe in the bedroom closet, and quickly stowed our passports and other valuables. During the day, everything was locked up. But during the night, we had no idea strangers would enter our room.
We checked in on a Saturday night, and Wednesday morning we realized we had been robbed during the night while we were sleeping. Tuesday night we went to bed with all the doors locked (the front door has a keycard), including the door out to the balcony, which can only be locked and unlocked from the inside with a key. Wednesday morning we discovered that our belongings in the livingroom were gone. My Canon EOS Rebel T1i DSLR digital camera was taken, along with cash out of my wallet. My friend's credit cards and cash were gone, along with her allergy meds, and her husband's entire wallet was taken. They carefully went through our bags, took everything of value, then zipped up our wallets, placed them back in our bags and carefully closed them.
We rushed straight down to talk to the manager, Helen. Helen questioned why our personal belongings were not put in the safe while were sleeping, which we were never told to do upon check-in. She told us the thieves were professional and offered us the phone to call the police station, then sent us on our way.
We spent an hour at the Fuengirola police station, which was kind to us, but not pressed to investigate the case. They did generate a police report, and a very nice, British retiree was in the station to help translate and read the document to us. Without his help and direction, we would have struggled with this process. Thank you kindly, sir.
The manager at Matchroom took a copy of the police report and offered us a different room, which we declined, because at that point we had nothing of value and were almost inviting the punks to come back and try it again. We requested no one, absolutely no one, be allowed into our room. The next day while we were gone, we had physical evidence (we purposely arranged items, and found they had been moved) that someone had again been in our unit. The manager said it was the police coming to dust for fingerprints and they were there for 5-10 minutes, and she did not accompany them. We did not see black fingerprint dust and how thorough could they have been in 5 minutes?
After 3 more nights sleeping with one eye open, the night before leaving we asked what the manager could do for us to help make this horrible situation better. She said there was nothing. And then we were gone.
What has happened to treating guests like they matter? We felt violated and unsafe at night. The best part of being there was not being there. We were not offered a free stay, not even a free meal. We are convinced our room was entered using a key card. I am trying to contact Heritage Resorts now to follow up with them, as key card entry is recorded in a computer system, and I would like to see that report.
We feel sad, violated and ruined. Spain was beautiful, but I would never wish this upon anyone. We worked so hard, saved up so much, to take this trip.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
41 Thank Gina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Mijas hotels

Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

Heritage MatchRoom Mijas-Costa Malaga 09/03/13

The air passage from Gatwick to Malaga was excellent as also was the excellent train journey from Malaga to Fuengirola, so easy....then travelled by taxi to our hotel.

We found our apartment, which seemed ok...a bit dated and not a gold star, 2 bathrooms....I have had surgery on my back, so looking at all of those stairs was a little daunting. Shower head in the shower room required attention and we were going to mention it on Sunday. The apartment was very cold, draft through the windows, only 1 of the 2 rads operated.... Had to put cardigans on & extra blankets over our feet whist watching a bulky TV in the evening on an uncomfortable sofa. TV channels were terrible BBC1, ITV, SKY News and a French? Station. From 20:00 we received SKY Disney....

You defiantly need a car, no shop on site, Bar/restaurant only opens 5 days per week, chips with most dishes, I looked at the menu and it didn’t inspire me. We didn’t have a car and had to walk 30 minutes plus along the side of a very busy road (no pavements) to an Aldi to buy supplies. There’s 2 days of free buses, Mon & Fri: 10 & 11:00, then back from Feungirola @ 1:20. Maximum people – 6, prebookable.

On Sunday I had a shower in the main Bathroom, started of fine, applied the shampoo onto my hair and the water ran COLD, had to rinse off with FREEZING water. Phoned reception and the maintenance man came with a screw driver and rectified it...after 1 hour the m/man came back & the water had heater up, then my partner had his shower. We washed up in the evening & the water was hot.

So on Monday I got up with the bus in mind..ran the water AND surprise surprise IT WAS COLD, I wasn’t a happy bunny. Couldn’t phone reception as it didn’t open till 9:30. So by the time we’d had a hot shower the bus would have left.
We complained and we had the option of the M/man stripping down the water tank or move..Which we did. The new apartment was far superior although needed up dating. But on the second floor, so I had difficulty in going up the stairs as there is not a reliable stair rail. With repacking then unpacking, having a shower most of the day had passed.
We went down to the hot tub & sauna, it was freezing in the area, so we didn’t bother..

The rest of the week was passable, although the weather didn’t help and the fact that we couldn’t walk out in the evenings due to our safety.

Weather wise – Sat/Sun showers, Mon Ok, Tues torrential rain most of the day, Wed/Thurs OK. Fri sunny, Sat rain, but that was the day we were travelling home. Yipee!

I WON’T BE RETURNING.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Alice S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mijas hotels
0.0 mi away
Club Calahonda Crown Resort
0.0 mi away
Club Marbella/Regency Palms Crown Resort
0.0 mi away
Eurostars Mijas Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hacienda Puerta del Sol
0.0 mi away
Grangefield Oasis Club
Grangefield Oasis Club
#26 of 28 in Mijas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
0.0 mi away
Los Amigos Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Matchroom Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Matchroom Country Club

Property: Matchroom Country Club
Address: Urbanisation Mijas Golf, 29650, Mijas, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Mijas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Mijas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Matchroom Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Matchroom Country Club Hotel Mijas
Matchroom Country Club Spain/Mijas, Costa Del Sol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing