We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a fantastic restaurant”

Restaurante Valparaiso
Ranked #25 of 465 Restaurants in Mijas
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $65
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Opened in 1984 by Raffaele Morelli and his brother Vittorio, the Valparaiso Restaurant in Mijas, Malaga, on the Costa de Sol, has created a reputation for excellent food, memorable evenings and great entertainment. Beautifully presented international dishes, served in a magical setting with sea and mountain views from a flower covered terrace, has been the key to building a faithful clientele. With a complete entertainment programme, including dinner and dancing, live music, flamenco dancing and opera, the Valparaiso has something for everyone. The restaurant is also popular with visiting celebrities and local residents alike. Celebrities such as David Beckham, Bruce Forsyth and Sean Connery and many more have paid testimony to the restaurant.
La Cala de Mijas, Spain
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What a fantastic restaurant”
Reviewed July 16, 2014

Words cannot describe how wonderful this restaurant is. The setting, the ambience, the music and the food are just fantastic !! The staff couldn't be friendlier. We would recommend this highly

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bernard j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

795 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    582
    119
    43
    29
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Malaga, Spain
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“valparaiso for group bookings”
Reviewed July 16, 2014

I moved to Spain at the same time as Raffael and Vittorio became owners of Valparaiso 30 years ago. In all that time they have never failed to give good service and go out of their way with their staff to make sure everyone has a good time. When the family lived here we celebrated every birthday and anniversary there.

Now I am President of the Friends of the Theatre association here in Fuengirola I arrange a summer and an autumn ball each year, twice a year and we have up to 180 people attending. We put on our glad rags, look forward to the visit and ALWAYS have a wonderful meal, a fantastic night out, the entertainment is magnificient, the staff are exceptional, the place always looks clean, smart, posh, new and exciting, everyone of the guests leave thanking ME for such a wonderful evening. We are never let down and for a group booking it is second to none. Valerie Williams Mill.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank 97valerie1939
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stabler12
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Top Quality Food, Service, and Service”
Reviewed July 16, 2014

From the moment we walked into the restaurant the experience was first class, with great service and beautiful surroundings.

the food didn't disappoint, and in addition to great quality the portions were very generous. I had the carpaccio and bresola, which was lovely, and it was as much as I could eat for a starter.

It can seem a bit 70's with the cabaret, but we liked it and really couldn't find anything to moan about at all. prior to and after the meal, the owner would come round and chat with the customers, asking them about their food and if things were going okay. There are beautiful views out down to the coast, and these get even better in the sunset.

It isn't cheap, but is not overpriced, and you don't get this type of quality unless you pay for it.

We will certainly go back if we come to this area again.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stabler12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Food, atmosphere, music”
Reviewed July 16, 2014

Wonderful evening. Always welcomed and made to feel special. Great food may even be getting better. One special night during our recent holiday was so good that we had to push the boat out and go again.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KUcie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“the best overal restaurant on the Costa”
Reviewed July 16, 2014

We have been dining at Valparaiso for over 12 years and have never had a bad experience, the host Raphael and his staff are keen for you to have an overall special experience and continually succeed, the location, food and ambience are second to none and I would have no hesitation recommending this fabulous restaurant to anyone.

The Fitzpatrick Family

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gary F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante Valparaiso also viewed

Benalmadena, Costa del Sol
 
Benalmadena, Costa del Sol
Fuengirola, Costa del Sol
 
Benalmadena, Costa del Sol
 

Been to Restaurante Valparaiso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing