We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You may need a car as its away from centre of town/sightseeing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
CLC Club La Costa World
Ranked #3 of 40 Specialty Lodging in Mijas
tyne and wear
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“You may need a car as its away from centre of town/sightseeing”
Reviewed October 4, 2009

We have been here 3 years in a row, however we book privately with owners. CLC is fab for younger families and the choice of pools is great. The main worry for those we met without cars was it was a long walk to get anywhere ie town and couldn`t afford 30 euros for a return trip by taxi. People also said they had no choice but to use the on camp supermarket which was smaller than a corner spar shop, which was obviously higher priced than the main supermarkets in town. be aware of the price of taxi from the airport (around 35-40 euros) and they hike the prices up from Fri to Mon, so if you have more than 4 i your group, the cost of multiple taxis would be huge....and thats one way! There is a CLC bus to take you back to the airport but you have to go when they say and friends of ours would have left 7 hrs before their flight.
Gardens and pools are immaculate and cared for daily and the beach is within walking distance. I would recommend CLC whole heartedly but only on the proviso that you hire a car....even if it is only for the shopping and getting into town :)

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kazcade123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,059 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    342
    408
    171
    74
    64
See reviews for
490
397
7
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (260)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2009

Its a long one I'm afraid!!

Just got back from our free holiday that we 'won' when returning from a holiday last September. We sat through the horrible presentation last year in Birmingham, got our Marks and Spencer vouchers, said no to membership, filled in the form with our four dates, gave preferance for Tenerife, Portugal then Spain and surprise, surprise found ourselves in their flagship resort in Costa del Sol.

We paid our £99 per person for flights and admin charges and they flew us out Easyjet late flights from local airport on a Saturday night. Paid 40 euros for taxi but was only choice as too late for train at that time. On way back got a bus transfer for 7 euros each but meant were at airport 8 hours early!

I wil do a detailed review for those worried what to expect on their free marketing week -

First impressions
Resort looked good, rooms were nice (we had a studio with balcony room 746B-California suites) I think we were in the better area of the resort with the most bars/restuarnts and comfy sun loungers. Nice touch with a welome pack of bread, milk, orange juice, tea/coffee, etc.

Rooms
The ones we were shown on our tour and ours were of a good standard. Ours appeared to be mainly furnished from IKEA and was modern and light, the premium ones we were shown were a higher standard but I think that these cost extra (on top of the membership, yearly maintenace charge, etc - will continue below)

Grounds
Gardens and public areas within little complexes are nice but there is a bit of a walk between areas and you are seriously quicker to walk than get train. The water fountain at the base of our block did well to hide the noise of the A7 motorway that ran between the complex and the beach.

Food and drink
As the pound is soooo rubbish prices were a bit high for food and drink but the portion sizes and quality were quite good - better than expected. Safari was the best for quality but the salad bar at sunrise bar was excellent during the day. They ran some special early bird offers that we made use of at 20% discount and we did not have breakfast at 14 euros each. Generally we were 60 euros for a meal for two with wine - expensive but what we would pay back home. T

The main issue that I had with the restuarnats on site was that the menus were all pretty much the same - pastas, pizza, burgers (19 euros for a burger in safari - be prepared). The only spanish inspired dishes were some specials and at El Rancho restaurant - but this was closed when we were there.

Sunset bar was good for entertainment - Jazz band very good - but at 3.70 euros for a pint of San Migel and 2.70 euros for a glass of wine when you can buy a litre of San Migel beer for 1.95 euros and a bottle of same wine for 3.80 euros in the shop 10m from the bar, it did not present great value for money. They should stock different varieties in the mini market so that the difference is not as noticeable!

Mini markets are OK for essentails and have a lot of British brands but there are some better and larger shops further down the hill from the resort that are cheaper and have more choice- but the walk back (uphill) is not so good.

Excursions
Organised by Club la Costa - we went to Gibralta and also on the blanket tour which involved lunch and a trip up to Mijas - both trips were excellent and yes - we bought the fancy mattress and bedding!!

Weather
Excellent - only rained on last day and otherwise was around 27 degrees each day.

Now onto the fun part - Club la Costa and presenatation
We knew what to expect, been to two of these presentations before and read up on here and also on other forums. We knew we were not going to buy and within 10 minutes over a crowded and noisey free breakfast in Zacharys' ,Howard, our (good cop) guide knew this too.

We still had to go through the rigmarole of being shown around the complex, told how lucky we were to be in our room, being invited to say how great everything was and grinning through Howard saying hello to every staff member he met to give a great family together - we can be trusted atmosphere.

We then entered the lion's den - the marketing building - where yes, we were again shown round all the photos on the walls, shown the brochures, etc, etc. But we were clearly not interested. Howard very pleasant, accepted decision and seemed to respect it.

Enter the manager, bad cop, cannot recall name of chappie, brown eyes, small pupils! Well he was very confrontational and pretty much demanded our reasons for not joining which I told him time and again -
1. We only usually go all inclusive
2. We prefer long haul/different locations
3. We do not think our friends/families would use our timeshare
4. We do not want a lifetime commitment to the company (£50,000 membership and £500 per year plus all other bits and pieces - travel, transfers, addtional costs to go through RCI (umbrella company), etc.

What I also wanted to say but didnt as I am not rude by nature was -
5. The standard wasn't that great - I have been to better (with the exception of 1 holiday that was 3 star)
6. If its so good why the hard, hard sell?
7. You are a nasty, rude man, Mr Manager and I want to leave now!!

We finally got out (alive) Howard dropped us back at room and was clealry unhappy about us not buying but, hey ho, they cant have it all ways

Congratulations if you got this far!! In conclusion - free holiday cost us £350 per person in £99 travel and food/drink/excursion costs. Resort was good quality but not the luxury as billed, Fungerolia is Blackpool in the sun and weather was great.

Club la Costa is not for us but works for some, which I can see and respect so why cannot they respect that we are not interested in return?

The main moan that I heard about the company is that it is difficult to get out of once in - one lady's husband is very ill - they will not buy her share back and she has to come alone and the only way she sees to get out is to cancel her direct debit and risk going to court as she just cannot afford it!! Not good.

Mr manager asks me why we came to Spain, I says - cheap holiday - he says that cant be the reason - I say yes it is. I was told to enjoy my freebie - not free I says - travel and food cost me the same as a last minute all inclusive last year in Bulgaria.

I would recommend to go on the 'free holiday' and also the resort to club la costa members but not to friends and family who may blame me for a lifetime of debt if they accidentally sign on the dotted line!!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank nottsscottslass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton Coldfield
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2009

Well we finally took our preview week (3rd choice) All was well on our arrival at 11.30pm although reception was busy,allocated apartment 36A,grounf floor resembled a prison cell with bars at the windows.

A basic 2 bedroom apartment with excellent British TV Channels.

Attended the compulsory presentation on the Tuesday picked up by Frank at 10.15am,back home at 3.00pm after a good buffet breakfast and several apartment viewings.Sales presentation by he and Mark was ok and there was no pressure when we said no.

Would I consider being a member no.We were with 2 14 year old boys and i dont think there was anyone under 65 staying there!!

Very expensive to eat or drink at the resort although the foof at Safari waa good

Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank beamoSuttonColdfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2009

My Husband and I took our friends and their 9 year old son to Marina Del Sol for 2 weeks in Aug/Sept this year.

We have been members of Club La Costa for a few years now and love the standard of accomodation you get. Our 1st week was in a 2 bedroomed town house with no AirCon. The apartment was on 2 levels (very much like a terraced house. It was very Spanish in its design and the view was spectacular!

Whilst there, Spain was having a heatwave, so we requested an Airconditioned room, if one became available. CLC were very helpful and while we were waiting for a cancellation, they provided us with 2 large fans to help with the heat.

CLC had a cancellation for the 2nd week and offered us an apartment with Aircon, which we gratefully accepted. Reception sent round a kind young man with transport to help us move and the apartment we moved to was absolutely gorgeous!!! The view was even better than the 1st apartment and was very modern. We all decided that we could have lived in this apartment, the standard was that good.

The gardens are very well kept and the pools are cleaned constantly. The facilities on the resort suit just about everyone.

I would highly recommend the Safari Restaurant as the food is of such a high standard, I didn't want to eat anywhere else!!!

To summarise - Club La Costa has been a great investment for us and everywhere we have been with the Club has been of a very high standard. We would not hesitate in recommending the Club to anyone

Sharon Mcp

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharonmcp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2009

Only a quick review but this place is great value for money if youre a CLC Member. Restaurants/Bars on site are nice, friendly and serve good food. Beach few minutes walk away and enough on site and nearby to keep kids of all ages occupied for a couple of weeks.

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LDNBlue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2009

Club La Costa is a big resort & residency accommodation. The beach is just 5 minutes walk away. I stayed in a apartment which is pretty huge for a solo traveller like me. They have a living room with TV, couch and dining table; a kitchen with all the utilities and even including a washing machine. The resort offers shuttle service to and from the reception. There are several restaurant on spot with international delicacy. A bus stop is 5 minutes away to get to the next town - Fuengirola, where there is a train station to Malaga and other places in between. The only problem is there isn't any bus to get from Fuengirola to Club La Costa at night. The best option is to get a taxi at the bus station, which normally cost 15 euros.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank santa15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2009

We also signed up for 34 months after the very good sales talk,paid our money went on our "prelude"1st morning We were robbed,whilst dozing in the front room,walked past Me (My Wife was in the bedroom),and stole everything,money sterling and euros two cameras,credit cards etc.Only for Fritz the security manager who paid for a meal,and lent us 150 euros,We would have destitute.The Management done NOTHING what so ever,never asked iof We were ok,had food or drink,money.it took ,at Our request,two days to see the under manegeress,My Daughter sent Us through money gram,money to get by,but with My credit cards,driving licence stolen,We couldn't hire a car or book excursions,Our Hloiday was ruined,and what did CLUB LA CONSTA,sorry Costa,do? nothing.Come the Thusday(We arrived on the Sunday),"free breakfast" and met Martin,
He was to show us around,He was very sympthathetic,He even tried to sell us a upgrade for £28000,the state we were in still in shock.
Club La CONsta are SCUM,they prey on People,even the "FREE" holiday with four "FREE" flights will cost You over £600 if You take two extra Children with You.They do not reply to letters,e-mails or telephone calls(they got about four different departments)
DO NOT TOUCH CLUB La CONsta stay well away,PLEASE.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank ringo1026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mijas
3.4 mi away
Eurostars Mijas Golf & Spa
4.4 mi away
ILUNION Hacienda del Sol
4.6 mi away
Muthu Grangefield Oasis Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel IPV Palace & Spa
Hotel IPV Palace & Spa
#1 of 37 in Fuengirola
1,361 reviews
5.5 mi away
TRH Mijas
TRH Mijas
#5 of 27 in Mijas
1,240 reviews
0.9 mi away
Myramar Fuengirola Hotel
Myramar Fuengirola Hotel
#7 of 37 in Fuengirola
970 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CLC Club La Costa World? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CLC Club La Costa World

Property: CLC Club La Costa World
Address: Carretera Cadiz Km 206, 29649, Mijas, Spain (Formerly Club La Costa)
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Mijas
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 40 Specialty Lodging in Mijas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — CLC Club La Costa World 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ISO 9001:2008 Certified by BSI (Resort Management services) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your CLC Club La Costa World reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club La Costa At Sierra Marina Hotel Mijas
CLC Club La Costa World Spain/Mijas, Costa Del Sol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing