We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good but not Great”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
CLC Club La Costa World
Ranked #2 of 42 Specialty Lodging in Mijas
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good but not Great”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2014

We have been there for one week vacation. We initially had some problems just after checked in. They were solved once we reported them and staff were police and very helpful. It is a good location and lots of beaches near by.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DKMK2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,001 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    327
    385
    162
    68
    59
See reviews for
463
372
7
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (245)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2014 via mobile

Just got back from Sierra Marina which was our last trial week. The apartment was nice but definitely the worst of all the places we have stayed during our trialembership. Shower was so small could barely move but at least we had sun on balcony in the afternoon. Thanks to review from Kit S was prepared for the calls offering free breakfast which we avoided
We got several calls from CLC reps. Had to pay to hire pool towels and go on computer which used to be free. Could have stayed here for less by using Trip Adviser!!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Linda E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CLCWorld, Guest Relations Manager at CLC Club La Costa World, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. Trial Membership is designed to let families enjoy 5 weeks of quality holidays with a choice of 50 resorts worldwide, plus an initial Prelude holiday in Tenerife or the Costa del Sol. It means guests can sample the variety of holidays we can offer and at exceptional value. At the end of a trial membership we welcome the opportunity to introduce our trial members to any new products that have been introduced to explore whether any are of interest, but of course this is a matter of choice. Our members use their ownership to holiday at prices that compare very favourably with traditional package holidays and holidays at CLC World bought through other agents and in addition, they enjoy significant membership benefits including special offers that enhance their membership. I hope you enjoyed your stays with us, and we wish you well on your future holidays.

Resort Manager, Costa del Sol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2014

I stayed for the first time at Club La Costa and thought the place was great. It had bars and supermarkets on site all reasonably priced. The range of pool use was wonderful and the room was perfect. The place was very clean and tidy and the staff were extremely pleasant. We had everything we needed all on one complex and if we needed to go outside then a bus stop was just a 5 minute walk away or you could stroll along the beachfront for 10/15 minutes to Fuengirola.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Low Cost Holidays

Helpful?
1 Thank Catherine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2014

friendly staff could not make up for the fact the room was facing the wrong way around so the rear where we could chill out (literally) lost the sun early well before 12am.
Poor fundamental design leaves the unit we were in with the side facing the sun and the front door where we could not sit, in the sun, in the afternoon.

We were offered another room but the balcony sitting area was public which was not to my wifes liking..

Room Tip: get a room thats south facing, ours wasn't and it was freezing in the evening and at night, desp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WillyGDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2014

Just arrived back from a week here on a promotional offer holiday and have to say I wouldn't return. Our party consisted of 5 adults 1 baby 1 toddler . On arrival immediately there where signs that this wasn't pushchair or disabled friendly, the reception was situated on the second hill with only a flight of stairs to access it No ramp or slope .We where given adjoining apartments only then to realise these weren't apartments they where 2 bedroomed Town houses which was a worry with a 14 month old baby as the stairs where marble and no child safety gates etc.
The condo consisted of a 2 double bedrooms ( 1 double bed , 1 with 2 singles ) bathroom , lounge/diner and a kitchen ...the kitchen and bathroom where very modern where the rest was out dated and the beds where like sleeping on a plank . wifi free in the rooms ...but no balcony , we where in 165 & 164 which has patio doors out to the garden so there was no privacy it was all open...
The complex was huge with all the facilities scattered all over , Although there was a onsite Free train to take you around the site ( which took nearly an hour to complete the whole site) walking required a lot of hills and steps which with pushchairs was very exhausting.
The site was very clean and well maintained with some beautiful gardens and staff where helpful and friendly. There was several restaurants on site , we ate in Zachary's one night which wasn't the cheapest costing 7.95e for a children's meal and all my daughter got was chicken nuggets and chips ( no salad , peas or beans No drink or desert ).
There are 6 pools throughout the site , nothing glamorous and on the small side although the pool at The California beach resort by the safari restaurant was so much nicer and more child friendly so id definitely advise paying this one a visit.
There is a cash point and supermarket on site as well as a café/patisserie ( sams pantry ) again these aren't cheap 2.50e for A sausage roll . I d definitely advise you find an off resort supermarket to get your essentials it'll save you £'s .
The location itself was a good walk from most amenities not a problem going down hill but was very tiring coming back , there didn't seem a great deal to do either round and about but a guess we where just out of season but feel there would only be a few more bars , restaurants and shops opening .
We went to Marbella on the bus costing 3.20euro's ( each way ) this took about 40mins ... a nice walk along the promenade with the palm trees and some lovely bars/restaurants , some quaint little shops mostly expensive designer shops ( pair of Toms 75euros , I brought a pair from Schuh before going £45 ...huge difference ) but these are situated on the back streets.
A trip to Bioparc is a must , a great day out whether you have kids or not and love animals situated in the centre of Feungirola costing 35euros for 2 adults , was lovely to see the animals living within there natural habitat instead of in cages from gorilla's ,tigers, croc's, lemurs etc .
Overall I wouldn't return to either the complex or the resort

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank carlalouise1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2014

we went here as a freebie/promotion. we had to go to a presentation, which lasted approx 3 hours, with afternoon tea included. we arrived late at night and went to reception who were very helpful, and porters took us to our room. i must admit we were very pleased with our accommodation, although it was a little aged we had everything in it, all the cutlery and utensils you could need, washer dishwasher etc, the view from our balcony was superb overlooking the sea. the resort is very well maintained, and very clean. mostly staff were friendly and helpful.
we did tend to have a few drinks at night on the way back to our room. we personally would not like to stop here again, we would rather stop in town. i think for the money they want for this resort you could stop in better places.
i am not sure just what it was about the place, but nothing particularly made me want to stay on site. we would tend to either walk down to the bus stop and catch a bus into town, or just walk in which took maybe 30 mins depending on where in town we were going. the buses around the area are very good and reasonably priced, and the drivers helpful. same with the train service, this is superb. the trains are very clean, pretty easy to use and cheap. we got off the plane walked across the road to the train station and got a train to fuengirola, this cost 2.70 euros and took about 45 mins

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank john o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger
Level Contributor
107 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2014

My wife and I stayed at this hotel resort for 4 weeks. We rented a 2 bedroom house/condo. It was not spectacular but had all the facilities and comforts that we needed. We were out most of every day and often out of an evening so it provided a comfortable retreat. We were unlucky in that I had achest infection, my wife got bronchitus and I (painfully) tore a muscle in my calf. We also had an invasion of small flies in the kitchen which no amount of spraying got rid of. We were moved to another house without any argument and, in fact, this new house had been renovated and upgraded and was therefore better than the first. So, with our sicknesses, injuries and million unwanted flying guests, why did we still enjoy the holiday. The reason was that the house was comfortable and the staff in the reception and elsewhere in the complex, were friendly and helpful. Fuengirola town was very pleasant with a wide choice of restaurants and bars. The markets in Fuengirola and surrounding area were good fun and we picked up quite a few incredibly cheap items that, after a while, we will probably find that we did not need. The food in the large local supermarket was excellent in both price and quality. We could make lovely meals in our little kitchen with the good quality local ingredients. We found a British butcher selling top quality sausages and meats of all kinds. Mix that with the local vegetables and wine and you find heaven cannot be far away. we played a lot of golf while staying there and the courses are excellent. Our stay was a package deal including unlimited golf which is mentioned because golf can be relatively expensive in this area. You can pick up very cheap hire cars from the airport in Malaga. We paid a total of about £75 for the car with basic Insurance for a 4 week rental. We paid about £100 extra for the period for Insurance covering the glass etc. So, for a total of £175 for 4 weeks, you can have a small car to drive around in!

It can be very hot here in the summer but we were there in mid February to mid March. There was a small but cosy garden Attached to the house with a lawn, sunbeds, chairs and a table. The pool was only 50 meters away. The beach was only 5 minutes walk away and looked nice and clean.

I would certainly recommend it to anyone wanting a golfing holiday in the "off season".

Room Tip: Depending on how much sunshine you want, check which direction Your garden faces. Ours lost the suns...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tonycStavanger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mijas
0.3 mi away
Hotel IPV Palace & Spa
Hotel IPV Palace & Spa
#2 of 37 in Fuengirola
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,232 reviews
0.9 mi away
Myramar Fuengirola Hotel
Myramar Fuengirola Hotel
#7 of 37 in Fuengirola
4.0 of 5 bubbles 926 reviews
5.5 mi away
TRH Mijas
TRH Mijas
#8 of 28 in Mijas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
ILUNION Hacienda del Sol
5.3 mi away
Club Calahonda Crown Resort
1.0 mi away
Los Amigos Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CLC Club La Costa World? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CLC Club La Costa World

Property: CLC Club La Costa World
Address: Carretera Cadiz Km 206, 29649, Mijas, Spain (Formerly Club La Costa)
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Mijas
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 42 Specialty Lodging in Mijas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — CLC Club La Costa World 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ISO 9001:2008 Certified by BSI (Resort Management services) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your CLC Club La Costa World reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club La Costa At Sierra Marina Hotel Mijas
CLC Club La Costa World Spain/Mijas, Costa Del Sol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing