We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Totally misled by CLC and dialaflight!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
CLC Club La Costa World
Ranked #2 of 42 Specialty Lodging in Mijas
Reviewed December 27, 2012

Chose this resort after being recommended it from dial a flight. Told them that my husband works away so quality time together for us as a couple was equally as important as family time with our three young children. Top of the list was a kids club which they could all attend. On arrival we were shown a clean yet very dated apartment. Didn't have a clue before booking just how many different types of accommodation were available and we definitely drew the short straw there! (we paid to hire an air con unit as the fans did nothing to cool the place down). Anyway my main gripe was the fact that despite advising of the ages of our children before arrival, and in fact double checking it with dial a flight again before we left, once we arrived my youngest daughter was told she was too young to attend the kids club. To say I was annoyed would be a massive understatement as this was the main reason for choosing this resort. So don't take your three year old even if they say that they can attend the kids club, because they can't. It's from age 4 apparently. Seriously misled and totally disappointed :(

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank Jacki07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CLCWorld, Guest Relations Manager at CLC Club La Costa World, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2013

We were sorry to see that you were disappointed with your holiday. Our family friendly resort does have a popular children's club and if you visit our website www.clcworld.com/costadelsol/kids-club you will see that we do say that Team Marina organises a mini-club for 4-11 year olds, and that babysitting facilities can be arranged. The printed welcome information available in our accommodation also refers to this. It appears that your booking agent may have misunderstood this and we apologise for any inconvenience caused.
Resort Manager, Marina del Sol

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,167)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

757 - 763 of 1,167 reviews

Reviewed December 22, 2012

This is the second time we have stayed at Castillo Del Rey and the 4th time at this resort. Generally we dont have any complaints but very dissapointed on this occassion as holiday was spoilt by the fact that the pool was not heated due to being knocked out in storm the previous week. Despite promises it was never fixed. We booked 4 apartments in total as we were out there celebrating someones 50th. Unfortunatly the very small children were not able to enjoy the pool as it was so cold which really spoilt it for one family. Perhaps we should have complained louder and demanded we be moved to Santa Cruz which appeared to be virtually empty and had a lovely warm pool. Have to say that these apartment are starting to look a little worn one bathroom inparticular was looking very grubby. We will be going back to this resort next year but not Castillo Del Rey as generally the resort is fab. I am hoping a member of the management team will read this and respond and refund some points as way of compensation. As members (platinum) for some 20 years I feel we deserve this. On a positive note I must thank staff member Lorraine who was helpful as ever particularly with the altercation with the dog on the motorway. Some staff at reception however need to work on their customer services skills though. The restaurant at reception is fab and well worth a visit

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank vindalou1812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CLCWorld, Guest Relations Manager at CLC Club La Costa World, responded to this reviewResponded December 24, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post a review – your feedback is important to us to help maintain our services. The day prior to your arrival, our resort suffered some major electrical issues due to an exceptional storm and regretfully some facilities were taken off line as a result. We worked closely and as swiftly as possible with the national electricity provider to restore services but sincerely apologise for any inconvenience caused during your stay. Please be advised that Member Services will be in contact with you this week to discuss further and are investigating the exact problems regarding the heated pool issues.

Resort Management, Castillo del Rey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2012

We stayed last week in August and had a wonderful holiday here. Self catering 2 bedroom townhouse for a family of 5 including 2 one year olds. We hired two cots which were travel cots. We flew Ryanair to Malaga and hired a car for a week. In order to qualify for a heavily discounted holiday we had to attend a presentation. We were collected and taken for a complimentary breakfast. We were shown a number of quality apartments. There was no high pressure selling and as soon as we disclosed that we would not take part in an offer we were returned to our apartment.
Our apartment was clean and was spacious with parking immediately outside and a small terrace garden at the rear. The weather was good and the apartment was cleaned during our stay.
The kitchen had everything most people would need including washing machine.
There was no air conditioning but this suited us.
There are nice swimming pools and the beach is acessible although plenty steps. We had a double buggy so it was tricky. But it is possible to access the beach via an overhead walkway and ramps.
We would recommend this holiday for families on a budget.
We had a very enjoyable holiday. Our daughter went pony riding which was hired on site.
Plenty of hills which might be the main difficulty for some people.
The weather was fantastic.
We could see evidence of the forest fires and large black clouds of smoke but this did not affect our holiday. We never smelt smoke until our last day when we stopped in Fueringola.
Recommend.

Room Tip: We stayed in a townhouse not far from the shop.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank BigHoward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2012

We went on a promotional holiday for 1 week. On arrival we were allocated a 2 bed apartment at the Serria Marina suite which we initially appreciated as we had only been promised a 1 bed apartment on booking, however on arriving at the apartment we were very disappointed.On opening the door we were met with this strong stench of bleach on entering the place looked very tired and old and outdated. The furniture was also dusty with Cobwebs on the walls, the bed covers and window blinds looked ancient.

I got on to reception and explained to them that the apartment was below standard, and I was unhappy to stay here with 2 young children for a week.

Reception were very helpful and immediately offered us another apartment, just behind reception on the way to Marina Dodora. This new apartment was miles apart from the initial apartment we had been allocated, it was a duplex and was more modern and clean. It was well equipped so we felt at home

On the day of the presentation we were taken for a complimentary breakfast after which we were taken for a 3 hour long presentation we were given the chance to buy timeshare, which we gracefully declined.

The Resort itself is quite large and is kind of divided into two.
1.California beach resort, which comprises of the San Diego and Santa Cruz suite, these suites they attest are for their timeshare owners, the apartments they claim are presidential, as the apartment each contain Jacuzzi, and also Jacuzzi type baths, etc, were we're shown around the marketing suite during the presentation
2. Marina del sol complex- comprises of Serria Marina, Marina del Sol, Marina del Rey, Marina Dodora these suites are mainly for customers on promotion some of the apartment on this side are not fit for purpose, whilst some others have been refurbished

The resort as a whole is quite large with a few restaurants, I am unable to comment on the quality of food served as we self catered and occasionally ate outside the complex. the swimming pools except for one were all not heated so were freezing,

It can be difficult to get around the complex and into town so it is advisable to rent a car, as if u don't you'd have to rely on the resort train which plies the main road into the resort

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank arewababe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

We were on a "free" try before you buy (it wasnt free, we didnt buy). Very pleased with the resort - appartments very clean and a good standard. Restaraunts very good - varied and food generally very good, staff excellent. Be aware the resort is isolated from town - and has a very dangerous access. Some folk will never leave the resort - and be quite happy. Dont go to Fuengirola looking for the nice bit. However DO take time to visit Malaga's old area and port - they seem to have spent RBS' money well here. Also visit MIjas & Seville. Ronda was disappointing. If yu have time Granada is great. However the compulsory sales pitch ("3-3.5 hours") took near 6 hrs and was highly misleading. You will be told the points are not available at this "special" price unless you sign on the day. If you do like the idea (and some may do) go home, think about it and buy online cheaper (much).

Room Tip: they all seem to have quite a good view. maybe want to avoid ground floor in high season.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Genesis888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for half term week and the weather was a mix of sun and rain. Regardless of the weather our apartment slept our family of 5 very comfortably. The accommodation had everything you would need including iron and ironing board and washing machine, which was very handy!! There was a welcome pack of food for when we arrived which was really helpful, the accommodation was well maintained and clean. The staff were very helpful, the evening entertainment was very good, I would highly recommend a meal at The Safari Restsurant and breakfast at Zachary's. the heated pool was bath water warm and the cold pools freezing but that would be very refreshing during the hot Spanish summer. Fuengerola was a 20 minute bus ride away as is Marbella. But local shops just 10 minute walk or €9 in a taxi, but there is a shop on resort. My only negative comment would be that we only had house keeping once in 7 days and really could have done with that a couple more times. Overall a good time was had by us all.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Mandy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

We went as a family (4) to CLC on a promotional holiday. We knew from prior experience that it was important to negotiate upfront (before travelling) on room quality as in general the promotional offer tends to be in the older/more tired areas of the resort. As it was we managed to get into the Castillo del Rey area of the complex (approx 3.5/4 star) in a spacious apartment, well decorated, good facilities and roomy with a big balcony overlooking the sea. We also had use of 2 (smallish) private pools which was great as the pools in the Marina del Sol area were very congested.

The complex in general was very clean and tidy and clearly well looked after. Reception staff were friendly and helpful; you could travel around the complex via a train/mini bus and there were enough bars/restaurants on the complex plus a supermarket to keep you happy if you wanted them.

We went with an open mind to the mandatory marketing day. The complimentary breakfast was really good and we were put with Pedro, a very warm, friendly Portugese sales guy who took time out to get to know us and our children. He clearly knew his stuff which made it an interesting few hours and at no point did we feel pressured into buying (ie: there was no hard selling). As it was we chose not to buy as we were not convinced of the ability to satisfy availability in the top end 5 star apartments and they respected our decision.

Fuengeirola, which was a 15 minute walk down the promenade from the complex had plenty of nice restaurants and bars. The village of Mijas was also a short taxi ride away to other quality restaurants such as Valaparaiso.

We would recommend going for one of these promotional weeks if you get the chance though as stated it's important to get the right accomodation to avoid being disappointed.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank G B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mijas
3.4 mi away
Eurostars Mijas Golf & Spa
5.5 mi away
TRH Mijas
TRH Mijas
#4 of 27 in Mijas
1,341 reviews
4.4 mi away
ILUNION Hacienda del Sol
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 mi away
Sol Principe by Melia
Sol Principe by Melia
#17 of 71 in Torremolinos
3,601 reviews
5.3 mi away
Crown Resorts Club Calahonda
4.6 mi away
Muthu Grangefield Oasis Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CLC Club La Costa World? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CLC Club La Costa World

Address: Carretera Cadiz Km 206, 29649, Mijas, Spain (Formerly Club La Costa)
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Mijas
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 42 Specialty Lodging in Mijas
Price Range: $44 - $147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — CLC Club La Costa World 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ISO 9001:2008 Certified by BSI (Resort Management services) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your CLC Club La Costa World reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club La Costa At Sierra Marina Hotel Mijas
CLC Club La Costa World Spain/Mijas, Costa Del Sol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing