We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A* Star service, A* Resort”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Mijas
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
CLC San Diego Suites
Ranked #4 of 28 Hotels in Mijas
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A* Star service, A* Resort”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

Myself and my Fiancee have visited this resort twice in the past 4 years and on both occasions we have had a great time. The suite we had was the premier plus suite which included the Jakuzzi which was cleaned and checked each day. The suite was also right next to the swimming pool which was very convinient. The hard area outside of the large pateo doors was a large size and was surrounded by a hedge which gave us some privacy. The suite itself was of a great quality. The suite was very clean and had a "high quality" finish, with marble floors and a large double bed, all of the cooking equipment you could need. The suite also came with a safe which was very useful for documents etc. The suite also had a very good air con system which was great after takeing a walk along the coast line. The furniture was clean and tidy and in good condition, overall very impressed.

The resteraunts on the complex were all very nice, but the safari resort stood out by far. The resteraunt was clean, tidy and the staff all spoke english very well and provided a good friendly service. The price of the food and drinks were high but this is to be expected as it is an "in resort" resteraunt. We eat here almost each day and never had a bad experience. We also visited zackarys on one occasion and found the food to be nice, but the service was lacking a little, but they were still friendly.

One thing which we did find slightly negative was the prices in the resort shop which were high, but this again is to be expected due to its location.

Overall from start to finish we had an amazing time on both occasions, if you have a chance to go, then go and enjoy, you wont regret it.

Room Tip: Take the train which takes you around the resort, it will save you a lot of time and effort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    40
    7
    0
    0
See reviews for
57
57
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
wrexham
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

Once again we had a relaxing time at San Diego Suites.....but not straight away !
When we arrived we were put into an unsatisfactory room....this was eventually solved.So no more needs to be said on the subject.
We did ,once again,attend the freebie breakfast/sales patter meeting.And once again we bought more points.But,we bought the points because it was right for us not because of pressure from C.L.C sales staff.We can't understand why people complain and whine so much about the sales pitch etc....you are afterall adults and can simply say NO and walk away when ever you want to.
Once again,the room we stayed in had everything you need for a nice relaxing week or two in the Spanish sun.There is nothing really that you need that isn't in the room.Even if something was amiss then C.L.C would arrange it without any hassle...just ask them.
The resort is always clean and tidy and even though we went in the peek summer weeks there was still plenty of loungers and space around the pools.
The staff ,as usual, were always pleasant to who ever they spoke to.This is the same with all staff,from reception to gardeners.
We always have a great time in San Diego Suites and would fully recommend the resort to anyone.

Room Tip: Ask for a pool view.You get stunning scenery but still not too much noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tropicalbay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bulgaria
Level Contributor
48 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

We stayed at Malibu Mansions as part of San Diego Suites and all members of my family felt very well. I was on vacation with husband and two little kids, one of them even baby plus some more friends and family. The baby cot was not very well cleaned on one side. The appartment was fully equiped. Once a week cleaned. We had a jacuzzi on the teracce but the water was not enough warmed. Everything else was great. The appartment was even luxtury and confortable - two bedrooms, kithen and big teracce on wich we prepared breakfast every morning and eat watching the sea and the town infront us. Amazing view! The place is quiet and clean. Big tv screen, parking space. There are nice resturants in the area of Club la Costa. Internet is not available in the appartments only in the lobby at the reception wich was a little dissapointing. Altough I like it and I would love to go again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank veni9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawkinge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
430 reviews
161 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,285 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012

We had a wonderful week here staying in a two bedroom apartment. There was a full kitchen, large living/dining area and huge dining terrace with a private jacuzzi. It was everything you could want. The swimming pools were extremely nice and there were plenty of loungers and umbrellas. i dont think I've been to a more peaceful swimming pool in a lot of years. And there was no towel reserving nonsense going on. We know this area very well and we mixed self catering with eating out and visiting the market in Fuengirola and down to Marbella. We always have a car and I would always recommend one. The landscaping is especially good here. Some things can be improved: we had to attend a sales presentation and what should have been breakfast and 90 minutes turned into a 6 hour gruelling session. Not pleasant and it took a day of our holiday. It was also followed up by a call and a visit to the apartment which we didnt particularly appreciate. There is no wireless in any of the apartments. You have to go to the pool or the reception to access the free wifi service. This is not acceptable at this level of accommodation and there is just no excuse for it - its so easy to install.
Other than that, can't recommend the place highly enough and would love to return. I would take a very strong line on future presentations though.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alliebdive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubLaCostaWorld, Guest Relations Manager at CLC San Diego Suites, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a review, and we are pleased that you had a wonderful week’s holiday. We believe that at our presentation we are talking about an important investment in holidays for people and their families, and it would be wrong to compress the information needed to make an informed decision into too short a time. We do ask people for a minimum of 90 minutes of their time and find that once we have used that time to introduce ourselves many are happy to hear and see more. We make our presentation as interesting and enjoyable as it can be, using state-of-the-art multi-media presentation tools and a guided tour of the resort. It is important to get to know our clients and the sort of holidays they enjoy and what they would enjoy in the future so we can identify a product that would best suit their needs, and we recognise that this can take time. However, we should stress that no-one is under any obligation to purchase or join anything and if people decide that our holidays are not for them, then they can of course leave at any time. We are pleased that you feel able to recommend our resort and hope that you will enjoy future stays with us.

Posted by Alex Garcia, Member Services Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, England
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2012 via mobile

We've been fully members of Club La Costa since 2009 and never felt that the Sales Team were pressuring us since our trial week. All of the 3 sales staff that handled us in Fuengirola and Tenerife were excellent sales team. I should know as I used to managed a National Sales Team for a Pharmaceutical Company in Asia and understood the way marketing and sales work.

We stayed at the Santa Cruz Suites for a week as part of our signing up as full members and I can only sing praises for the hotel staff as well as the marketing staff. The room we had had the full specs - jacuzzi, bubble bath, fully fitted kitchen and the quality of fittings and furniture were top notch. The pool nearby was perfect for our 7-year old son who loved playing with other guests children and has really enjoyed his time around the pool. The ambience and atmosphere of the place was screaming of quality - we've been to Spain four times in the last 3 years and by far, this is the best we had with Club La Costa. I can't fault it. Highly recommended.

We drove from England to Fuengirola with our new car as we know the place before. You'll better off with a car/rental car so you can experience the sights more and have your time to enjoy the area.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank emaniebo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherton
Level Contributor
60 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2012

We stayed in Malibu Mansions as part of the San Diego / Santa Cruise Suites for our prelude week with Club la Costa

Malibu Mansions is a separate gated part of the large CLC resort covering a number of sites, the facilities of all parts were available to us as guests. The apartment itself was fantastic, master bedroom with en suite bathroom, 2nd bedroom, house bathroom, kitchen and lounge / diner. Large patio with 6 seater table, 2 loungers, 2 comfortable chairs with side table and 4 seater hot tub

The apartment was large and fully up to date with good quality fittings and appliances. All the basic utensils, etc in the kitchen. Weekly maid service for a clean but they did collect and take away the rubbish on a daily basis

Malibu has its own good sized pool, with children’s pool, poolside showers and toilets and this is exclusively for the benefit of guests staying within Malibu. There were 4 pool towels available for use around the pool, apparently these should not be taken to the beach, (we did visit the beach and found it was oppressively hot whilst we were there, the public beach did not look nice although apparently there are nice stretches by the bars). Overall the pool was fairly quiet and was a pleasant place to spend the day chilling out, as it is high up in the resort there was a pleasant breeze through the day so that the temperature pool side was fantastic

The resort itself is huge but is serviced by a train around the resort which is free and runs every 30 minutes. When hot a good way to travel. The nearest convenience store, “Sam’s” is around a 5-10 minute walk, useful for a very limited range of basics, such as beer, water, cheese, salad, they do offer a good range of bread, cakes and ice creams though. There is another convenience similar store at the other end of the resort, “Zak’s”, similar to Sam’s, additionally there is a larger convenience store not part of the CLC resort but on site, we did not find this particularly appealing and did not buy anything although plenty of people were. When returning we would take a taxi into Fuengirola itself and try one of the main supermarkets and do a bulk shop

There are a number of restaurants on site all offering reasonably good quality of food at slightly over the odds prices but not unreasonable. The target clientele is for the family market and the restaurants meet this from the basic through to the moderately smart Safari restaurant

Main pools are fairly busy and it looked as though there were plenty of facilities around the resort for children to keep them occupied

There is the sales pitch to be attended 1 day whilst there if visiting as a free holiday week or the prelude week but this is a good opportunity to see the site as a whole a number of different apartments and to be able to make a better judgement call on whether to join fully or not

We will visit this site again next year as we would like to tour the surrounding area as we did not visit this time as we needed a quiet chill out and relax week rather than a busy site seeing trip

Any specific questions feel free to PM us

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view and top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank daveandchell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2012

Stayed for a Prelude week check in went smoothly although room was not ment to be ready until 3pm ours was. apartment 834 was right next to the baggage storage room which was very noisy when trying to sleep after 2 nights went and complained at reception and did not hear anymore noise whilst we were there so if u get this room be aware.

The apartment was lovely en suit with jacuzzi bath and his and hers sinks shower and toilet, in hall way another shower and toilet bathrobes sofa bed in lounge slep another 2 people.
Full kitchen including wash/machine and a large terrace with a hot tub which was topped up every day and heated. Room service was occasional towels changed 2 weekly but more if u required but we had ample. Nice welcomepackage bread eggs jam milk coffee tea and orange juice.

The Safari restaurant served very nice food but we bought food from supermarket quite a bit, used the train to get around resort and walked into fuengirola which was 20mins walk.

The meeting was quite long 09:30 -16:30 but once they knew we did not want to buy into the scheme they left us alone. We are on a trial membership for 35 months which we obtained in London so we prefer to continue with this package and see how things go.

All in all after a rocky start very relaxing holiday. Please note u can not get back to this particular part of resort if you do not sign up for full membership.

Room Tip: beware of the room next to the luggage storage room can get noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travels51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mijas
0.7 mi away
Hotel IPV Palace & Spa
Hotel IPV Palace & Spa
#1 of 37 in Fuengirola
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,227 reviews
3.6 mi away
El Oceano Beach Hotel
3.5 mi away
Eurostars Mijas Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Marriott's Marbella Beach Resort
1.2 mi away
Myramar Fuengirola Hotel
Myramar Fuengirola Hotel
#7 of 37 in Fuengirola
4.0 of 5 bubbles 925 reviews
5.8 mi away
TRH Mijas
TRH Mijas
#7 of 28 in Mijas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CLC San Diego Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CLC San Diego Suites

Property: CLC San Diego Suites
Address: Carretera Cadiz km 206, 29649, Mijas, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Mijas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 28 Hotels in Mijas
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ISO 9001:2008 Certified by BSI (Resort Management services) ... more   less 
Also Known As:
San Diego Suites/California Beach Hotel Mijas
CLC San Diego Suites Spain/Mijas, Costa Del Sol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing