We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“ventura (happiness in spanish..)” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casa Ventura

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mijas
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa Ventura
Ranked #19 of 41 Specialty Lodging in Mijas
czech republic
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“ventura (happiness in spanish..)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

we are home only a week and we are already sad and would like to come back.. could there be better advertising? no.. the same answer is to the question if it is possible to describe casa ventura..
not the exceptional view from this design villa, quite and smell of its garden, the life of picturesque mijas, tastes of its restaurant ( especially "la reja"), because many already described it before us..
but the atmosphere and style.. we have visited a lot of places and hotels, but casa ventura, after those 16 nights we have spent in the middle of the andalusian winter, will remain forever in our memory..
thanks jayne and tony ( and bibi, gladys and uma:), who could not do more for us.. not only recommend what to see and whe to eat, but to talk about their opinions and feelings.. as valuable in today's world..
( see the photos on www.casa-ventura.com, villa is also recommended on www.sawdays.co.uk like a " designs to inspire"!)
we were gran ventura that we have found this place, do not miss your..

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank danielaCzechRepublic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
35
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

Casa Ventura is an absolute gem in the hills above the Med, right on the edge of Mijas Pueblo. I don’t know what I can add to any of the already brilliant reviews other than to say that they are not wrong. This really is a special place.

The interior is fabulous, the views are stunning and the pool and gardens are perfect for relaxing. The genuinely warm and friendly welcome from Jayne and Tony also make Casa Ventura such a wonderful place to be. From the moment we arrived we felt like we were visiting friends as the atmosphere is just so relaxed. Special praise too to Uma and Bibi.... great entertainment!

Wonderful all round, we can’t wait to return.

Room Tip: The pool-room is great! Right off the pool and lovely sunrises from the window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2012

The moment you arrive at the private entrance to this mountainside retreat you intuitively know you are in for a special treat and have chosen oh so very well. Descending palm-lined steps you glimpse the stunning Mediterranean blue of the terrace pool that overlooks serene mountains and superb seascapes as the architect designed Casa Ventura and gardens starts to wrap you in their beauty and deep tranquility.

Once inside the super stylish, über cool yet warm interiors, museum standard-sixties furniture and fine modern art tell you that you have discovered not merely a B&B but a superb destination in its own right. Nothing disappoints here. The bedrooms have been fitted out with panache and an understated elegance that promises and delivers deep peaceful sleeps and the refreshing bathrooms continue this theme.

The lounge area has to be seen and sat in to be fully appreciated. The website has the views but you have to sit for a while and let the mountain do its its work on you. If you're looking for a short cut to nirvana I think your dapper English host Tony Wilson has created one here.

Fine dining and beaches a stroll or short drive away; and best of all, your perfect host Tony who serves wonderful freshly-made breakfasts and caters for your every need. His unrivaled local knowledge will transform your stay and provide you with those traveler's tales that we all really go on holiday for.

I stayed at Casa Ventura for ten days this March (2012) to turbo boost a writing project. I got my work done, felt wonderful as I did so and had one of my most enjoyable times ever in this slice of Andalusian heaven. Ideal for those who love style, luxury and time to be at peace with oneself and be surrounded by nature's gifts. I'll be back for a more romantic stay with my beloved some time very soon.

Room Tip: I had the poolside room and it's great as you have the terrace and pool on your doorstep. I also...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ThePitchDoctor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights at the beginning of February for a last minute, much needed break.

It is quite simply a stunning property - the interior is impeccably designed with original 60's pieces scattered throughout the casa and attractive artwork placed on the walls to compliment. The views of the mountains and bay, through the floor to ceiling windows, were breathtaking.

It was bright but chilly and windy when we arrived and Tony started as he continued - the perfect host. Tea and coffee was provided to us in the lounge, allowing us to relax in front of those windows with the sun beating through. Tony was chatty, informative, interesting but never imposing.

Breakfast was just what we needed with all of the fish, meat and Iberian ham we were eating for lunch and dinner. Delicious muesli with yoghurt & honey, some small toasts with different toppings such as smoked salmon & cream cheese, freshly squeezed orange juice & fresh fruit.

The dogs were lovely and friendly. We wanted to steal Bibi and bring her back.

The beds were so comfortable. There is nothing worse than going away and then not sleeping comfortably. No such problem here. The only thing to wake us up was the reddish sun as it creeped up above the mountain in front of us.

We really enjoyed it here. We hope you do too!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NiB77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, VA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2011

As amazing as the photos and reviews of Casa Ventura are, the reality was even better! My husband and I enjoyed Tony's hospitality for 4 nights the week before Christmas last year (2010 - so this review is overdue). Loved the views of the Med. from the house and our room, and the rainy weather - it was December after all - made the room even cozier. Tony was the perfect host, ready with info when we needed him, but not in the way. The breakfasts were first-rate, with a great range of choices, and he easily accomodated gluten free diet. I especially appreciated Tony's help when I unfortunately I got food poisoning from salad at one of the local restaurants - he gave us some stomach medicine and made me some nice bland food to get my upset tummy back on track. Would go back in a hearbeat!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vatraveller40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2011

We came here for a mini break in June. Tony was the most amazing host and the room was beautiful.
we both love dogs so getting to hang out with Uma and BB was amazing.
great breakfast and lovely clean place. We didnt need a car as the walk to town is nice
We got a cab from airport and tony drove us back to the airport on our way home.

Room Tip: either room is good
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bigcove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cirencester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2011

Just returned from 4 wonderful days staying at the most exquisite destination (Casa Ventura) and location (Mijas Pueblo). There are 3 rooms so myself and 5 friends had the place to ourselves but would have been as happy sharing with other travellers. Tony was the most excellent host and the dogs Bib and Uma were the most friendly I have ever met. The day started with a wonderful breakfast and then we either lazed by the pool and Tony would make lunch or we wandered into the wonderful Mijas full of restaurant recommendations from Tony (suggest you take him up on them). There was also an excellent bus service to Fuengirola (1.25 euros) which from the last stop was only a 3 min walk to the beach so managed shopping, pedalos and a beach side BBQ all in one afternoon! In the evening we went to a fantastic Tapas bar in Mijas that had fantastic food as well as the best Sangria! (I have been searching for 7 years and believe me this was the best!) You won't be disappointed and would thoroughly recommend for friends, families, couples etc etc

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sally_townsend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mijas hotels
0.3 mi away
TRH Mijas
TRH Mijas
#7 of 28 in Mijas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,159 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hacienda Puerta del Sol
8.4 mi away
El Oceano Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
El Escudo de Mijas
El Escudo de Mijas
#2 of 15 in Mijas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mijascasa Villa La Jamisa
0.5 mi away
Macdonald La Ermita Holiday Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Ventura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Ventura

Property: Casa Ventura
Address: urbanizacion Huerta Alta 1 F 15 | Mijas Pueblo, 29650, Mijas, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Mijas
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 41 Specialty Lodging in Mijas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Ventura is a private boutique retreat in the most beautiful surroundings just a 2 minute walk into the village of Mijas Pueblo. If you read our TripAdvsior reviews they will tell you more than we ever could ! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Casa Ventura Spain/Mijas, Costa Del Sol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing