We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful holiday-we want to live there!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Apartamentos Atalayas de Riviera

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Apartamentos Atalayas de Riviera
Ranked #24 of 41 Specialty Lodging in Mijas
Burnley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Wonderful holiday-we want to live there!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2012

This is by far the best apartments I have stayed in. Went 30th December for 1 week. Picked up a car from airport (Malagarcar.com, which we highly recommend) which we kept for the week the apartments are in the suburbs of Calahonda/Mijas, about 3 min drive from local villages, supermarkets, restaurants, a few bars, banks etc or about 30 min walk, so car is highly recommended.

I wanted to write a detailed review as we really did have a fantastic time, the apartments were 2 bed with en-suite, all mod cons, you could live there! Lovely receptionist, service etc, fully gated and secure with underground parking.
There is a small cafe in the complex which serves lovely breakfasts and lunches but i think closes about 3.30 in the afternoon and then everything else is a short drive.

Apartments are based in Riviera DEl sol which is within easy reach of Mijas/ Calahonda/Marbella/ Cabopina which is a little marina to die for.

We will definately be booking to go again. In fact we wouldnt go anywhere else! Hugh thumbs up!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Vicky C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    16
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
16
7
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2011

The apartments are nicely furnished and are clean and fresh, which helps at night. The rooms had both fans and heaters, but we didn't need any. We had a parking space (you really do need a car). Thankfully there are some shopping places nearby, a short drive away. From one of the pools one can see the sea, which is something we really liked. Overall, we were extremely pleased.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alanuk60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland
Level Contributor
135 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2011

We have booked an 8 night stay in Atalayas de Riviera through Hotelopia, but we have spend only one very cold night there. The booking was prepaid. The three bedroom apartment was nice but it was only 16 degrees celcius inside. For 7 different rooms (kitchen,seperate livingroom, 3 bedrooms and two bathrooms) there were 3 electric heaters on wheels available (as you can see on the photo of the livingroom), but the power kept shutting off when we turned 3 heaters on. We called the reception and the reception said we could only use the heaters on the lowest setting. So we had to heat 7 rooms with three electric heaters on the lowest setting. This didn't work because the livingroom alone needed two heaters to reach a normal temperature. After a cold stay of 14 hours we wanted to check out. The reception said they were sorry, but we had to pay 3 nights, so we hope we will get a refund of 5 prepaid nights.... Internet through cable was fine, so it was easy to book a new apartment with heating. In the apartment were a dishwasher and an old washingmachine without manual.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank memberHolland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2010

I returned from spending a week at the Atalayas de Riviera. I travelled with my 2 children aged 14 and 9. We just needed to get away from the UK and all its hustle and bustle and did not really have any expectations. I was therefore pleasantly surprised at the comfort and level of security. We all slept well and had picked up a car from the airport. It was in a secluded location and central to most places such as Marbella, Torremolinos, Malaga, Fuegirola, Benalmadena etc. The apartments were situated in Calahonda and all the other larger towns were an average of 15 - 30 minutes away. Accommodation was clean and apartments were serviced every other day. There are 3 English Channels (quite boring) but we were out everyday we were there so it did not really matter. I had also taken my portable DVD player for the children.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Folaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andalusia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2010

A lovely complex. Quiet and with beautiful gardens and pools.It is possible to walk to the beach and shops, but there are no street lights at night so a car is recommended. Lovely restaurants within a short drive: Dibleys in La Cala is a very welcoming bar that does wonderful tapas and has a great quiz night on Thursday. Jinete near La Cala Golf is a wonderful restaurant in a beautiful setting and if you travel to Fuengirola be sure to eat at Matahambre.

Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank ec20000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, UK
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2009

Apartment very clean, modern and complex well maintained. Four swimming pools spread over site meant it was fairly quiet. Well equipped apartment with washing machine, dishwasher and microwave facilities. TV in lounge area with basic UK Channels (BBC1 & ITV1) plus Eurosport and CNN News. Complex laid out in 8 blocks of apartments each 3 storeys high. Some apartments have good sea views but most on lower floors have views of the mountains and other villages. Balconies overhang each other so may not get much sun. Complex is very secure with gates at all entrances. Parking is underground and located under each apartment block so very secure and keeps car cool too. Located at end of AP7 Motorway Toll Road (Calahonda Exit) Currently 3.80 euros from Malaga. Also easily accessed from N340 coast road. The only downside to staying here is that there is very little to do nearby. There are no restaurants/shops/supermarkets within about 1km of the resort so a car is ESSENTIAL unless you enjoy walking a lot or are prepared to pay for taxis. Think there is a bar by the golf complex about 500m away. Calahonda has a good selection of bars and restaurants and other villages / towns are easily accessible along the coast road.
In Calahonda just off the main roundabout there is a square containing a number of restaurants. It is hidden from view but can be accessed from the row of shops on the front. There are a number of good quality restaurants including Italian, Chinese/Japanese, Indian and an British run bar. There is also a quality Italian restaurant called "Da Bruno" just located on the "Cabopino Exit" on the N340, about 1.5km from Calahonda centre heading towards Marbella. The beach at Cabopino is also very pleasant with a number of excellent restaurants surrounding a lovely little marina.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank inspectorhector
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mijas
0.3 mi away
Hotel Mesto
Hotel Mesto
#21 of 28 in Mijas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Casa Consistorial
Hotel Casa Consistorial
#3 of 37 in Fuengirola
4.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Galicia
Hotel Galicia
#6 of 18 in Fuengirola
3.5 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Embajador Apartametos
Embajador Apartametos
#7 of 14 in Fuengirola
3.5 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cuevas
Cuevas
#7 of 18 in Fuengirola
4.0 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Cafe La Morena
Hotel Cafe La Morena
#4 of 18 in Fuengirola
4.5 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apartamentos Atalayas de Riviera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartamentos Atalayas de Riviera

Property: Apartamentos Atalayas de Riviera
Address: Viento del Sur. (Urb. Riviera del Sol), 29647, Mijas, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Mijas
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 41 Specialty Lodging in Mijas
Hotel Class:2 star — Apartamentos Atalayas de Riviera 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Also Known As:
Apartamentos Atalayas De Riviera Hotel Mijas
Apartamentos Atalayas De Riviera Spain/Mijas, Costa Del Sol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing