We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place excellent food and service”

Restaurante El Mirlo Blanco
Ranked #19 of 465 Restaurants in Mijas
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $29 - $41
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: El Mirlo Blanco is located in a delightful setting in a traditional whitewashed building typical of the Malaga region in the centre of Mijas. The restaurant can seat 60 diners in two dining rooms that feature wonderful open fireplaces, although in the warmer months diners can eat on the terrace with its splendid views over the town and the nearby mountains. The restaurant offers traditional Basque cooking using the finest seasonal ingredients. Its extensive menu changes with the seasons with specialities that include beef stew, baby squid or excellent cod, among many others. There is also a long list of wines and spirits. El Mirlo Blanco is a great choice at any time of year, whether you choose to sit by the fire on cold days or on its wonderful terrace in summer.
Cahir, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great place excellent food and service”
Reviewed October 8, 2012

This is just the ideal place to eat right in the middle of town yet protected from the bustle and passing traffic.
Really attentive owner and staff made sure everything was just right.
Mijas is just such a pretty place to visit with the panoramic view of the sea over Fungerola below
Will be back..

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WJCollins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

489 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    311
    144
    20
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Norfolk
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A great restaurant,”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

We have used this restaurant many times and we have never been disappointed....Location is excellent, over looking the plaza de la constitution, where there is often entertainment.
The food is excellent and the ambiance second to none. The "White Blackbird" have very friendly staff attentive and nothing is too much trouble. We will be back both May and September.....Victor Y Sandra

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank VictorMichael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Always excellent”
Reviewed September 29, 2012

We have been coming here for 7 years. We have always had a warm welcome. In summer sit on the terrace and in winter sit in the cosy restaurant at the back with huge fire. The food is excellent. The steak is the best I have ever had. The garlic chicken is also excellent. It's not cheap but you get what you pay for.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tennisview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
siberia
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The best restaurant on Costa del Sol”
Reviewed September 21, 2012

This summer we were traveling along Costa del Sol, Spain. We have visited lots of places, including different restaurants. We tried plenty of delicious foods, national topazes and so on. Fortunately, almost everywhere the food was tasty, though quite simple. When we were walking down Mijas,on the central square we saw very beautiful terrace with the roof twinded around by the bunches of grapes.
It looked really cosy and attractive. So we decided to have a dinner at this wonderful place. Almost all the tables were booked, but the owners kindly offered us the table for 2 near the window.
Speaking about the food, I start to feel hungry. Every dish from starters and salad to the main course and dessert was extremely delicious and unforgettable!!!! For the main course I had duck with the orange souce- I,ve never ever tried such tasty duck in my life )))).
I do recommend this restaurant to everybody. It is a wonderful place for a family dinner, for romantic dinner or just for dinner with friends. Friendly family (who owens this restaurant) does all their best that you can feel like at home or at good friends.
Though this restaurant does not have a Micheline Star, but frankly speaking, it impressed me much more than one 2-star Micheline restaurant in Malaga....

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank irina_viv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good Service, Nice location, OK food”
Reviewed September 5, 2012

Good location and service. But food was not up to some of the reviews and certainly not the price. Party had starters of prawn cocktail which were good (if a little Abigail's Party in presentation) and good Gazpacho; Main courses of Steak which was good but accompanying sauce for watery and tasteless and Sole with a cream sauce more cream than sauce.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank callmidd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante El Mirlo Blanco also viewed

Mijas, Costa del Sol
Mijas Pueblo, Mijas
 
Mijas Pueblo, Mijas
 
Mijas Pueblo, Mijas
 

Been to Restaurante El Mirlo Blanco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing