We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful setting but somehow disappointing.”
Review of Restaurante Neo Beach Club - CLOSED

Restaurante Neo Beach Club
Cuisines: Mediterranean
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
UK
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting but somehow disappointing.”
Reviewed April 30, 2014

We have now dined at Neos twice. The setting,ambiance and welcome excellent.
But somehow each time it has missed the mark. The first time the steaks were just not tender. We were being treated for the meal and would not in those circumstances complain.
On the second occasion we were treating our family and again would not spoil the evening by complaining but the Paella was poor. Stodgy and lacking in ingredients .

It is an expensive place to eat and for us it did not meet expectations which is a shame as it is such a beautiful restaurant as far as decoration and ambience is concerned

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andrew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

145 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    41
    5
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Walton-On-Thames, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect Location, Excellent Food”
Reviewed April 24, 2014

We visited this restaurant back in June 2013. We came here for my partners birthday and weren't disappointed. Maria was a fantastic host and the service was second to none. We had a table outside so the sea views were perfect. Combined with a modern, clean minimalist restaurant this made for the perfect setting. We had fish dishes for both our starters and mains and they were faultless. Out of the 7 nights we stayed in Mojacar this was the best restaurant in our opinion.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SurreyGirl80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spain
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Superb restaurant especially for a special occasion.”
Reviewed March 22, 2014 via mobile

This really is a fantastically 1st class restaurant. From
The minute you walk in the door - Maria (the owner) and her beautiful waitresses make you feel at home with their wonderful warm welcome. Nothing is too much trouble here. You can start the evening with a cocktail in the very tasteful bar area and then proceed to the table where the food is second to none. Very interesting and unusual menu with dishes not served anywhere else on the beach. Desserts to die for and a finale of a drink on the house! The decor is tasteful & expensive situated right on the beach. In the summer the beachside terrace is in a league if it's own. Would definitely recommend this place if you have a special occasion or someone you want to impress!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank elegantuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“First time dining experience at Neo”
Reviewed March 18, 2014

We first came for a drink and tapas during the day and were pleasantly surprised by the modern tasteful ambiance and friendly personal service. The house wine was of very good quality and we enjoyed home made tapas, freshly prepared, all very reasonably priced. The sea views all around were magnificent, with an inviting outside lounge area, though it was not appropriate weather on the day to enjoy it!
We returned the next day for an evening meal which was very well prepared. We had intended to take the menu del noche, but instead chose to go a la carte because of the interesting options listed, and were not disappointed. The ingredients were fresh, well prepared, with innovative choice of ingredients. The fresh sea bass was expertly filleted at our table by our hostess, and was superb. Again, the service was both professional and friendly. The wine list was interesting and extensive, catering for all price categories. We chose a red wine from Leon, which was superb and still reasonably priced. All in all, a very competent and above average restaurant - definitely a welcome addition to the Mojacar restaurant scene. Well worth a visit!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Martina V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Superb Sea Bass”
Reviewed February 17, 2014 via mobile

This is a stylish and very pleasant restaurant with modernist, minimal decor. There is a terrace so direct views of the beach and sea would be pleasant in better weather. The staff were attentive, charming and efficient.
Starters were a bit expensive but tasty and well presented. The main courses both fish were exceptionally good. There is an extensive and varied wine list. Predominantly reds - odd for a fish restaurant?
I would thoroughly recommend this place but it is expensive and certainly a smart venue where I wouldn't dream of imposing my children upon others.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Gethin683
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante Neo Beach Club also viewed

Mojacar, Province of Almeria
Mojacar, Province of Almeria
 
Mojacar Playa, Province of Almeria
Mojacar, Province of Almeria
 
Mojacar, Province of Almeria
Mojacar, Province of Almeria
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing