We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel Mojacar”
Review of Hotel Best Mojacar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Best Mojacar
Ranked #6 of 24 Hotels in Mojacar
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Spent a fortnight recently at this Hotel (myself, wife, daughter, 2 granddaughters & 2 friends). This was our fourth visit and overall had improved year by year. The restaurant and food very good with good quality & plentiful; bars well supplied & staff friendly; accommodation spacious, clean & comfortable. A Hotel with 95% Spanish & therefore all entertainment in local language, but still enjoyed the late evenings. If visiting in high season, beware the staff & lifeguard removing towels etc from sunbeds around the pool if left unattended.

Room Tip: Request pool/seaview rooms at time of booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank brassbandbrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BESTHOTELS2013, Director Hotel at Hotel Best Mojacar, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2013

Dear Family,

Thank you for your comments.
We endevor to provide our customers with a high level of service and are grateful that this is appreciated.

Best Regards and we hope to see you again soon.

Alejandro Rodriguez
Director
Hotel Best Mojacar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,236)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

89 - 95 of 1,236 reviews

Reviewed July 3, 2013

We booked to go to the best hotel mojacar on the 13 June 2013. After reading the reveiws we were dreading going. On arrival we were delt with straight away even though there was about 40 to 50 of us who had arrived at the same time.
The staff were pleasant on receiption and in the dining room. The bar staff were a different matter. There were two who had got personality problems even to the Spanish.
The room was good it was very clean and public areas were clean.
The food was good,good choice for everyone.
The location was out of the towns but it was only a bus ride to either towns.
The pool was well maintained along with the gardens. Plenty of new sun beds but could have done with more parasels.
On a weekend the Spanish decended for the weekend so there was quite a lot of people there but there was no trouble at all and everyone was treated the same.
The entertainment was all in Spanish which was not a problem to us. The chap was a pain but the girl came across quite well. The chap thought to shout made him better. NO IT DID'NT
The resort it self was very clean and well managed. The beach was clean even by the camels.
Would we go back NO due to the location.

Room Tip: top floor over looking the sea and pool. Can be noisy but the veiws are great. entertainment finishe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paula h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BESTHOTELS2013, Director Hotel at Hotel Best Mojacar, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2013

Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for your comments regarding the Best Mojacar.
Thanks to them we can ensure that we continue to improve.
We are pleased that you enjoyed the time you spent here and I apologise for any inconviences that you may have had.

Best Regards,

Alejandro Rodriguez
Director
Hotel Best Mojacar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

In August 2012 we stayed as a family of four at the Best Mojacar. There were not many British families in the hotel, in the first week of our holiday we saw only 3 other families. For us this wasn't an issue though it was different to what we'd normally expect on a package holiday. For example, only certain reception staff could speak English. Some notices where in Spanish with no English Translation. Lunch and Dinner started an hour later than our norm - 13:00 and 20:00. The entertainment (we'll come to that later) and Jacuzzi pool stopped during siesta time, in fact the pool was deserted between 14:00 and 17:00!

The rooms were large and clean, a little tired but overall we were pleased. There were plenty of sun beds and the pool was a good size. There where complimentary beach towels which could be changed each day. You had to pay a 10 euro deposit per towel which was returned at the end of our holiday. Wi-Fi was free but it was quite flaky. You needed persistence to use it but I managed to download a few books to my kindle and I had access to my email on most days, so not too bad!

We were really impressed with the food. There was enough variety to keep us happy! There was fish and meat cooked in front of you at each meal. We didn't experience the issues with luke warm food that have been mentioned in other reviews. We where AI and for us the food and drinks ( You could have a bottle of wine with you meal) were excellent.

The service at the Bar has been mentioned in many of the reviews about this hotel. I can't disagree that initially we struggled to be understood. It was slightly embarrassing that our knowledge of Spanish was so limited that we were unable to assist. It forced us to Google a few words to help us get served! By the end of the week we didn't have an issue. But, and there is a but, when the bar was busy the Spanish guests did get served first which did cause me frustration on one occasion and I eventually had to demand to be served. On the positive side it was very easy to structure your day so that you avoided any queues. We found that our schedule ran slightly earlier than the majority of the Spanish guests. If you went to lunch at 2pm you queued to enter the dining room but at 1pm it was quiet. The same applied in the evening and the Bar was empty at certain times while at others very busy.

Entertainment - It was in Spanish, but to be honest this didn't actually matter. The quality could be debated but the only thing you remember is that it was SO loud. I asked to move from our sea view room after the 2nd day as the volume in the room was the same as outside! We were moved to a corner room - it was a big room - still loud but slighty less so than in our original room. Basically you could not sleep before 11:30pm which seems reasonable unless you have young children! Between 11:30pm and 11:00 am when the 'entertainment' started again, it was virtually silent. I must stress that if you're looking for a quiet holiday - the 'entertainment' may cause you some distress! This was the negative of the holiday for me.

My children, aged 5 and 7, did go to the kids club on most days for about an hour but I must admit that it was geared to the Spanish families and think that some children may not have been happy joining. Saying that my children were welcomed and there was one rep who spoke English well.

There wasn’t much to do in the surrounding area but buses ran frequently and for about a Euro you could got to Garrucha or the Old town which was well worth a visit. The Thomas Cook rep appeared to have very little knowledge of the local area which was disappointing.

Overall we had an enjoyable holiday that provided excellent value for money. Am I booking to go back next year – no. But would I go back again, for the right price and with some ear plugs – yes!

Room Tip: Sea rooms have a lovely view but in the evening they are very, very, very noisy. The 'entertainm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank SRL507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

After a few years wait to go back to Mojacar where we had excellent holiday , we returned with much excitement looking forward to two weeks in a higher star hotel . We read various reviews good and bad ,but we went open minded .On arrival we were pleasantly surprised we were checked in straight away , our room was lovely , every where was spotless . We went straight to a beautiful lunch . So not much to complain about apart from three of the bar staff who were rude and even to a point of aggressive . One even managed to reduce me to tears . We did however have excellent reps ,who tried very hard to deal with the situation . We didn't let this spoil our holiday , We felt like they didn't want English guests at this hotel and at times could be quite awkward . However Almeria is a beautiful place and i wouldn't want to put anyone off the experience of this lovely part of Spain.

Room Tip: Don't have poolside room they are very noisy , but entertainment usually finishes about 11;30
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 290lucy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

stayed at the the best majacar from the 20 /27 of sept 2012,checkin was slow, had to wait for room,although the staff were very helpfull,the room was ok with a seaveiw and cleaned daily,we found all the staff in the hotel ,very friendly and helpfull,this hotel is mainly for the spanish and you can tell this in the restaurant ,were the food was always cold or luke warm even after bringing out fresh dishes of it ,we stayed all incluisive and you could have bottles of wine or beer with your dinners,the bar area can get very busy at night, and you can only get snacks,if you asked at the bar at certain times,although we found the drinks ok and got served ok, as for entertainment it was all in spanish and very loud not a word in english, if like us you like to try other bars its a long walk,and not many buses,as for the tom cook rep when she was asked why the enterainment was all in spanish her reply was tell them to talk english, [no thomas cook its your job to tell them to talk english you said the hotel was suitable for brit holiday makers]pool area very nice plenty of sunbeds

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dukeboy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

My sister and I wanted a quiet relaxing holiday and recieved a fiasco instead. We were shocked by the way the british customers were treated by a vast majority of the spanish staff. At the bar we would have put up with constantly being ignored , also the bar staff pretending not to understand what you were ordering. I find it very hard how a barman can take your order one day and tell you the next day no comprendo. I was one of the british customers on the beach when the gardener charged only four people for beds. I also was the person who went to reception and enquired about the charges.Thomas Cook should really look into sending customers to this hotel as there are no provisions made to cater for british customers whatsoever.The entertainment is all spanish day and night, so if you took children the would nt be included at all. The hotel was clean the food reasonable but cold but there was a microwave which really shouldnt be needed to rewarm .This hotel is quite a way from the centre where there are a few shops bars ect. The bus service to this centre finishes at 9.30pm in low season so really your trapped listening to a very loud animation team who never stop gibbering in spanish only.Thomas Cook should look seriously into this hotel because if people like myself and my sister who have both decieded never to set foot in mojacar or book a holiday from them ever again ,can they really afford to ignore its customers as it appears to be doing?

Room Tip: dont even go there
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank libby j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

We have just returned from the Best Hotel Mojacar and although I do not usually write reviews I felt that this time I should. We arrived mid-morning on the Thomas Cook flight and had to wait just a short time for our room which was very clean, two larger than normal double beds, great sea views. The food is on the cold side but as others have said there is a microwave in the dining room to heat it up. The variety of food good. On the whole you could always find something to eat. We found the waitresses helpful when they could understand you. The animation team was something else. Loved the sound of their own voices and spoke only Spanish. Childrens entertainment started at 21.30 and was very loud and went on until 22.30. Only spanish was spoken and English children would not have stood a chance. (Glad I did not take my grandchildren). Adult entertainment was very poor and, again, only in Spanish. Biggest bone of contention was the sun beds on the not very nice beach. The gardener collected the money for the sun beds but only off of the English guests. The spannish guests would not pay. When a couple of English people complained to the Rep she said she did not know there were sunbeds on the beach and when she went to the Reception to find out who had paid it appeared that only four people paid for sunbeds that day and they were English even though all of the sunbeds were taken. She then asked for a complaints form from the Hotel and they refused to give it to her but did refund the English people for that day only. I also experienced being the only ones charged for he sunbeds on a separate day and the Spanish were again just waiving the man away. Nowhere to walk in the evenings to get away from Animation team as anywhere else is a bus ride away. All in all we got what we wanted, sun, swimming and sea was lovely but as for the rest of it Thomas Cook should really look at this place again for English holidaymakers - I won't go back to this hotel or Almeria again. I must say that the hotel probably does not need us there anyway as it was absolutely full of Spanish people having what looked like a really good time.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank katrina s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mojacar hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Best Oasis Tropical
0.2 mi away
Servigroup Marina Mar
Servigroup Marina Mar
#4 of 24 in Mojacar
828 reviews
0.1 mi away
Servigroup Marina Playa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Hotel Best Indalo
Hotel Best Indalo
#5 of 24 in Mojacar
1,047 reviews
2.9 mi away
Apartamentos Best Pueblo Indalo
0.3 mi away
ALEGRIA Palacio Mojacar
ALEGRIA Palacio Mojacar
#2 of 24 in Mojacar
767 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Best Mojacar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Best Mojacar

Address: Avenida Costa de Levante 2 | Marina de la Torre, 04638 Mojacar, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Almeria > Mojacar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Mojacar
#6 Luxury Hotel in Mojacar
Price Range: $76 - $181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Best Mojacar 4*
Number of rooms: 362
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Best Mojacar is located in Mojacar, a few meters from a golf course and just in front of the sea. It’s an ideal hotel for families and couples who wish to enjoy an exceptional holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Otel, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Best Mojacar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Mojacar Hotel Mojacar
Best Hotel Mojacar
Mojacar Best Hotel
Hotel Best Mojacar Almeria, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing