We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful boardwalk along the oceanfront...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Solverde Spa & Wellness Center
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Vila Nova de Gaia
Certificate of Excellence
Bronx, New York
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Wonderful boardwalk along the oceanfront...”
Reviewed April 27, 2014

Lovely spot outside the hustle and bustle of the city of Porto. Go for a place away from the city center, stay for the amazing spot right on the beach. The room was beautiful. We especially liked the way they curtained off the entrance to the balcony. The restaurant is absolutely first class. the food terrific and the service spot on.The breakfast buffet was extensive and the staff very helpful. Although we didn't have time to use the spa, it did look beautiful. The grounds of the hotel are lovely. I wish I had time to play mini golf, and the money to land my copter on the heliport!

Room Tip: The rooms that are closer to the beach feature ocean view - that is the balcony is sideways to the w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Anita M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

464 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    185
    73
    15
    7
See reviews for
137
184
14
55
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Thessaloniki, Greece
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2014

I was there 10/17-4-2014 because of my son's participate in ISF games. The hospitality was profecional. Very tasty the breakfasf but, in my opinion, expensive the dinner. Problem the mooving from the hotel if someone hasn't a car. Piscine and gym was very refresing.
Fotios Fotiadis

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ffotiadis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ravenna, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2014

I've stayed here before and reviewed it on tripadvisor before but I can't say enough about the quality of sleep I can get at this hotel. I usually stay during the winter months so that might be a reason why the hotel offers such peace and quiet. Great service, nice spacious rooms.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrupoSolverde, Manager at Hotel Solverde Spa & Wellness Center, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Dear Mr. Tom,

We would like to thank you for your comments, and are also pleased to know that we have made your stay at Hotel Solverde a pleasant one.

Please do not hesitate to contact us in the near future for any assistance you may need in your next visit to Portugal.

We hope to see you soon.


Yours Sincerely,
Manager, Hotel Solverde Spa & Wellness Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cropston, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2014

We had a great time at the hotel.The room No 626 with a balcony overlooked the sea,pool and the town.The food was excellent.The comments regarding the television are correct,but who wants a television when you have all the facilities that the hotel offers.Ignore the reviews and go.It is fantastic value for the money. We went for 8 days in July 2013 and we will be booking 14 days in Sept 2014.The hotel provides free transport into Porto three times a day.Do not miss the evening buffets on the special nights. All I can say is roll on September.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Graham D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2013

My partner and I stayed at the Hotel Solverde for a week at the beginning of October. We are quite independent travellers and chose this hotel because it was near the sea but had train stations near by if needed.
We arrived from Granja station, it's about a 10 minute walk but be careful if you have a lot of luggage.
I would recommend catching the train to Espinho station and arranging for a taxi to collect you and take you to the hotel.
We walked to and from Espinho several times (in the rain unfortunately!) using the lovely wooden boardwalk at the rear of the hotel. It felt very safe and it was a lovely walk back in the evenings.
We only ate in the hotel restaurant for one evening meal, no breakfast. The service was very good but the food and drink was a little overpriced compared to the range and value of food in Porto and beyond.
The room was clean and comfortable but a little tired and dated.
The reception staff were very polite and hospitable. They began to learn our habits very quickly and I would like to thank them for their assistance.
I did enjoy the use of the sauna/swimming pool area but was disappointed that swimming hats were required. Not only this but the only ones available for sale were four euros! An excellent money maker it seems. This would be my only criticism of the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the sea. (Our view of Lidl's got a bit old after a while!)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lozzi47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Obninsk, Russia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Not 5 stars for interior, but service, food and all other things are very good. Price is about 120 euros for room - very cheap for that kind of hotel.
Breakfast is very nice!!!
My best recommendations to visit that hotel.
Отель имеет хороший СПА и фитнес-центр, два бассейна, отличный ресторан.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sergey N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSolverde, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Solverde Spa & Wellness Center, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Dear Mr. Sergey,


We would like to thank you for your comments, and also pleased to know that we have made your stay at Hotel Solverde a pleasant one.

Please do not hesitate to contact us in the near future for any assistance you may need in your next visit to Portugal.

We hope to see you soon.


Yours Sincerely,

Customer Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We stayed 3 nights here as part of our holiday in Portugal. This is a beautiful Spa Hotel in Vila Nova de Gaia, south of the river d'Ouro in Porto. This a 5 stars hotel, close to the beach with excellent facilities, such as outdoor and indoor swimming pools, Spa, sauna, gym, restaurants, in short all the comforts for a great holiday. The beach is only 5 mins walk on the boardwalk from the hotel. Both of the Hotel's restaurants offer excellent menus. We had a late lunch on our first day at the buffet restaurant by the swimming pool. They had a large and delicious selection of dishes suitable for vegetarians and non-vegetarians, although slightly expensive. One couldn't have a better selection of breakfast food. It was fresh, plenty and varied.
We chose to have our suppers in the lovely small town of Espinho, only 5 mins drive from the hotel, where there are plenty of good restaurants to chose from at very reasonable prices and other amenities and a lovely beach and promenade, where families, couples and groups of friends, enjoyed walks under the beautiful moonlight and cool breeze from the sea, until the late hours.. Going back to the hotel after supper there was always a band or artist playing live music at the elegant bar. Only small criticism is that we couldn't get good Wi-fi signal for our iPad in most areas. However on the 2nd day they supplied us with a portable antenna in our bedroom which solved the problem. The staff were always polite and helpful. We highly recommend both this Hotel and the location of Espinho for a great beach holiday.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AnalisaLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSolverde, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Solverde Spa & Wellness Center, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear Sirs,


We would like to thank you for your comments, and also pleased to know that we have made your stay at Hotel Solverde a pleasant one.

Please do not hesitate to contact us in the near future for any assistance you may need in your next visit to Portugal.

We hope to see you soon.


Yours Sincerely,

Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vila Nova de Gaia
1.5 mi away
Hotel Apartamento Solverde
1.4 mi away
Hotel PraiaGolfe
Hotel PraiaGolfe
#2 of 2 in Espinho
265 reviews
6.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Porto Gaia
Holiday Inn Porto Gaia
#2 of 14 in Vila Nova de Gaia
783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
The Yeatman
The Yeatman
#1 of 14 in Vila Nova de Gaia
1,721 reviews
8.0 mi away
Novotel Porto Gaia
Novotel Porto Gaia
#4 of 14 in Vila Nova de Gaia
1,032 reviews
9.2 mi away
Sheraton Porto Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Solverde Spa & Wellness Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Solverde Spa & Wellness Center

Property: Hotel Solverde Spa & Wellness Center
Address: Avenida de Liberdade 212 | São Félix da Marinha, Vila Nova de Gaia 4410-154, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Vila Nova de Gaia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Vila Nova de Gaia
#3 Spa Hotel in Vila Nova de Gaia
#4 Family Hotel in Vila Nova de Gaia
#4 Romantic Hotel in Vila Nova de Gaia
#4 Business Hotel in Vila Nova de Gaia
#5 Luxury Hotel in Vila Nova de Gaia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Solverde Spa & Wellness Center 5*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Solverde Spa & Wellness Center is one of the most attractive hotels of greater Porto. With a privileged location, 2 minutes from the city of Espinho and only 15 minutes from Porto, it stands on modern infrastructures providing a service of excellence and bringing together the ideal conditions for leisure and business tourism in the North of Portugal. Inside a 20,000 m2 complex and with direct access to the beach, it offers a pleasant atmosphere of relaxation enriched with the aroma of the salt spray, the magnificent view of the sea and the surrounding landscape. The cuisine is also one of the points of attraction of the first Solverde Hotel, offering a rich and varied range of the tastiest Northern delicacies. The Spa & Wellness Center is one of the most complete and modern in the country, providing the perfect symbiosis between body and mind and featuring exclusive treatments associated to the Thalgo and Terrake brands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Solverde Spa & Wellness Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Solverde Hotel
Hotel Solverde Spa & Wellness Center Portugal/Vila Nova De Gaia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing