We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel with great personnel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Porto Gaia
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Vila Nova de Gaia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 30, 2014

Spent a week in Holiday Inn Porto Gaia and had a great time.Customer service absolutely 1st class, really lovely friendly people. Taxis cheap and readily available.Would certainly recommend this hotel. Grahams Port Lodge really worth a visit, lunches avaible there if required. All in all excellent for 5 to 7 days stay and only 2 hour flight from Gatwick.

Uncle Reg,Lyn and Michelle

Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank Lyn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday Inn Por... H, Gerente de relações públicas at Holiday Inn Porto Gaia, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comment regarding Holiday Inn Porto Gaia. We appreciate you taking the time to make us aware of your delightful experience during your recent stay.

We are always pleased to receive praise and acknowledgement of such a positive nature. It is truly rewarding when a guest recognizes our team’s efforts and takes the time to write a comment. Your comments will be shared with our entire staff, as reinforcement to continue their efforts to make Holiday Inn Porto Gaia a leader in excellence.

Thank you for your comments. We look forward to the opportunity of serving you in the future.

Best regards,

Rita Cruz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (833)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

158 - 164 of 833 reviews

Reviewed May 28, 2014

10 minutes taxi to heart of the wine cellars and the Dourp valley. It is a hi-rise building in a quiet neighborhood. The food is excellent and the concierge service incomparable. Only negative are the staff members who never ever smile

Room Tip: ask for executive level rooms with river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thomas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday Inn Por... H, Gerente de relações com clientes at Holiday Inn Porto Gaia, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comment regarding your experience during your recent stay at Holiday Inn Porto Gaia.

It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations and your comments are very important to us. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Your comments will be shared with our entire staff, as reinforcement to continue their efforts to make Holiday Inn Porto Gaia a leader in excellence.

Once again, we appreciate you taking the time to share your comments with us. We know you have many choices when it comes to lodging and we hope you will continue to choose Holiday Inn for your future travel needs.

Sincerely,

Rita Cruz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2014 via mobile

I booked Holiday Inn Porto Gaia for a group of 26 wine association customers. We were all delighted with the quality of the rooms and the general helpfulness of all the staff.

A great place to stay in this wonderful place.

We will definitely be back to both!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PLinacre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday Inn Por... H, Gerente de relações com clientes at Holiday Inn Porto Gaia, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comment regarding Holiday Inn Porto Gaia. We appreciate you taking the time to make us aware of your delightful experience during your recent stay.

We are always pleased to receive praise and acknowledgement of such a positive nature. It is truly rewarding when a guest recognizes our team’s efforts and takes the time to write a comment. Your comments will be shared with our entire staff, as reinforcement to continue their efforts to make Holiday Inn Porto Gaia a leader in excellence.

Thank you for your comments. We look forward to the opportunity of serving you in the future.

Best regards,

Rita Cruz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2014

I stayed here with a travel group and we all liked the hotel. The bedrooms were comfortable and clean with plenty of space. Staff were helpful and breakfast was lovely and plentiful. You could walk into the town but it is all up hill on the way back. Taxis however are not that expensive. If you go do go on the cable car which takes you to the top of the bridge. It's a lovely walk across and you can get the railway down the other side. We were only here two nights and I would have liked to stay longer. The weather was awful. Had it been nicer it would have been great to do one of the river boat trips. The hotel was a bargain. Don't be put off by its distance from the centre, it's not a problem.,

Room Tip: The higher you are the better the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Spike5432
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday Inn Por... H, Gerente de relações com clientes at Holiday Inn Porto Gaia, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comment regarding Holiday Inn Porto Gaia. We appreciate you taking the time to make us aware of your delightful experience during your recent stay.

We are always pleased to receive praise and acknowledgement of such a positive nature. It is truly rewarding when a guest recognizes our team’s efforts and takes the time to write a comment. Your comments will be shared with our entire staff, as reinforcement to continue their efforts to make Holiday Inn Porto Gaia a leader in excellence.

Thank you for your comments. We look forward to the opportunity of serving you in the future.

Best regards,

Rita Cruz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2014

This hotel is located in a Residential area. I stayed here with a tour group. The front desk was helpful in answering questions. The room itself was comfortable, we had three twin beds and there was plenty of room to move around. The room had a fridge and TV. The morning breakfast was adequate with a couple of hot/cooked items. What I didn’t like about the place was the location. There is a metro station that is perhaps a 15 min walk which is ok if you don’t have issues walking, otherwise, is not very accessible. There is also a Corte Ingles, again about a 15min walk. We had dinner at their restaurant, and as expected it was pricey, but we had a good service. There is a Catholic Seminary just in front of this hotel. They don’t have a chapel, it looks like a regular big room with no signs, but they offer mass On Saturdays I think at 6 or 7pm.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank silarem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday Inn Por... H, Gerente de relações com clientes at Holiday Inn Porto Gaia, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comment regarding Holiday Inn Porto Gaia. We appreciate you taking the time to make us aware of your delightful experience during your recent stay.

We are always pleased to receive praise and acknowledgement of such a positive nature. It is truly rewarding when a guest recognizes our team’s efforts and takes the time to write a comment. Your comments will be shared with our entire staff, as reinforcement to continue their efforts to make Holiday Inn Porto Gaia a leader in excellence.

Thank you for your comments. We look forward to the opportunity of serving you in the future.

Best regards,

Rita Cruz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2014

Our party of six was clearly and repeatedly told we could only have the buffet dinner as it was a Sunday. Being exhausted and other local places closed we gave in to eating at the hotel. Just having come off a River boat cruise with daily buffets we honestly just wanted the steak and pasta that the hotel was advertising in the hotel and elevators. We asked the staff countless times about a menu order or even room service but were repeatedly told that the dinner buffet was our only option. Having a fish and nut allergy dampened dinner plus they didn't have individual serving utensils so everything was cross contaminated. Honestly we just were not thrilled with not having individual choices, When we started to see various tables having steaks burgers and fries and pasta served I actually asked the wait staff what was going on we were told those were "special exceptions"! Really, nice way to treat your paying guests equally. That's completely unacceptable and we feel as a party of six women we were not treated fairly.
The air conditioner and phone also didn't work in my room and when I called the desk I was told that the "air just will not work Madame". Its pretty hot right now on floor 17. Not a relaxing way to prepare for a flight. I recommend you find another chain if your looking for certain comforts as despite the advertisements, this hotel did not deliver. A fellow traveller was assured her room was a non smoking room however it stunk and she had to be moved. The reception staff however was lovely. The rooms fairly appointed and clean. I'm and IHG Gold Member so I'm trying to be fair here but find the Intercontinental instead or definitely do not eat in the restaurant.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
Thank travelgirl2581
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday Inn Por... H, Gerente de relações com clientes at Holiday Inn Porto Gaia, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing a review regarding your recent stay at our hotel. We greatly appreciate you taking the time to bring this matter to our attention and apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced at our hotel.
We can only apologize for the situation. We should have been much more careful with the client request.

We’ve already given this information to all the departments mentioned in your review and they’re going to ensure that this cases will not happen again.

It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and your comments are very important to us. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Please advise me to receive you personally next time you visit Porto.

Best regards,
Carla Inácio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2014

Great experience
The rooms are very good size and the bathroom also
It is time to think about a renew
This hotel keeps all the space from the old melia
The reception restaurants were remodeled but the rooms are the same for the last 10 years
The breakfast it is good but the restaurant should have a 4 stars service to be according to the hotel and it is not

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CCBCampos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday Inn Por... H, Gerente de relações com clientes at Holiday Inn Porto Gaia, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comment regarding your experience during your recent stay at Holiday Inn Porto Gaia.

It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations and your comments are very important to us. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Once again, we appreciate you taking the time to share your comments with us. We know you have many choices when it comes to lodging and we hope you will continue to choose Holiday Inn for your future travel needs.

Sincerely,

Rita Cruz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vila Nova de Gaia hotels
0.7 mi away
The Yeatman
The Yeatman
#1 of 14 in Vila Nova de Gaia
1,870 reviews
1.9 mi away
Novotel Porto Gaia
Novotel Porto Gaia
#5 of 14 in Vila Nova de Gaia
1,088 reviews
6.7 mi away
Hotel Solverde Spa & Wellness Center
Hotel Solverde Spa & Wellness Ce...
#4 of 14 in Vila Nova de Gaia
515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Cliphotel Gaia Porto
Cliphotel Gaia Porto
#7 of 14 in Vila Nova de Gaia
544 reviews
2 mi away
Ibis Porto Gaia
Ibis Porto Gaia
#3 of 14 in Vila Nova de Gaia
718 reviews
2.8 mi away
Golden Tulip Porto Gaia Hotel and Spa
Golden Tulip Porto Gaia Hotel an...
#12 of 14 in Vila Nova de Gaia
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Porto Gaia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Porto Gaia

Address: Rua Diogo Macedo 220, Vila Nova de Gaia 4400-107, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Vila Nova de Gaia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Vila Nova de Gaia
#2 Romantic Hotel in Vila Nova de Gaia
#2 Family Hotel in Vila Nova de Gaia
#2 Spa Hotel in Vila Nova de Gaia
#2 Luxury Hotel in Vila Nova de Gaia
#5 Business Hotel in Vila Nova de Gaia
Price Range: $89 - $198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Porto Gaia 4*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Choose the Holiday Inn Porto Gaia and enjoy the magnificent views over the Vila Nova Gaia and Porto cities. The Holiday Inn Porto Gaia is a four star deluxe hotel located in the heart of Vila Nova de Gaia - Porto. The hotel is only a short distance from the worldwide famous port wine cellars, the historical city center of Oporto, blue flag beaches and also train and metro station. We welcome you into our inviting and ample lobby where you can enjoy different sensations. Try the flavors of typical Portuguese food in our restaurant and bar "Food & Friends." Our rooms and suites are the perfect place to disconnect from the outside world and appreciate the small details like the complimentary internet access. Our executive floor located on the 22nd floor is an experience that you need to try. All the bedrooms located in this floor have access to the executive lounge, to the gym and the amazing panoramic view over the river Douro and the cities of Vila Nova de Gaia e Porto. The hotel Holiday Inn is the perfect choice for your meeting or event. We have at your disposal a congress center with 1500 m2 and 16 meeting rooms equipped with stat of the art audiovisual technology and a group of specialized professionals that will help you. Its strategic location with Porto Congress center, the short distance from the Trade Fair Centers - Exponor and Europarque and the airport Sá Carneiro make Holiday Inn Porto Gaia the perfect choice for leisure as well as business trips. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holiday Inn Porto Gaia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Porto Gaia Hotel Vila Nova De Gaia
Melia Hotel Gaia Porto
Sol Melia Gaia Porto
Holiday Inn Porto Gaia Portugal/Vila Nova De Gaia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing