We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Porto Gaia
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Vila Nova de Gaia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 11, 2013

We stayed at Holiday Inn Gaia Porto a few weeks ago for work, although it is not centrally located (about 10 minutes to the city centre) the property was up to our expectations. The Spa is nice, rooms are quite big, beds are comfortable, free wifi and the service is super! The food is excellent.
We will definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheTrendyTraveller1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday Inn Por... H, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Porto Gaia, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comment regarding Holiday Inn Porto Gaia. We appreciate you taking the time to make us aware of your delightful experience during your recent stay.

We are always pleased to receive praise and acknowledgement of such a positive nature. It is truly rewarding when a guest recognizes our team’s efforts and takes the time to write a comment. Your comments will be shared with our entire staff, as reinforcement to continue their efforts to make Holiday Inn Porto Gaia a leader in excellence.

Thank you for your comments. We look forward to the opportunity of serving you in the future.

Best regards,

Rita Cruz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (849)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

178 - 184 of 849 reviews

Reviewed November 3, 2013

Had some difficulties in the beginning finding the hotel (by foot)
Very nice and large room, very clean!
It is a quiet location, but it is not a very central location (situated on the other side of the river, 10 minutes walk to metro-station, from there on : 5 minutes to city center)
Very nice view if your room is on a higher floor

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nthptr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday Inn Por... H, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Porto Gaia, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comment regarding Holiday Inn Porto Gaia. We appreciate you taking the time to make us aware of your delightful experience during your recent stay.

It is truly rewarding when a guest recognizes our team’s efforts and takes the time to write a comment. Your comments will be shared with our entire staff, as reinforcement to continue their efforts to make Holiday Inn Porto Gaia a leader in excellence.

Once again, thank you for your thoughtful comments. We look forward to the opportunity of serving you in the future.

Best regards,

Rita Cruz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

We've never used Trip Advisor before, but family & friends have told us it's what they use, so we decided to go by what the reviews said. Upon arriving at the H I hotel we were impressed at how modern& spacious the lobby area is. The front counter reception person gave us very good service. The room is spacious & clean. Our room overlooks the city & Douro River...WOW! A very good location.The value for your money is there. We will definitely stay again.

Room Tip: 18th floor facing the Douro River & city are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sharon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday Inn Por... H, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Porto Gaia, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comment regarding Holiday Inn Porto Gaia. We appreciate you taking the time to make us aware of your delightful experience during your recent stay.

It is truly rewarding when a guest recognizes our team’s efforts and takes the time to write a comment. Your comments will be shared with our entire staff, as reinforcement to continue their efforts to make Holiday Inn Porto Gaia a leader in excellence.

Once again, thank you for your thoughtful comments. We look forward to the opportunity of serving you in the future.

Best regards,

Rita Cruz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

We-ve stayed two nights.Large rooms- great facilities and good breakfast .Quiet place -10-15 minutes from the restaurants- bars and the river .A very good base to visit the city.There was a problem with the elevators- but on the last day they fixed it.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ianilu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday Inn Por... H, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Porto Gaia, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comment regarding Holiday Inn Porto Gaia. We appreciate you taking the time to make us aware of your good experience during your recent stay.

It is truly rewarding when a guest recognizes our team’s efforts and takes the time to write a comment. Your comments will be shared with our entire staff, as reinforcement to continue their efforts to make Holiday Inn Porto Gaia a leader in excellence.

It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations and your comments are very important to us. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Once again, thank you for your thoughtful comments. We look forward to the opportunity of serving you in the future.

Best regards,

Rita Cruz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013

This hotel is Avery good option nearby Porto despite a not very central location. Usually the holiday inn chain has what is needed, nothing more, nothing less (sometimes a little disappointing). This hotel, the former Melia, has very good areas, the lobby is impressive. At the floors, it is old and need some new furniture, but rooms are renewed and ok. View is amazing as this this a 20+ floor building in a hill. The breakfast is above average. Staff is professional and friendly. Overall value is good.

Room Tip: Higher the best due the view. Ask for a room with a river/sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Miguel2770
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday Inn Por... H, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Porto Gaia, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comment regarding Holiday Inn Porto Gaia. We appreciate you taking the time to make us aware of your delightful experience during your recent stay.

We are always pleased to receive praise and acknowledgement of such a positive nature. It is truly rewarding when a guest recognizes our team’s efforts and takes the time to write a comment. Your comments will be shared with our entire staff, as reinforcement to continue their efforts to make Holiday Inn Porto Gaia a leader in excellence.

Once again, thank you for your thoughtful comments. We look forward to the opportunity of serving you in the future.

Best regards,

Rita Cruz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

A great value with very large rooms. Clean and well run hotel. It is a bit far from the center of town, we had to take a taxi to dinner, but it does have excellent views of the entire city of Porto and the Douro River.
Much more than you would expect from the average Holiday Inn.

Room Tip: ask for a river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank World_Traveler_DR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday Inn Por... H, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Porto Gaia, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comment regarding Holiday Inn Porto Gaia. We appreciate you taking the time to make us aware of your experience during your recent stay.

It is truly rewarding when a guest recognizes our team’s efforts and takes the time to write a comment. Your comments will be shared with our entire staff, as reinforcement to continue their efforts to make Holiday Inn Porto Gaia a leader in excellence.

Once again, thank you for your thoughtful comments. We look forward to the opportunity of serving you in the future.

Best regards,

Rita Cruz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

I ussualy travel on business alone, however in this hotel I was with bunch of colegues on internal conference.

Hotel is huge, lobby with lobby bar impressive. Rooms are standard, but with nice and cosy bathroom. It is more that you would ussualy expect from Holiday Inn hotels.

Food was great, despite breakfast selection was a bit limited. Or maybe I was expecting to much due to hotel`s look.

There are 2 objections:
- there is not much around the hotel and
- the designer who selected white carpets for the meeting room area was from another planet (you can imagine how the look after few years of congress toursim).

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank George1133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday Inn Por... H, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Porto Gaia, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comment regarding Holiday Inn Porto Gaia. We appreciate you taking the time to make us aware of your experience during your recent stay.

It is truly rewarding when a guest recognizes our team’s efforts and takes the time to write a comment. Your comments will be shared with our entire staff, as reinforcement to continue their efforts to make Holiday Inn Porto Gaia a leader in excellence.

It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations and your comments are very important to us. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target areas that need improvement. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Once again, thank you for your thoughtful comments. We look forward to the opportunity of serving you in the future.

Best regards,

Rita Cruz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vila Nova de Gaia
0.7 mi away
The Yeatman
The Yeatman
#1 of 14 in Vila Nova de Gaia
1,885 reviews
1.9 mi away
Novotel Porto Gaia
Novotel Porto Gaia
#5 of 14 in Vila Nova de Gaia
1,096 reviews
6.7 mi away
Hotel Solverde Spa & Wellness Center
Hotel Solverde Spa & Wellness Ce...
#6 of 14 in Vila Nova de Gaia
516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Cliphotel Gaia Porto
Cliphotel Gaia Porto
#7 of 14 in Vila Nova de Gaia
551 reviews
2 mi away
Ibis Porto Gaia
Ibis Porto Gaia
#3 of 14 in Vila Nova de Gaia
727 reviews
4.5 mi away
Axis Porto Business & Spa Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Porto Gaia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Porto Gaia

Address: Rua Diogo Macedo 220, Vila Nova de Gaia 4400-107, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Vila Nova de Gaia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Vila Nova de Gaia
#2 Luxury Hotel in Vila Nova de Gaia
#2 Spa Hotel in Vila Nova de Gaia
#2 Family Hotel in Vila Nova de Gaia
#2 Romantic Hotel in Vila Nova de Gaia
#5 Business Hotel in Vila Nova de Gaia
Price Range: $86 - $168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Porto Gaia 4*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Choose the Holiday Inn Porto Gaia and enjoy the magnificent views over the Vila Nova Gaia and Porto cities. The Holiday Inn Porto Gaia is a four star deluxe hotel located in the heart of Vila Nova de Gaia - Porto. The hotel is only a short distance from the worldwide famous port wine cellars, the historical city center of Oporto, blue flag beaches and also train and metro station. We welcome you into our inviting and ample lobby where you can enjoy different sensations. Try the flavors of typical Portuguese food in our restaurant and bar "Food & Friends." Our rooms and suites are the perfect place to disconnect from the outside world and appreciate the small details like the complimentary internet access. Our executive floor located on the 22nd floor is an experience that you need to try. All the bedrooms located in this floor have access to the executive lounge, to the gym and the amazing panoramic view over the river Douro and the cities of Vila Nova de Gaia e Porto. The hotel Holiday Inn is the perfect choice for your meeting or event. We have at your disposal a congress center with 1500 m2 and 16 meeting rooms equipped with stat of the art audiovisual technology and a group of specialized professionals that will help you. Its strategic location with Porto Congress center, the short distance from the Trade Fair Centers - Exponor and Europarque and the airport Sá Carneiro make Holiday Inn Porto Gaia the perfect choice for leisure as well as business trips. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Porto Gaia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Porto Gaia Hotel Vila Nova De Gaia
Melia Hotel Gaia Porto
Sol Melia Gaia Porto
Holiday Inn Porto Gaia Portugal/Vila Nova De Gaia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing