We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The family suites are awesome”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Porto Gaia
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Vila Nova de Gaia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 17, 2013

We could not find this hotel driving around. Map Quest and our confirmation had wrong addresses. I was a little nervous driving and graffiti is every where so it looked unsafe at first glance. When we arrived at the hotel the staff was great and friendly. I asked if the neighborhood is safe and they said yes and you can walk and its fine. The hotel is nice inside. We dined in the restaurant and the service was excellent and the food was good. They have a free breakfast and fee internet. The gym is very small and I never made it to the pool or spa.
The next day we walked down to the river across from Porto. The area is really cool lined with restaurants, Port caves and Rabelo boats. The walk was an easy walk. We walked back to the hotel late night that same evening in the dark and didn't have any issues. Compared to the prices in Porto I am so glad we stayed here. The Holiday Inn is an excellent value and we had two rooms in the family suite. It was the largest room in our entire Portugal vacation. The family suite has a lower level living room, half bath, small kitchen, dining table and desk. Upstairs is two bedrooms and two bathrooms. The price was awesome compared to small rooms in Porto.
If you don't mind walking this is a great place to stay. Just make sure you have the correct address when driving as it can be hard to find. I wish we had more time here.
The staff rocks and one girl- I wish I had her name - but she is a built in tour guide and passionate about the area. Great stay!

Room Tip: The family suite is two levels with two bedrooms- very spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bcogswell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday Inn Por... H, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Porto Gaia, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comment regarding your experience during your recent stay at Holiday Inn Porto Gaia.

We are pleased to know you enjoyed your stay with us, our family suites and the city of Porto.

It is truly rewarding when a guest recognizes our team’s efforts and takes the time to write a comment. Your comments will be shared with our entire staff, as reinforcement to continue their efforts to make Holiday Inn Porto Gaia a leader in excellence.

We also greatly appreciate you taking the time to bring this matter to our attention and apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced due to difficulties to arrive at the hotel. The feedback we receive from our valued guests enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future.

Once again, thank you for your thoughtful comment. We look forward to the opportunity of serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Rita Cruz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (820)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

177 - 183 of 821 reviews

Reviewed September 6, 2013

Spent 2 days at this lovely hotel. Although hotel is a little remote from city center there is a metro offering convenient transport and other hand a lot of ample parking for our car. Since weather we to a nice stroll into the city.
Hotel has a great feature of a little lounge outside the front door which is a very convenient idea if waiting for somebody.
Rooms are modern, very big and with kettle adding extra for a hot drink in room.
Recommend to travels to Porto to use this establishment.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JayBeeZee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday Inn Por... H, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Porto Gaia, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comment regarding Holiday Inn Porto Gaia. We appreciate you taking the time to make us aware of your delightful experience during your recent stay.

We are always pleased to receive praise and acknowledgement of such a positive nature. It is truly rewarding when a guest recognizes our team’s efforts and takes the time to write a comment. Your comments will be shared with our entire staff, as reinforcement to continue their efforts to make Holiday Inn Porto Gaia a leader in excellence.

Once again, thank you for your thoughtful comments. We look forward to the opportunity of serving you in the future.

Best regards,

Rita Cruz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

I have stayed there few times.
Last stay for 5 days with my family for vacation in Porto.
Hotel is good quality and has great location.
It is very close to Villa Nova de Gaia railway station (5 euro taxi ride), walking distance to metro station (1 km), and taxi stop is at the hotel entrance (5 euro to Douro river boulevard).
There are some nice coffee places, bars and small restaurants around in case you don't want to eat in hotel restaurant.
I had a dinner and breakfast in hotel, they were fine and worth the money.
Especially dinner in hotel restaurant, I can recommend.
Hotel staff is friendly and helpful.
My registration was quick and smooth every time.
Last time I asked for different room than one that was reserved online (it was my fault).
The receptionist went all the way to give me best room with additional bed for my kid and river view.
The hotel is high and has magnificent river view rooms which I strongly recommend to ask for.
Elevators are fast and function witout any issue.
Lobby is spacious and good looking.
I liked bar area in a lobby.
Rooms are clean, furniture nice.
When I had some issues (noisy air condition during my first stay) they were solved promptly and perfectly at the first approach.

Down sides, you can't have everything :-) :
- Wifi access could have stronger signal in some rooms.
- There is no free swimming pool at the hotel (there is one small in SPA but you have to pay extra).

Given the price, location and quality I can honestly recommend this hotel for all kinds of stay.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
2  Thank Pawel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday Inn Por... H, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Porto Gaia, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comment regarding Holiday Inn Porto Gaia.

We appreciate you taking the time to make us aware of your delightful experience during your recent stay.

We are always pleased to receive praise and acknowledgement of such a positive nature. It is truly rewarding when a guest recognizes our staff’s efforts.

Your comments will be shared with our entire staff, as reinforcement to continue their efforts to make Holiday Inn Porto Gaia a leader in excellence.

Once again, thank you for your thoughtful comments. We look forward to the opportunity of serving you in the future.

Best regards,
Rita Cruz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

It was our first stay in a hotel in Porto. Since our arrival, the check-in was handled professionally and both employees at the Reception went out of their way to make our stay comfortable. We were given complimentary 24 hrs internet voucher which was appreciated. They operated beyond the call of duty without any exception, assisting us when we needed to find our way around the town. The room was spacious, neat and tidy. Bathroom was big and kept clean by the housekeeping during our stay. Breakfasts are awesome and definitely worth having, a good variety and great quality. We highly recommend the Holiday Inn Gaia to anyone wishing a comfortable stay.
Warmest regards.
Sao Martins

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sao M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday Inn Por... H, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Porto Gaia, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comment regarding Holiday Inn Porto Gaia. We appreciate you taking the time to make us aware of your delightful experience during your recent stay.

We are always pleased to receive praise and acknowledgement of such a positive nature. It is truly rewarding when a guest recognizes our staff’s efforts and takes the time to say thank you. Your comments will be shared with our entire staff, as reinforcement to continue their efforts to make Holiday Inn Porto Gaia a leader in excellence.

Once again, thank you for your thoughtful comments. We look forward to the opportunity of serving you in the future.

Best regards,
Rita Cruz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

From the moment we arrived the staff were very helpful and friendly . We had never visited portugal before so was a new adventure. There is so much to do so i will start with the river doha one side is Gaia and the other side is Porto its lovely with restaurants either side and bars, the people are so friendly. We visited the wine cellar only 5 euro with x 2 glasses of port one red i white (port) which is Sooooo nice.Then we went on a boat trip 5 euro for an hour, there is plenty to see and do and lots of shops and beaches not far away.We ate in the Hotel, the chef cooked steaks in front of us which were perfect and the cocktails are great.We will return soon

Judy

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank judy b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday Inn Por... H, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Porto Gaia, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your kind review regarding your recent stay at Holiday Inn Porto Gaia.

We appreciate you taking the time to write us about your great “adventure” at our Hotel, Portugal, Gaia and Porto.

Our restaurant and bar team members were delighted to know you enjoyed their specialties: the live cooking steaks and cocktails.

Once again, thank you so much for your kind words. We hope to receive you again soon.

Best regards,
Rita Cruz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

There are times when you have extremely high expectations about a visit to a particular location. This was such a case after having read the reviews and seen the pictures (on the Holiday Inn website) of this property. Although there was absolutely nothing wrong with this property, the average rating is mostly due to the fact that those expectations were not met. I only have one other comparable in Porto (the Sheraton) and the two properties are extremely different (a clue: one is much more modern than the other)

What I liked: Definitely great value as many have mentioned, especially when it comes to the Family Suite - there is just no way to get such a large room in Porto for such an affordable price: The room has two bathrooms (a very large one on the main floor with a bath/shower and the other one on the 2nd floor with a shower), a kitchenette, living and dining space on the 1st floor, sleeping area on the 2nd floor I was also provided with a room with a view of the Douro River, which allowed us to watch the Sao Joao fireworks from our room. Staff were very friendly and informative and did everything that they could to assist us. Breakfast was included in our rate and the breakfast room is extremely large and there were no issues as far as being able to accommodate every one. There is even a small play area in the breakfast area for young children. The breakfast itself was good, with many different food options. We had dinner on site on Saturday night and it featured some traditional Portuguese dance, which everyone and especially the little one really appreciated (however, we had to dine in the bar as the restaurant had a traditional Portuguese buffet ahead of Sao Joao). The food was good, although food options were a tad limited and prices were high by Portuguese standards (but affordable by European standards)

What to watch for/could be improved: The floor and room that we were on definitely showed their age - and this was a major source of disappointment. The pictures on the IHG web sites showed great pictures of the family suite with a special bed with a railing for the little one, a kid friendly décor (with bright colors and birds) and even a small play area with a table in the room. This was a major factor in deciding to go with this property over the InterContinental, the Sheraton or other hotels. The room was nothing like the one in the pictures. Also, the railing between the 1st and 2nd floor is not very protective and I would say quite dangerous if a little one is left with minimal supervision (ie: they decide to wake up in the middle of the night and walk downstairs...). Also, although the idea of a kitchenette is great, there is no amenities in the room (plates, utensils, pots and pans) to take advantage of it. The windows with a view over the Douro River were nice, but in a need of some extreme washing (so no picture perfect shot from my room). On one of the evening (as everything was close nearby), we had to settle for room service which was nothing to write home about.

The X factor - Location: This hotel is in Gaia - or the other side of Porto and is about a 10 minute walk (up/down hill depending on direction) to the closest metro station. For most, the great value that this hotel provides will more than compensates for this minor inconvenience. However, as there are extremely limited dining options nearby, anyone relying on public transit and having some mobility issues (including parents with strollers/push chairs) maybe better off with a more central location. Not an issue if you have a car, travelling as a couple or with teenagers.

Even with the average rating, I still recommend this hotel based on value. However, someone looking for something a little bit more central or modern might fare better off in Porto.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ottwatrvllr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday Inn Por... H, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Porto Gaia, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at Holiday Inn Porto Gaia. We appreciate you taking the time to make us aware of your experience with us.

It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations and your comments are very important to us. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Once again, thank you for your comments. We look forward to the opportunity of serving you in the future.

Best regards,
Rita Cruz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2013

This is a quality hotel and you can get very good prices if you book in advance. Clean and comfortable with warm, friendly and professional staff.
We were visiting friends and family in Gaia so it was very well located for us but the location may not suit everyone's needs. However you are right in the middle of Gaia and the tram is within easy walking distance to get you to Porto or even the airport. Alternativeyl if you are feeling like a bit of exercise it is not that far to walk down to the river Douro and see the sights and enjoy the cafes.
Great place we will be going back here.

Room Tip: All the bedrooms are abve the 12th floor so they all have a view. But ask for one on the river side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank roamingboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday Inn Por... H, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Porto Gaia, responded to this reviewResponded June 22, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your kind review about your recent stay at Holiday Inn Porto Gaia.

Our Team was glad to know you appreciated our service and felt welcomed.

Thank you as well for your important tips about how moving around the city.

We also remember there is a hop on-hop off line by the metro station. There is also an inexpensive taxi service, always available at the hotel’s door or only a call away (which you can freely ask at reception desk), that can take you in only five minutes to Cais de Gaia or Ribeira of Porto.

Once again, thank you for your review. We hope to receive you again soon.

Best regards,
Rita Cruz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vila Nova de Gaia
0.7 mi away
The Yeatman
The Yeatman
#1 of 14 in Vila Nova de Gaia
1,816 reviews
1.9 mi away
Novotel Porto Gaia
Novotel Porto Gaia
#6 of 14 in Vila Nova de Gaia
1,073 reviews
1.8 mi away
Mercure Porto Gaia
Mercure Porto Gaia
#5 of 14 in Vila Nova de Gaia
517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
InterContinental Porto - Palacio das Cardosas
0.5 mi away
Cliphotel Gaia Porto
Cliphotel Gaia Porto
#7 of 14 in Vila Nova de Gaia
525 reviews
1.8 mi away
Vincci Porto
Vincci Porto
#7 of 108 in Porto
1,088 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Porto Gaia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Porto Gaia

Address: Rua Diogo Macedo 220, Vila Nova de Gaia 4400-107, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Vila Nova de Gaia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Vila Nova de Gaia
#2 Romantic Hotel in Vila Nova de Gaia
#2 Spa Hotel in Vila Nova de Gaia
#2 Luxury Hotel in Vila Nova de Gaia
#2 Family Hotel in Vila Nova de Gaia
#5 Business Hotel in Vila Nova de Gaia
Price Range: $104 - $255 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Porto Gaia 4*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Choose the Holiday Inn Porto Gaia and enjoy the magnificent views over the Vila Nova Gaia and Porto cities. The Holiday Inn Porto Gaia is a four star deluxe hotel located in the heart of Vila Nova de Gaia - Porto. The hotel is only a short distance from the worldwide famous port wine cellars, the historical city center of Oporto, blue flag beaches and also train and metro station. We welcome you into our inviting and ample lobby where you can enjoy different sensations. Try the flavors of typical Portuguese food in our restaurant and bar "Food & Friends." Our rooms and suites are the perfect place to disconnect from the outside world and appreciate the small details like the complimentary internet access. Our executive floor located on the 22nd floor is an experience that you need to try. All the bedrooms located in this floor have access to the executive lounge, to the gym and the amazing panoramic view over the river Douro and the cities of Vila Nova de Gaia e Porto. The hotel Holiday Inn is the perfect choice for your meeting or event. We have at your disposal a congress center with 1500 m2 and 16 meeting rooms equipped with stat of the art audiovisual technology and a group of specialized professionals that will help you. Its strategic location with Porto Congress center, the short distance from the Trade Fair Centers - Exponor and Europarque and the airport Sá Carneiro make Holiday Inn Porto Gaia the perfect choice for leisure as well as business trips. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holiday Inn Porto Gaia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Porto Gaia Hotel Vila Nova De Gaia
Melia Hotel Gaia Porto
Sol Melia Gaia Porto
Holiday Inn Porto Gaia Portugal/Vila Nova De Gaia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing