We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Full 4-star hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Porto Gaia
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Vila Nova de Gaia
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
255 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“Full 4-star hotel”
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights on a "points-break" - the rooms were practically given away, but despite that we were still upgraded to river-view rooms which were excellent. This hotel is definitely worth 4-stars rather than the more usual 3-star designation for Holiday Inns. Although the hotel is outside of Porto itself, it is still close enough to be a good base for a city-break, with just a short walk to the metro and the hop-on-hop-off bus. Hotel resraurnt is OK, but there are no others in the immediate vicinity so eat in town if you want anything else.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IMUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday Inn Por... H, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Porto Gaia, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review about our Hotel.

We are glad to know you have enjoyed our Hotel and the fantastic view from your bedroom, to Porto, Ribeira and the Douro river.
As you mentioned, the Hotel is located really nearby a diversity of public transportations, which allows our guests to access fast and easily the Porto city places of interest.

Onde again, thank you for your review and for choosing Holiday Inn Porto Gaia to your visit to Porto. We hope to receive you again soon.

Best regards,
Rita Cruz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

751 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    337
    319
    75
    13
    7
See reviews for
158
246
31
177
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2012

Booked the hotel with points from the priority club. I usually stay in Intercontinental, but decided to try Holiday Inn since there was an offer.

I have to say I am happily surprised. The hotel holds a very good standard and all the people in the hotel were very helpful and friendly. The room was spacious with a magnificant view over the river in town and there are easy communications with either bus or tram close to the hotel.

I will definitly choose this hotel again next time I go to Porto.

Room Tip: Riverview rooms are recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fredriktravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday Inn Por... H, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Porto Gaia, responded to this review, July 26, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review about your recent stay at Holiday Inn Porto Gaia.

We appreciate your great comments about our staff, our bedrooms, our special view to Porto and the Douro river and our location.

It is very rewarding to receive comments like yours and knowing that you won't hesitate to choose us again when you return to Porto.

Once again, we thank you for your review. We all hope to receive you again really soon.

Best regards,
Rita Cruz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
1 review
Reviewed July 18, 2012

I've been staying at this Hotel 1 or 2 nights a week for about 4 years now.

It even changed brand since then but it's the people that make this a great Hotel to stay.

From the reception through the help, from PR trough the SPA every single person goes out of it's way to make you feel good.

For someone who is out of his home on business all the time this matters!

The accomodations are also excellent, it had a renovation recently that adds to that quality

Jaime Vinha

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaime V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday Inn Por... H, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Porto Gaia, responded to this review, July 27, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your kind words!
It is a privilege to be your preferred hotel for four years already. It is a pleasure to be your home away from home.

Best regards,
Rita Cruz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas, Usa
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2012

My wife and I had an aggravating time getting to the hotel. The front desk personnel picked up on our frustration and treated us like royalty. They were terrific in genuinely caring and upgraded our room and gave us a discount on parking. Their English is great. The hotel is beautiful...likely to be one of the prettiest and most full-service of all of the Holiday Inn branded hotels. There is plenty of information in the other reviews. What I'd add or clarify is that there are buses that go to a stop within 200 yards of the hotel and get you to the center of Porto in less than 15 minutes, the department store El Cortes Ingles is within a 15 minute walk (it has 8 or 9 restaurants and the local area around it has more), the tourist Yellow Bus stops in front of El Cortes Ingles. So, the hotel is convenient for a tourist and is a relaxed atmosphere away from the tumult of downtown. I travel a lot and I was extremely impressed with this property.

Room Tip: Choose a room on a high floor overlooking the river for a splendid view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank saycanyouc11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday Inn Por... H, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Porto Gaia, responded to this review, July 27, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at Holiday Inn Porto Gaia.

We're glad to know you were pleased with our service and that we were able to help you overcome the difficulty to get to the Hotel.

Thank you as well for recommending Holiday Inn Porto Gaia for a leisure trip, by its location and accessibility.

We hope you keep choosing us for you travel needs when you visit Porto.

Best regards,
Rita Cruz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2012

I have just spent a week in the Holiday Inn Porto Gaia from 2-9 May 2012. I recommend it very highly. The staff are excellent - so helpful and friendly that they create a lovely atmosphere which is important to feel comfortable (especially when you have2 young children as I do). We booked a duplex family room which was amazing value. It had 2 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms (1 with TV) upstairs anddownstairs had a large lounge (with TV), extra toilet and very basic kitchenette. As it rained every day we spent more time inside than usual so having the extra space was great. Also there was free WiFi in the room which worked well which meant that I could work in the evenings. The location is good being 8 minutes walk from the Metro at El Corte Ingles. There are a number of very good authentic local restaurants nearby which are very good value though not that smart looking. In particular, I recommend a restaurant about 5 minutes walk on to a main street of shops nearby that has large cuts of meat by the entrance. When you walk down the narrow corridor inside you come to a clean basic restaurant which has the best grilled meats and very friendly service. For children there is a small park with a play area about 3 inutes walk from the hotel. The best days out were (1) to Sea life (a lovely taxi ride by the coast fo 10 Euros or a 35 minutes trip on the metro which was also interesting and there was a really lovely pizza restaurant on the walk from the metro stop to sea life). Behind Sea life is a large park with lakes and ducks. Inside Sea life is a soft play area (small) which you can access if you just wish to visit the shop and cafe. Also, there is a large beach between Sea Life and the Metro. (2) River boat trip along the Douro. For adults a tour of Taylors Port Lodge was great and the food in the restaurant was excellent. Even though it rained every day we had a very enjoyable trip especially as the hotel reception staff and housekeeping looked after us all so well !

Room Tip: Choose the duplex family rooms if possible overlooking Porto
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Julie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday Inn Por... H, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Porto Gaia, responded to this review, June 17, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a kind review regarding your recent stay at Holiday Inn Porto Gaia.

All the team was really pleased to know you and your family had a great time with us. It gives us motivation to keep doing our best to provide a great hotel guests love.

Once again, thank you for your kind review. We hope to see you again very soon!

Best regards,
Rita Cruz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
78 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2012

I was in Porto attending a conference held at this hotel. If you are planning to stay inside, it's pretty good. The breakfast is excellent, the bar is well stocked - what else one needs on a business trip? However, if you are planning to do anything outside the hotel, you should be prepared to walk a little bit because there is absolutely nothing within the immediate vicinity of the hotel. The nearest Metro station is within a 15 minutes walk, right next to a 7 story El Corte Ingles with a good supermarket in the basement.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stanberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday Inn Por... H, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Porto Gaia, responded to this review, June 17, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay at Holiday Inn Porto Gaia. We are pleased to know you enjoyed your experience and, specially, our breakfast.

We would like to inform we have a taxi stop right in front of the hotel. Taxi is a really inexpensive and confortable way to travel around and to Porto, which only 10 minutes away from our Hotel...

Once again, we thank you for taking the time for writing this review and hope to see you again soon.

Best regards,
Rita Cruz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
silver spring, md
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

We were in Porto for a conference so our room was paid for and chosen by them. We were on the 5th floor- huge room (more like a suite). The room was clean and in fairly good condition- there was a spot in the hallway where water was dripping occasionally from the ceiling and the carpet was wet. They probably would have switched us if we complained, but it didnt bother us.

Our breakfast was included, but I did not like it much. There was a fairly large selection- cereal, made to order omelettes, lots of pastries, some fruit, cheese and mini dogs. But none of my fav's- no pancakes, no waffles, no muffins, no french toast. (Ok, so I AM being a little nit-pickly.) They did have skim milk though!

The only major problem we had was with wifi- they claim to have free wifi, but in reality it is spotty and did not work at all during peak times in the evening. The only place in our room where we could get a connection was right by the door. (We moved some chairs to that spot.) Also, if you are logging on from a phone, you have to re-enter the passwords every time your phone turns on- big PIA.

The location is about a 20min fast walk from the main tourist area by the river, and only a 10 min walk from their metro train.
Someone mentioned a problem with water temperature. They are correct- it changes contstantly getting too hot all of a sudden. This is a problem if you have young children.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nags1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday Inn Por... H, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Porto Gaia, responded to this review, June 17, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. We greatly appreciate you taking the time to bring this matters to our attention.

It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and your comments are very important to us. The feedback we receive from our valued Clients, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Once again, we appreciate you taking the time to share your comments with us. We know you have many choices when it comes to lodging and we hope you will continue to choose Holiday Inn Porto Gaia for your future travel needs.

Sincerely,

Rita Cruz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vila Nova de Gaia
0.7 mi away
The Yeatman
The Yeatman
#1 of 14 in Vila Nova de Gaia
1,623 reviews
1.9 mi away
Novotel Porto Gaia
Novotel Porto Gaia
#3 of 14 in Vila Nova de Gaia
993 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cliphotel Gaia Porto
Cliphotel Gaia Porto
#6 of 14 in Vila Nova de Gaia
454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
InterContinental Porto Palacio das Cardosas
2.9 mi away
Sheraton Porto Hotel & Spa
1.8 mi away
Mercure Porto Gaia
Mercure Porto Gaia
#4 of 14 in Vila Nova de Gaia
472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Porto Gaia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Porto Gaia

Property: Holiday Inn Porto Gaia
Address: Rua Diogo Macedo 220, Vila Nova de Gaia 4400-107, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Vila Nova de Gaia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Vila Nova de Gaia
#2 Luxury Hotel in Vila Nova de Gaia
#2 Spa Hotel in Vila Nova de Gaia
#2 Romantic Hotel in Vila Nova de Gaia
#2 Family Hotel in Vila Nova de Gaia
#5 Business Hotel in Vila Nova de Gaia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Porto Gaia 4*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Choose the Holiday Inn Porto Gaia and enjoy the magnificent views over the Vila Nova Gaia and Porto cities. The Holiday Inn Porto Gaia is a four star deluxe hotel located in the heart of Vila Nova de Gaia - Porto. The hotel is only a short distance from the worldwide famous port wine cellars, the historical city center of Oporto, blue flag beaches and also train and metro station. We welcome you into our inviting and ample lobby where you can enjoy different sensations. Try the flavors of typical Portuguese food in our restaurant and bar "Food & Friends." Our rooms and suites are the perfect place to disconnect from the outside world and appreciate the small details like the complimentary internet access. Our executive floor located on the 22nd floor is an experience that you need to try. All the bedrooms located in this floor have access to the executive lounge, to the gym and the amazing panoramic view over the river Douro and the cities of Vila Nova de Gaia e Porto. The hotel Holiday Inn is the perfect choice for your meeting or event. We have at your disposal a congress center with 1500 m2 and 16 meeting rooms equipped with stat of the art audiovisual technology and a group of specialized professionals that will help you. Its strategic location with Porto Congress center, the short distance from the Trade Fair Centers - Exponor and Europarque and the airport Sá Carneiro make Holiday Inn Porto Gaia the perfect choice for leisure as well as business trips. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, IHG, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Porto Gaia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Porto Gaia Hotel Vila Nova De Gaia
Melia Hotel Gaia Porto
Sol Melia Gaia Porto
Holiday Inn Porto Gaia Portugal/Vila Nova De Gaia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing