We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best kept secret...?” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of VINUM Restaurant & Wine Bar

VINUM Restaurant & Wine Bar
Reserve with
VINUM Restaurant & Wine Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Scenic view, Bar scene, Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: O VINUM nasce em homenagem a excelentes vinhos e ao melhor da gastronomia da regiao. / VINUM was created for great wine and for the very best natural food from our region.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best kept secret...?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

Although we live in London, we travelled to Porto with Portuguese family and we stayed in a Portuguese household. It was only by chance (via Tuck Tours guides, of all people!) that we found out about Vinum and that we ended up there one evening. It is difficult to describe the place: part of Graham's Port Wine "Quinta", in Vila Nova de Gaia (and just a few minutes walk away from the Ribeira area on the magic Ponte D Luis I), Vinum is stunning. The main room shows how the wine has been produced for centuries in the North of Portugal; the terrace, where you have a pre meal drink as "compliment" from the chef, is set in a beautiful garden facing 180 degrees of the stunning Porto city illuminated; and then the meal in the restaurant, which is indoors but also faces the town across the magnificent Douro river, is just faultless: highly professional staff, immaculate décor, stylish displays and food among the best we had in this town of serious foodies. How come had no one we know heard about this restaurant? Well they have now! This is one of the 2 or 3 best and most wonderful restaurants we, as a group, have ever been to; we'll be back.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MariaAmaro2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

614 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    375
    143
    49
    29
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
gloucs
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A really wonderful restaurant, excellent food and atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

We had visited the Graham's Lodge in Spring 2012 so we were keen this time round to see what the new restaurant was like. It's fantastic. The food itself is splendid, fresh and flavoursome and all delicious. But the wine and port list is excellent too. We ate in the atrium, which was lovely and airy, perfect for the sunny afternoon on which we lunched. We felt there were still one or two rough edges in the service but this was purely to do with experience and not with the friendliness and courteousness of the staff, who were all very welcoming. It was also excellent value, for the food, for the wine, for the range of wonderful ports available by the glass. We'll be back.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank gloucesterlad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
124 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Good food, service tailed off to nothing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful view and building, charming staff and good food. The place was very quiet. Fish soup excellent.

Was looking forward to sampling some of the port wine after dinner but the waiting staff had disappeared... Even after I went and found them, they did not appear at the table! In the end we gave up, paid up and left.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Broadens_the_mind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
38 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Exceptional meal at Porto port cave”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

We dined for lunch after the tour of Graham's Port Lodge. We sat inside in the conservatory as it was very hot outside and didn't feel that we were missing out too much as the views are not as good as you would expect being this high up.

Our lunch was superb and the waiters were attentive, helping with wine choices and explaining the meals. The complementary chilled white port was delicious. The servings were quite large so were quite pleased that the staff advised us on when to order smaller portions. The cost for 2 for 3 course lunch was €123 which is not cheap, but the quality of the meal was worth it and was the best meal that we had while in Porto.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KJB02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Views? Not at night”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

I walked to Vinum for dinner and found the entrance surprisingly hard to find (on the top side of the lodge in a 1960s housing estate, not the lower where the signs indicate it would be). Additionally, the Graham lodge seems to be the furthest away. I expect it would have lovely views during the day, but in my experience of being there Porto is quite dark at night so views not really existent.

The complementary aperitif of white port and tonic was good, although they should could put one's mind at ease by making it clear that it is complementary (given the Portuguese habit of charging for things that would be free in other countries. For example Vinum charged €2.50 for some really rather nice bread and lovely oil).

I started with a half portion of what tasted like a black pudding type sausage and apple samosas for Euros 7. These were elegant and tasty. My main course was a couple of tender square of suckling pig and mashed potato, costing about Euros 28. The pork was as good and tender as it should have been. I would guess the potato had been made with olive oil rather than butter as it lacked a buttery flavour and texture. For the price, I think there should be been something else on the plate, such as a vegetable. I finished with a well made thin apple tart (in the French style) for €7. The Symington wines that I had were good and well priced. Dinner cost €60 all in.

I sat in the conservatory area with about four other tables with diners. There must have been about 100 empty tables inside.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank csmithesq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed VINUM Restaurant & Wine Bar also viewed

Vila Nova de Gaia, Porto District
Vila Nova de Gaia, Porto District
 
Vila Nova de Gaia, Porto District
Porto, Porto District
 
Porto, Porto District
Vila Nova de Gaia, Porto District
 

Been to VINUM Restaurant & Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing