We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing! Best stay ever!!!”
Review of Gaia Porto Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Gaia Porto Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
montreal, canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Amazing! Best stay ever!!!”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

We have visited about 15 countries in Europe and have travelled a lot all over the world and staying in hostels and b&bs, I can say that this place is at the TOP of our list. We have loved our stay from the moment we got here. We were welcomed with good glasses of port wine and cookies, and then got to see the beautiful and clean room we had. The room and bed was clean (impeccably clean)and comfortable, the views from the terraces are amazing, the service from the owners is impeccable.
The hostel is in a great location. It was easy to get there by public transit, and we walked everywhere our entire stay. It is close to the port wine cellars, so it is easy to walk from place to place (and drink:) without having to worry about transport (driving especially). We also walked easily across the bridge to porto city.
The owners were very welcoming, giving us impeccable service, (in many languages, French and English), recommending great places for us to see. They even prepared breakfast earlier than usual just for us because we had an early tour.
The breakfast is very good, with breads and jams and cold cuts, coffee and tea, all in their beautiful kitchen with good and relaxing music.
This place was so peaceful, we got to relax and forget about our hectic lives at home the moment we got here.
Thank you to marta and Joao for our wonderfull stay!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alias44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    218
    6
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
15
115
33
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tubingen, Germany
1 review
Reviewed April 7, 2014

We stayed 4 nights in Hostel Gaia Porto in March 2014 and this was a very good decision! We arrived at night and got a warm welcome, hot tea and even something to eat! Our room was as good as new, everything was absolutely clean (also the bath room). You could have eaten from the floor.

The owner of the hostel Marta and João are so warm and welcoming people. You will get the best tips where to eat, the best tours for sight-seeing etc... If you have any question you can always come to them and they will help you. They do their job with passion - you can feel that in many details. One of the best points about the hostel is the garden. After climbing the stairs, there are quite a lot of them, you will be rewarded with a great view to the historical city of Porto. By enjoying a Caipi Porto (you should try one or two or three in the Hostel), it is one of the best places in the city. If you get the possibility to take part in dinner they offer, you should really snap the chance. Then you will get delicious (Marta is a good cook!) food and drinks for a very good price. So you will really get to know Portugal better.

All in all we had a amazing stay and will come back soon!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anja H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeds, uk
2 reviews
Reviewed March 29, 2014

People in Porto are lovely, and they are exemplified by Joao and his family at Gaia Porto hostel.

To begin with, there had been a mistake and we had been able to book an entire room for £10! It should have been £20, for two of us, but Joao said he would honour the price we had booked at. He carried our suitcases upstairs, gave us free drinks and an incredible breakfast, and we realised we had to pay the proper price because £20 for two of us is an incredible bargain, let alone half that! And Joao wasn't going t otake it, we had to insist. These people are very kind and would never rip you off - the principle in operation in Porto seems to be one of generosity, kindness and respect.

I have to say hat the place was gorgeous and very homely. It was decorated to a standard I have never seen before in a hostel. And the roof gardens - well you just have to see them! On this trip we discovered that Porto really is best viewed from the Gaia side of the river. So next time we're heading back to this place!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank missmittens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviewed February 28, 2014

This hostel is located a 5 min's walk up a hill from the main strip but what makes it so ideally located is that it is also only a few min's walk down a hill from the main scenic part of the city. I visited last week and found the place to be really cosy, clean. warm and relaxing. The hosts are excellent and make you feel very chilled and at home. When I was there the hostel and area around were very peaceful, no boozy noisy messy locals or guests, had 2 great night sleeps. Enjoy.

Room Tip: I treated myself to a double private as I was only away for a week and did'nt want to have to de...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yhklugkfghkfjgg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Osaka, Japan
1 review
Reviewed February 25, 2014

Great hostel. I will stay again if I find myself in Porto. The staff is very friendly, the atmosphere is relaxed and comfortable, and it is very clean. I've stayed at dozens of hostels, this is one of the best! There are also lovely garden on the roof top.The roof top has a panoramic view of city.
Would highly recommend to anyone visiting Porto.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tani9bp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poznan, Poland
1 review
Reviewed February 22, 2014

I've stayed at many good hostels but Gaia Porto Hostel is definitely the best of them. Great location helps you to explore the beauty of Porto. Our room was simply amazing and the hostel was nicely designed and very clean. The breakfast was perfect. The hosts welcomed us really warm and made us feel great so that our stay in Porto was someting special! I really recommend this hostel!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pawel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
French Riviera - Cote d'Azur, France
Level Contributor
32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2014

We only stayed one night at the hostel but at the end we wanted to lived there! Beautiful accommodations, perfect modern and familiar decoration, best service ever, amazing view of the city, very close to all the porto caves, nice breakfast and everything for a super price! We highly recommend this hostel, 100% better than a hotel for sure! specially for the personal treat! Thanks again for everything!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miren3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vila Nova de Gaia
0.1 mi away
The Yeatman
The Yeatman
#1 of 14 in Vila Nova de Gaia
1,698 reviews
0.8 mi away
InterContinental Porto Palacio das Cardosas
1.7 mi away
Novotel Porto Gaia
Novotel Porto Gaia
#3 of 14 in Vila Nova de Gaia
1,017 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Ibis Porto Gaia
Ibis Porto Gaia
#5 of 14 in Vila Nova de Gaia
641 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pestana Vintage Porto
0.2 mi away
Reis de Gaia
Reis de Gaia
#2 of 14 in Vila Nova de Gaia
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gaia Porto Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gaia Porto Hostel

Property: Gaia Porto Hostel
Address: Rua Candido dos Reis 374 376, Vila Nova de Gaia 4400-070, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Vila Nova de Gaia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 Specialty Lodging in Vila Nova de Gaia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Gaia Porto Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
GaiaPorto Hostel is a friendly house, where you can stay and have a nice journey in Gaia and Oporto cities. You have the best views to oporto city,and you are near the most important port winw companies, where you can taste our best port wine. You are 5min walking from Douro River where you can catch a boat and have a nice trip along the river. You are 5 min walking from Metro station(General Torres)from where you are in Oporto Center in 5min. In this hostel you have nice and friendly people just taking care of you and making your stay the best you have in the last years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Gaia Porto Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gaia Porto Hostel Portugal/Vila Nova De Gaia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing