We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is such a great hostel!”
Review of Gaia Porto Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Gaia Porto Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Osaka, Japan
1 review
“This is such a great hostel!”
Reviewed February 25, 2014

Great hostel. I will stay again if I find myself in Porto. The staff is very friendly, the atmosphere is relaxed and comfortable, and it is very clean. I've stayed at dozens of hostels, this is one of the best! There are also lovely garden on the roof top.The roof top has a panoramic view of city.
Would highly recommend to anyone visiting Porto.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tani9bp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    224
    6
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
15
119
34
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Poznan, Poland
1 review
Reviewed February 22, 2014

I've stayed at many good hostels but Gaia Porto Hostel is definitely the best of them. Great location helps you to explore the beauty of Porto. Our room was simply amazing and the hostel was nicely designed and very clean. The breakfast was perfect. The hosts welcomed us really warm and made us feel great so that our stay in Porto was someting special! I really recommend this hostel!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pawel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
French Riviera - Cote d'Azur, France
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2014

We only stayed one night at the hostel but at the end we wanted to lived there! Beautiful accommodations, perfect modern and familiar decoration, best service ever, amazing view of the city, very close to all the porto caves, nice breakfast and everything for a super price! We highly recommend this hostel, 100% better than a hotel for sure! specially for the personal treat! Thanks again for everything!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miren3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed January 20, 2014

The most amazing hostel we have ever stayed in. Great location. Good & Relaxed atmosphere. Extremely helpful (in every situation) owner Joao.
Highly recommended people to stay in Hostel Gaia Porto.People who wants to talk and relax or who wana to party!!!
P.S. Big Thanks to Marta & Joao, who made us feel like we were at good friend`s Home!
Would definitely stay here again, if we ever return to Porto.

Maria & Rolands

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank m m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2014

A+++ Gaia Porto Hostel is simply amazing! >5 minutes (walking) from the store. Within walking distance of any tourist attractions you might have in mind. The facilities are excellent! Really, it feels like home. The bedrooms and bathrooms are neat, clean, and homey. The community area has a well furnished kitchen, awesome chill-out space, and two computers with internet access for those who wish to travel light. There's also a TV in the community area (if you're into that sort of thing). Four-tier patio / bar / gardens on the roof with excellent views of Porto. Our hosts João and Marta are absolutely incredible people. Extremely personable, easy to talk with, very caring and very helpful with directions and suggestions. I've recommended this Hostel to the ones I love who share my passion for traveling the world. I recommend the same to those reading my review.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samuel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Semiliguda
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 11, 2013

We stayed for two nights in a double room and it was a pleasure! Everyone who is thinking, that this Hostel might be not exactly in the centre of action is definitely right, but it is also true, that you can sleep with open windows, and have a breathtaking view from the rooftop-terrace at Portos old town. And with breakfast included its quit a deal.

To the metro its just five minutes, and to the old town, you can take the "Ponte Luis I" with its amazing bridge which makes every walk there a pleasure. Even if you walk slowly and enjoy the view, you will be there in less than 30 Minutes, if you are one of the faster ones, you might do it in 20 Minutes or less. And at night, the light + river is just awesome!

Room Tip: We had the room on the first floor and where more than happy, but I can imagine, that the room at to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GermaninIndia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maastricht, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviewed September 26, 2013

Amazing stay in this hostel, ultimate hospitable owners. Personal care, very clean, great view and terrace on the roof top. The place to meet new people and enjoy Porto to the fullest! The breakfast is great, especially when Marta prepares a wonderful chocolate cake. Everyday I met people from different nationalities and the owners are very open-minded. The room is very clean and the beds are good.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IJsebaert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vila Nova de Gaia
0.1 mi away
The Yeatman
The Yeatman
#1 of 14 in Vila Nova de Gaia
1,758 reviews
1.7 mi away
Ibis Porto Gaia
Ibis Porto Gaia
#5 of 14 in Vila Nova de Gaia
663 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pestana Vintage Porto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hotel Ibis Budget Vila Nova De Gaia
Hotel Ibis Budget Vila Nova De G...
#9 of 14 in Vila Nova de Gaia
382 reviews
0.8 mi away
NH Collection Porto Batalha
0.8 mi away
InterContinental Porto - Palacio das Cardosas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gaia Porto Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gaia Porto Hostel

Property: Gaia Porto Hostel
Address: Rua Candido dos Reis 374 376, Vila Nova de Gaia 4400-070, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Vila Nova de Gaia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 Specialty Lodging in Vila Nova de Gaia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Gaia Porto Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
GaiaPorto Hostel is a friendly house, where you can stay and have a nice journey in Gaia and Oporto cities. You have the best views to oporto city,and you are near the most important port winw companies, where you can taste our best port wine. You are 5min walking from Douro River where you can catch a boat and have a nice trip along the river. You are 5 min walking from Metro station(General Torres)from where you are in Oporto Center in 5min. In this hostel you have nice and friendly people just taking care of you and making your stay the best you have in the last years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Priceline, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your Gaia Porto Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gaia Porto Hostel Portugal/Vila Nova De Gaia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing