We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful view”

Serra do Pilar Viewpoint
Book In Advance
More Info
$50.39*
and up
Porto Tour by Sidecar
More Info
$43.87*
and up
4-Hour Semi-Private Oporto City Tour
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Gatineau, Quebec, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful view”
Reviewed September 10, 2013

I travelled with my husband and our two teenage boys. We took a leisurely walk to the park. Great place to just relax and enjoy the breathtaking view of Gaia, Porto, the Dom Luis Bridge. Great photo opportunity.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Josee T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

833 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    630
    185
    13
    5
    0
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Porto, Portugal
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A terrific view of Port”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

For me, one of the best views of Porto on the top of D. Luiz I Bridge.
There is a museum next to the chapel and you can visit both it for a fee but, just being there enjoying the views is worth while.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank HugoSampaio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coimbra, Portugal
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good views but nothing else.”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

This is opposite the Jardim do Morro. We walked up and paid 1e to see a video of the tourist attractions in north Portugal (which we have seen quite a bit of) and a walk around a circular cloisters. The trip up to the top for the miradouro was not due for 30mins so we decided not to wait. The view from outside was good anyway. There was a music event on later and there was a stage and stalls about, so it was a bit cluttered.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank zookro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Joao da Madeira, Portugal
1 review
“Excellent sight”
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Great view to Oporto! Just cross Dom Luis bridge and then you can go to Gaia's quai to watch the other part of the city called Ribeira.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank PJFTavares
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto, Portugal
Level 6 Contributor
316 reviews
178 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“Gaia's lookout”
Reviewed May 21, 2013

Serra do Pilar, together with Jardim do Morro, are the two places where you can enjoy the best views of Porto. Both are located on the Gaia side of the upper level of D. Luís I Bridge, so you can take a peak after you cross the bridge. Serra do Pilar also hosts a beautiful round church worth a visit and a millitary headquarter.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank espm252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Serra do Pilar Viewpoint also viewed

Vila Nova de Gaia, Porto District
Vila Nova de Gaia, Porto District
 
Vila Nova de Gaia, Porto District
Vila Nova de Gaia, Porto District
 

Been to Serra do Pilar Viewpoint? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing