We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not fancy but quite fair”
Review of Mercure Porto Gaia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Mercure Porto Gaia
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Vila Nova de Gaia
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
203 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 650 helpful votes
“Not fancy but quite fair”
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Went there just for one night for a conference in Gaia. Made the reserve by phone when I was 100 km from there. The indications the staff member gave to me were perfects and made me arrive with loose time and gas in the endless motorways of Porto entrance.
The hotel is located at the Arrabida shopping mall wich is a good place to eat if you want to go outside the hotel and don't have a car...
LIKED
View over river Douro and the sea (room 309)
room area
beds
bathroom
TV set
Reception staff
price (€61)
DISLIKED
Ashtrays in the room
window couldn't be openned
location in the middle of highways
breakfast not included
CONCLUSION
It's a good choice if you go on business or shopping and want a budget hotel

Room Tip: Ask for a non-smoker room above 3rd floor (best views on top floor)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ordep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

485 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    173
    255
    47
    5
    5
See reviews for
135
153
35
96
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
42 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Booked in for a conference. This hotel is in a very grotty part of Porto--maybe the grottiest. Consider this is a Mercure, the hotel itself is also rather tired. Public spaces are OK, but the rooms (I saw two) are smallish and tired. Cigarette burns in the carpet, very small desk, 24" TV. Bed is rather firm. Wifi is atrociously slow. No dresser or draws: only shelves. Can't control the aircon in the room either. This is a low 3 star hotel.

Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank JawnBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, Scotland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

We booked this hotel through a 'secret hotels' deal on Hotwire and got an excellent rate of around €40 pee night for two without breakfast. The rooms are well sized and comfortable with good air conditioning (very important in the summer). Access is a little tricky without a car however there are a few ways to get from the hotel to central Porto.
- Walk through the adjacent shopping centre and exit at the hospital. Cross the road and walk down the hill to the bus stop. From here buses 902 and 903 will take you to Casa da Musica metro station from where there is easy access to the city centre and airport by metro
- Walk to the bus stop and continue to walk downhill past the McDonalds drive through. Cut left down the stairs and weave down towards the river. It's around an hour along the river to the centre but a very pleasant walk.

Wifi is free but controlled by vouchers which gets a bit fiddley

Stayed June 2013
Helpful?
Thank mada421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Virginia
Level Contributor
152 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2013

This Mercure is a nice example of the chain. The furnishings are standard in both the public areas and our room, but perfectly functional. Everything worked, including the wireless internet in the room. The A/C worked well. The room has a telephone that allows outside calls. They try hard – nice terry-cloth robes were provided, as were spa-style slippers. I rated the mattress a B. I like a firm mattress. Staff were friendly and willing, but their information regarding tourist information is too often inaccurate, and, for a tourist hotel, their English can be a bit lacking.

There is ample free parking although the staff encourage you to use the hotel garage - not necessary. We did remove everything from the car but we did that everywhere in Portugal and so should you. There is a barrier that is raised for hotel visitors - and taxis - that allows easy loading/unloading.

Our room, on the fifth floor and facing north, had a lovely view of the mouth of the Douro and its outlet to the Atlantic (although also, immediately beneath, a not-so-lovely view of one of Oporto’s many freeways). Speaking of the freeway, if you want fresh air you will also get considerable road noise regardless of the time of day. But when the window is closed, the soundproofing is excellent, and teh AC worked well. Soundproofing between rooms also seemed very good. The hotel restaurant was closed on Sunday so we did not get to try it for an evening meal. Others have complained about the breakfast; ours was very good for both of the two days that we stayed. Choices included cooked eggs, bacon, and sausage; a good spread for Continental breakfast including genuinely fresh fruit diced in the kitchen and the usual European-style cold cuts and fresh baker products. It is costly unless you sign up for a “deal” which we did. Also, you have no practical alternatives because of the unique situation of the hotel.

Speaking of which, the one downside to this hotel is that it is extremely difficult to get to. The directions on Google Map and Michelin as of May 2013 are incorrect if you are coming from the south. In general, this part of Oporto is a nightmare for road travel if you are not a native.

The hotel is right next to a shopping mall that opens at 10 am and closes at 11 pm, even on a Sunday. There is an acceptable supermarket in the mall as well as many cafes that are reasonable for mall food.

Rather than deal with driving in Porto we used taxis. If we were there longer we might have figured out the public transport.

Room Tip: Get a room as high up as you can, and on the side overlooking the Douro. There is no additional char...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank InformedTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Stayed 4 nights here in May 2013. Chose the hotel for its non-centro location, as we had a car, and reasonable price. There was also abundant free parking outside the hotel.
The hotel is located wthin a maze of roads and motorway on/off-ramps, so it is certainly a challenge getting to and from the hotel by car. Walking anywhere from the hotel did not seem possible. We used Apple Maps on the iPhone 5 so navigation was made a lot easier. It is right next to a shopping mall with a large grocery store which was handy. Our room faced a large courtyard looking towards the shopping centre, so it was quiet but lacked views of the Douros.
Check-in was inefficient, as we were first given a double bed (requested twin), then were moved to a twin smoking room (requested non-smoking), and finally to our correct room. Only a simple apology was given (should have recieved an upgrade for that effort!!).
The lobby/reception of the hotel is typical Mercure, clean, modern but not over-stated, however beyond there, the hotel seems overdue for a makeover, with an abundance of tired red carpet and wooden wall panels. The room was reasonably spacious, comfortable beds, TV with numerous English channels, and one of those annoying mini-bars that charge items automatically (some items fall over easily and trigger a charge - be sure to challenge any false charges!). Basic maintenance seems to be overlooked here, such as a leaking shower, and loose screws in power sockets and towel rails.
If you have a GPS this hotel is good value and provides a base for exploring Porto and surrounds. If you don't have a GPS - forget it!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the shopping centre are likely to be quieter as the hotel is surrounded by chaotic moto...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Weary_Traveller888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2013

A modern Mercure that always looks as if it had just opened its doors! Clean, efficient and quiet. This is a very well run comfortable hotel, great for business travellers.
It's only downside is that you have to use either bus, taxi or car to get out, it's not possible to walk! But in a short taxi ride you can be among a wealth of restaurants and activities of Gaia waterfront

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank JSS2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
373 reviews
224 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 372 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2013

The hotel is connected to a large shopping mall, the lobby of the hotel is spacious with a bar, small dinning area and a large breakfast room. Check in was quick, staff very friendly and willing to answer any and all questions. Room was on the 1st floor, so not much of a view, except of the freeway which was ok, because I did not intend to spend much time in the room. The room was very nice, large with a comfortable bed, flat screen tv, free wifi, and a mini bar, The window did not open as there was no handle attached, they had been taken away for safety but if you wanted to open the window for fresh air, you could request a handle. The rooms have excellent soundproofing and I did not hear any noise from the outside. Breakfast was not included and IMO was a bit expensive 11euro's the breakfast had a nice variety but not worth the price. There is a large grocery store in the mall so one could purchase some breakfast items and keep them in the mini bar as there is a room for some personal items. Be aware however, there is a notice on the inside of them mini bar that any items removed will be immediately charged to the room, this is done electronically so don't move any of the items around or take them out to look at them unless you want to be charged for this. The hotel is not close to he city center/old town, there is public transportation very close by, but will not go into detail about it. If you are considering this hotel email me and I will give you directions. I did ask at the front desk but they seemed to discourage me from taking it, I think they wanted to sell the tours and taxi's, but then that is the business they are in. Again a nice hotel for a nice stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yvr1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vila Nova de Gaia
0.2 mi away
Novotel Porto Gaia
Novotel Porto Gaia
#4 of 14 in Vila Nova de Gaia
1,017 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ibis Porto Gaia
Ibis Porto Gaia
#5 of 14 in Vila Nova de Gaia
641 reviews
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Porto Gaia
Holiday Inn Porto Gaia
#2 of 14 in Vila Nova de Gaia
776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Vincci Porto
Vincci Porto
#9 of 106 in Porto
968 reviews
1.4 mi away
InterContinental Porto Palacio das Cardosas
1.6 mi away
Mercure Porto Centro Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Porto Gaia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Porto Gaia

Property: Mercure Porto Gaia
Address: Rua de Manuel Moreira Barros 618D, Vila Nova de Gaia 4400-346, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Vila Nova de Gaia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Vila Nova de Gaia
#3 Business Hotel in Vila Nova de Gaia
#3 Luxury Hotel in Vila Nova de Gaia
#3 Romantic Hotel in Vila Nova de Gaia
#5 Family Hotel in Vila Nova de Gaia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Porto Gaia 4*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mercure Porto Gaia hotel is in Vila Nova de Gaia, close to the centre of Porto and alongside Arrabida bridge. The hotel enjoys a privileged location, only 5 min from port wine cellars and 12 km from Porto international airport and the Exponor exhibitioncentre. The hotel is decorated with a port wine theme and offers a restaurant, bar, meeting rooms, WiFi Internet and parking. Next to Arrabida shopping centre and the Holmes Place health club, the hotel is perfect for your business or leisure trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, ACCOR, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Priceline, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Mercure Porto Gaia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Hotel Porto Gaia
Accor Porto Gaia
Mercure Porto Gaia Portugal/Vila Nova De Gaia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing