We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Mercure Porto Gaia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mercure Porto Gaia
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Vila Nova de Gaia
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Comfortable Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

The Hotel is located in the modern shopping center so in walking distance you can find entertainment, restaurant, gym and large Parking area. The rooms are nice with enough space to feel comfortable and nice decorated. In the morning, I'd suggest take the breakfast at the hotel.
The Hotel has free internet service. you can get a professional internet service by payment. The only negative point is that despite I paid for the professional internet,It was disappointed because It didn't work well. I did the claim to the reception,the answer was that the hotel has received some claims about the professional internet service and no money back. It looks as a robbery. it isn't?
Anyway, this point didn't make me cut off to enjoy my stay at the Hotel

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank danvillro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

473 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    248
    47
    5
    5
See reviews for
133
150
34
92
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
112 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2012

This hotel is located at the other side of Porto, but has a commercial building at few walks with restaurants , shops , supermarket for buy water fruits etc,the transportation is close the hotel bus stop .nice place and great rooms!!!!! the buffet is not included we pay but so good!!!! highly recommend if you dont want to be so middle of the city ,the transportation subway excellent. i love Portugal the people so friendly the places to go culture is so easy to walk!!! consider this destination!!!!! and fresh weather in july at night lows 50s!!!

Room Tip: theres is quite area ,just ask for non somting rooms,they gave us a non smoiking and smells so bad a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nabilafarhat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
43 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2012 via mobile

Very nice interiors, comfy bed, nice bathroom, delightful breakfast, great tv package. We stayed the only 1 night and regreted that only one :) the only disadvantage is "how to get to the hotel" our gps went nuts and we were circulating round and round almost an hour :/ but the hotel itself compesated that :) we recommend it to all.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Ewa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2012

There was group checkin and we wait more then 30 minutes to check inn. This hotel has lower then 4 star hotel standards. Very clean hotel

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2012 via mobile

I've stayed at several Accor hotels around Porto and always end up staying here because of the mall next door, my previous review said nice location but dated hotel. Well checking into today I noticed a pile of old style TVs, and yes sure enough, years latter than other hotels they have finally replaced the TVs, best part not your usual hotel TV (ie no on demand porn) so this means if you have an HDMI cable you can easily hook up your computer to watch what you want.

Other than that there is nothing I can add to the other reviews

Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Canadianrobmadrid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vila Nova de Gaia
0.2 mi away
Novotel Porto Gaia
Novotel Porto Gaia
#3 of 14 in Vila Nova de Gaia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 994 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ibis Porto Gaia
Ibis Porto Gaia
#5 of 14 in Vila Nova de Gaia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Porto Gaia
Holiday Inn Porto Gaia
#2 of 14 in Vila Nova de Gaia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Mercure Porto Centro Hotel
0.4 mi away
Vincci Porto
Vincci Porto
#8 of 104 in Porto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 921 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Yeatman
The Yeatman
#1 of 14 in Vila Nova de Gaia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Porto Gaia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Porto Gaia

Property: Mercure Porto Gaia
Address: Rua de Manuel Moreira Barros 618D, Vila Nova de Gaia 4400-346, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Vila Nova de Gaia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Vila Nova de Gaia
#3 Romantic Hotel in Vila Nova de Gaia
#3 Green Hotel in Vila Nova de Gaia
#4 Luxury Hotel in Vila Nova de Gaia
#5 Family Hotel in Vila Nova de Gaia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Porto Gaia 4*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mercure Porto Gaia hotel is in Vila Nova de Gaia, close to the centre of Porto and alongside Arrabida bridge. The hotel enjoys a privileged location, only 5 min from port wine cellars and 12 km from Porto international airport and the Exponor exhibitioncentre. The hotel is decorated with a port wine theme and offers a restaurant, bar, meeting rooms, WiFi Internet and parking. Next to Arrabida shopping centre and the Holmes Place health club, the hotel is perfect for your business or leisure trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Porto Gaia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Hotel Porto Gaia
Accor Porto Gaia
Mercure Porto Gaia Portugal/Vila Nova De Gaia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing