We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Good for families” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Novotel Porto Gaia

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Novotel Porto Gaia
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Vila Nova de Gaia
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Ystad, Sverige
Level Contributor
128 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Good for families”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

The hotel is situated between big roads a little away from town centre. You have to take a taxi if you want to go in to town. It's however quite cheap . The hotel is a good choice for families since it has a pool and a playground area. Nice to rest after a dy with sightseeing in Porto. Room is modern and quite. Staff is helpful and nice. Breakfast buffe is good, however no fresh vegetables as tomatoes and cucumber. Plus for good choice of bread. We had dinner in the restaurant twice. First time buffet, starters and dessert were very good but main course wasn't anything special. The second time we had a' la carte. It was not worth the money. I think the buffet will be a better choice if you want to have dinner at the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HansYstad_Sverige
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

891 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    249
    500
    118
    15
    9
See reviews for
490
204
29
76
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
136 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

Without a car and GPS I don't think you would this place, but once there for the price it was ok , rooms agin a bit dated for a Novotel not a 4 star would I would give it a 2 star it needs up dating badly.

Breakfast is really good,
Beds are great
TV in English
Tea and Coffee in room
Air con not great
Fridge in room always handy
Not far from shopping mall by car
Would I use again , no need something more up to date

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dannytamimaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014 via mobile

Clean, tidy and well organised hotel. Outdoor pool kids loved and the wii in reception kept them busy too. Stay as had very early flight and this hotel is about fifteen minute drive away from airport. Tried to use room service but gave up as they couldn't speak any English at all, so with my limited Portuguese wasn't really sure I'd get what I wanted, decided to go into their restaurant instead which was very disappointing, over priced and not nice at all. Left most of the meal under cooked and over cooked lacking in flavour but plenty of salt used not recommended. Didn't complain felt there was any point as they didn't understand.
Otherwise good value hotel for a night or two.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fussy010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade, Serbia
Level Contributor
807 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 580 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

This is one of 3 star Novotel (they're mostly 4 stars), but it was an excellent value for money. The room for 4 (2 adults + 2 chd) WITH breakfast costed us 49 euros per night. It is really a bargain.
The minus of this hotel is it's difficult to reach location (which didn't affect us, since we had a car). The hotel is by the Duoro river, on it's south bank in the Nova Gaia part of town, where are the famous wine cellars. It is not in the city center (as the majority of Novotels), neither it is easy to reach except by car or taxi. It is on a big round about, with heavy traffic close to the Duoro river joining the Atlantic.
The rooms are ok, a little bit older for Novotel, but enough space with all the amenities you need. We were lucky to get the one on the 3rd floor with a perfect view of the river joining the ocean.
The breakfast is Novotel standard, which means very good. On the back side is a big private parking space which was free, so we had no problem going to the city center (around 10 min of a great riverside drive), nor we had a parking problem issue.

Room Tip: Ask for room with the ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank B1714D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Slightly outside inner city center but easy access with taxi from hotel. Just need to wait 5 minutes after that reception called the taxi company. Nice main hall. Very children friendly. Nice breakfast.


  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank cduch10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vila Nova de Gaia
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Porto Gaia
Holiday Inn Porto Gaia
#2 of 14 in Vila Nova de Gaia
4.5 of 5 stars 681 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel NH Collection Porto Batalha
1.6 mi away
The Yeatman
The Yeatman
#1 of 14 in Vila Nova de Gaia
5.0 of 5 stars 1,400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Mercure Porto Gaia
Mercure Porto Gaia
#4 of 14 in Vila Nova de Gaia
4.0 of 5 stars 413 reviews
0.5 mi away
Vincci Porto
Vincci Porto
#7 of 101 in Porto
4.5 of 5 stars 660 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ibis Porto Gaia
Ibis Porto Gaia
#6 of 14 in Vila Nova de Gaia
4.0 of 5 stars 521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Porto Gaia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Porto Gaia

Property: Novotel Porto Gaia
Address: Rua Martir Sao Sebastiao, Vila Nova de Gaia 4400-499, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Vila Nova de Gaia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Vila Nova de Gaia
#2 Business Hotel in Vila Nova de Gaia
#3 Luxury Hotel in Vila Nova de Gaia
#3 Family Hotel in Vila Nova de Gaia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Porto Gaia 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Porto Gaia is a 3 star hotel located in Vila Nova de Gaia, close to the centre of Porto and renowned wine cellars, 20 km from the airport and 35 km from the Europarque conference centre. Perfect for a business trip or a holiday with your family, the hotel offers 93 airconditioned rooms, including 56 non smoking rooms, five meeting rooms for your conference and seminar needs, a restaurant, bar, private parking, swimming pool, terrace area and playground for children. Pets allowed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Novotel Porto Gaia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Porto Gaia Hotel Vila Nova De Gaia
Novotel Vila Nova De Gaia
Vila Nova De Gaia Novotel
Novotel Hotel Porto Gaia
Novotel Porto Gaia Portugal/Vila Nova De Gaia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing