We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This is not a 4* property - not well kept!”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Novotel Porto Gaia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Novotel Porto Gaia
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Vila Nova de Gaia
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
53 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“This is not a 4* property - not well kept!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

I can not recommentd this hotel, based on; poor cleanliness - particularly in the bathroom, lots of hair on the floor and some in the bathtub, I have a problem with that as I see it as a general/overall uncleanliness. The finishing of the 'renovation' (it is an older renovated hotel) is generally poor, ie. the tiling and floor panels. I did like the quilt and cotton sheet (though not the couple of hairs I had to remove from the sheet). We did not ask for a new room as we arrived late and were tired, we just cleaned up and slept... but I just wanted to warn others... I do not know how they have gotten their rating, had it been a 2 star I would have been less disappointed - but still unhappy with the cleaning. The staff at the reception were very professional and pleasant.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hpytrvlr-yvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

994 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    295
    546
    126
    16
    11
See reviews for
551
221
33
90
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brescia, Italy
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Very nice hotel, a little out of the city cetre, but at walking distance from shopping malls. Nice and clean rooms. Rich buffet for breakfats. Very good solution, especially considering that the price was absolutely afordable.
I would have liked to have some TV channels in other languages, apart from Portugues, but it's not so critical.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank paoloro75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amsterdam
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

This hotel is abit dated but it good taken care of.

The room is veru specious and felt like food value for the money.

Parking was free, which is a bit plus. For people without a car I am not that it's easy to get to the center, but maybe there is a good public transportation connection.

Breakfast was ok.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank miechiel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiev, Ukraine
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2012

+ friendly staff, tasty meals, reasonable price
- location (you need a taxi every time you want to go anywhere); the playground needs some refurbishment; if you sleep with open windows you'll hear planes, many planes
I guees I should have trusted other reviewers better while choosing a hotel. The problem with a location was mantioned many times

Room Tip: Rooms on the 2d floor seem to be cheaper. You won't see the river or the ocean (only a swiming p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kseniia N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turin, Italy
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

Was there for a wedding, lovely staff, nice weather and good views, (of course) proper swimming pool and good breakfast and meals. Very cheap also. No problems A+, not too far from the centre. Very calm and welcoming atmosphere, typical novotel standards.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucio1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

We have stayed in many novotels and must say this one was excellent.
service was lovely, rooms very clean and comfortable.( breakfast excellent choice and lovely fresh fruit available, Swimming pool more than ample, although the sunbeds could do with being inside the fence and not on the outside,
The location is not bad for the price , once you find your way around you can walk into oporto, or otherwise a taxi is very reasonable.
We took the train from the airport and had to get off at casa musica and then get taxi to hotel, as we were a family of four it would have been cheaper to take taxi direct from airport which we did on return, (20 euros)
If its good value you want then this hotel takes some beating.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bethan w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vila Nova de Gaia
0.2 mi away
Mercure Porto Gaia
Mercure Porto Gaia
#4 of 14 in Vila Nova de Gaia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ibis Porto Gaia
Ibis Porto Gaia
#5 of 14 in Vila Nova de Gaia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Yeatman
The Yeatman
#1 of 14 in Vila Nova de Gaia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Porto Gaia
Holiday Inn Porto Gaia
#2 of 14 in Vila Nova de Gaia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 751 reviews
0.5 mi away
Vincci Porto
Vincci Porto
#8 of 104 in Porto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 920 reviews
1.5 mi away
InterContinental Porto Palacio das Cardosas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Porto Gaia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Porto Gaia

Property: Novotel Porto Gaia
Address: Rua Martir Sao Sebastiao, Vila Nova de Gaia 4400-499, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Vila Nova de Gaia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Vila Nova de Gaia
#2 Green Hotel in Vila Nova de Gaia
#3 Luxury Hotel in Vila Nova de Gaia
#3 Family Hotel in Vila Nova de Gaia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Porto Gaia 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Porto Gaia is a 3 star hotel located in Vila Nova de Gaia, close to the centre of Porto and renowned wine cellars, 20 km from the airport and 35 km from the Europarque conference centre. Perfect for a business trip or a holiday with your family, the hotel offers 93 airconditioned rooms, including 56 non smoking rooms, five meeting rooms for your conference and seminar needs, a restaurant, bar, private parking, swimming pool, terrace area and playground for children. Pets allowed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, ACCOR, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Porto Gaia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Porto Gaia Hotel Vila Nova De Gaia
Novotel Vila Nova De Gaia
Vila Nova De Gaia Novotel
Novotel Hotel Porto Gaia
Novotel Porto Gaia Portugal/Vila Nova De Gaia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing