We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Restaurant for Gargantua”

Adega E Presuntaria Transmontana II
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Scenic view, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
282 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“A Restaurant for Gargantua”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

There is no reason not to enjoy some of the tapas that are waiting on the table: just select what you want and hand the others back to the waiter. We wanted just the local ham and not the full plate of ham, sausage, and cheese, and the waiter gladly changed it.

The one thing to beware is that the main courses are humongous: even one full portion is almost too much or two people. But half portions are available.

One does not go here for refined cuisine: it is earthy, heavy, and perhaps over-salted. But the atmosphere is lively: there are many large Portuguese families enjoying the night out and many Portuguese businessmen who have brought foreign associates here for the evening.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Panajody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    125
    115
    52
    25
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
88 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Tapas is bathed in salt”
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Having been forewarned on Tripadvisor, we didn't partake of the snacks that were thrown in front of us the moment we came in, and selected our food from the menu. Alas, other than the mushrooms which were ok, the prawns and the bivalves were literally bathed in salt so as to be almost inedible. It was a great pity as the ingredients (or what we could make of it after rinsing them in water), seemed fresh and had great natural taste.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Hsien Hui T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sao paulo, brazil
Level Contributor
71 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Nice restaurant in Vila Nova de Gaia”
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Good choice in Vila Nova de Gaia, delicious Portuguese dishes. We had a lovely dinner, and the service was very friiendly. Try to book in advance to sit outdoors.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank claudiaspiandorim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romania, Bucharest
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

Big and tasty aperitif + excrllent Transmontana Veal and Grilled Octopous.
Acceptable prices for a tourist atea.
Nice surprise.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Courage2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aventura, Florida
Level Contributor
64 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Fun Experience”
Reviewed June 27, 2013

The Yeatman hotel recommended Adega E Presuntaria Transmontana II to us and we were very pleased with the food and service. In fact, it was one of the most fun and plentiful dinners we had during our visit to Vila Nova de Gaia/Porto. We had been sightseeing all day and had worked up an appetite. The small plates or "suggestions" as they often refer to them were excellent. Although the small plate starters concept is a nice Portuguese tradition, for us it was a bit awkward, confusing and even overwhelming at times. However, on this occasion we welcomed and enjoyed the starters. Our dishes were plentiful and tasty. My husband ordered the delicious octopus with lots of olive oil. Incidentally he spilled some of the olive oil on his pants and one of the very sweet and attentive gentleman ran over with a platter of spot remover, brush and cloth. It was hilarious and demonstrated the excellent disposition and humor of the Portuguese.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CreativeExplorations
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Adega E Presuntaria Transmontana II also viewed

Vila Nova de Gaia, Porto District
Vila Nova de Gaia, Porto District
 
Vila Nova de Gaia, Porto District
Vila Nova de Gaia, Porto District
 
Vila Nova de Gaia, Porto District
Vila Nova de Gaia, Porto District
 

Been to Adega E Presuntaria Transmontana II? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing