We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location, location...” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of D. Tonho

D. Tonho
Reserve with
D. Tonho is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Cuisines: Portuguese, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
40 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Location, location...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

Having had a meal in their main resturant across the river, we decided to try this place out. The food was ok and was a little pricey for what it was, but the service was great and the location fantastic.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Serendipidy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    61
    40
    12
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Don't go there”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

The only thing i save is the view. Food is terrible but service is the worst i have ever experienced. If you are looking for a view there are so many other places...

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank giuliotube
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great location, advised!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

We are not here for excellence in food.
Dishes were good, the wine (verde) was fine. The service friendly.
It has a great location and eating alongside the river at sunset is something to value.
Overall it was a good experience and I found prices ok.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Franchinii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto, Portugal
Level Contributor
656 reviews
318 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 318 helpful votes
“worth for the view that offers”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

Supposedly a posh restaurant. The ambiance, the staff manners etc was design to be like that, but the cost as well. The food is good enough but not fantastic, nice wine selection available and the view are the most positive feature. don´t put your expectation too high!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Henrique d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
151 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Excellent food in riverside location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

D. Tonho is located right on the riverbank looking over towards Porto. It is in a smoked glass construction which might at first put you off but it is definitely worth a visit. The waiter who looked after us was helpful on food and wine choices and also gave us advice about what to see in Porto.
Food was excellent and portions are very generous. 2 of our party had salmon , one had the cutter steak and one the sardines. All delicious, the fish was very fresh and cooked beautifully, served with potatoes which had a lovely buttery flavour. Steak was served with chips, rice and vegetables. My daughter was spotted 'pinching' a chip which resulted in an extra portion of chips arriving (free of charge) within minutes.
We were advised all desserts were home made and we would certainly recommend the chocolate cake if you are a chocolate lover. The chocolate mousse was also very good.
Very good value, delicious meal and we are tempted to back again before we leave.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Pambolina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed D. Tonho also viewed

Vila Nova de Gaia, Porto District
Vila Nova de Gaia, Porto District
 
Vila Nova de Gaia, Porto District
Vila Nova de Gaia, Porto District
 

Been to D. Tonho? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing