We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food in riverside location”
Review of D. Tonho

D. Tonho
Reserve with
D. Tonho is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Excellent food in riverside location”
Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

D. Tonho is located right on the riverbank looking over towards Porto. It is in a smoked glass construction which might at first put you off but it is definitely worth a visit. The waiter who looked after us was helpful on food and wine choices and also gave us advice about what to see in Porto.
Food was excellent and portions are very generous. 2 of our party had salmon , one had the cutter steak and one the sardines. All delicious, the fish was very fresh and cooked beautifully, served with potatoes which had a lovely buttery flavour. Steak was served with chips, rice and vegetables. My daughter was spotted 'pinching' a chip which resulted in an extra portion of chips arriving (free of charge) within minutes.
We were advised all desserts were home made and we would certainly recommend the chocolate cake if you are a chocolate lover. The chocolate mousse was also very good.
Very good value, delicious meal and we are tempted to back again before we leave.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pambolina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    61
    41
    12
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
236 reviews
196 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“As good as ever!”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

We had a bottle of the Curva Tinto Reserva 2007 at 21.50 Euros which was really good.

I had the rabbit starter and John had the octupus - both cold cooked starters, plenty of dressing and tasty. All the cold starters are brought to the table so you can choose. It is nice to see what is on offer.

Then we both had sea bream which were grilled and then the waiter carefully filleted each fish perfectly. These were served with very good waxy potatoes and green beans. Very good quality food.

I had the chocolate cake which was delicious with a soft chocolate topping. John had a 10 year tawny port.

Total cost Euros 79.40. Service very good, views amazing.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Skiers12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corralejo, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“I can understand the poor reviews, but it can be worth it”
Reviewed June 15, 2013

Yes, it's a plain glass box with an all-metal train-style loo with no bolt on the door. Yes, the menus are in truly naff plastic sleeves. Yes, you undoubtedly pay more than the food is worth. Yes, I probably wouldn't go near it if I were a local.

So why did I give it a high rating? We had booked for the evening and the two of us sat right against the window about 3 metres from the Douro, looking over the whole of Porto and the Pont Luis. A great view at any time, with lots of river traffic, but to watch the sun go down, the lights come on and the reflections appear in the river was pure magic. The photos alone are worth a lot as souvenirs of our stay. I don't think anywhere else could have come near to that view, bearing in mind that it wasn't a warm evening.

Maybe we were lucky with the service and the food. The service was fine all evening, and they were happy to order us a taxi. Not a gastronomic delight but not a nightmare either. Looking at the bill, I don't see any crazy prices: vermouth 3.70€; starter 4.95€; main course 15.80€; dessert 4.90€; coffee 1.20€; glass of ruby Port 3.50€; 2008 Burmester wine (from about 4 doors down) 14.50€...

Just make sure you go there prepared to pay for the view, and book to ensure a riverside table.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SheilaW34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Beautiful lunch spot”
Reviewed June 13, 2013

The Tonho restaurant on the Vila Nova de Gaia Riverside made an ideal lunchspot in the afternoon sun on the terrace deck with the most beautiful view on the Ribeira district. The service was simply attentive and excellent. The franceshina we had good but the bolo chocolate as desert was superbe and home made! We even returned for a late afternoon soda in the beach chairs to further admire the amazing view. Just find our yourself and enjoy!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Renee77188616
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 6 Contributor
590 reviews
288 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 327 helpful votes
“Everything is disappointing except the views”
Reviewed June 10, 2013

We took a group of 14 here in June. Not an ENORMOUS group, but clearly too much for D.Tonho to cope with. If it hadn't been for the views - which are spectacular - I think more people would have been more vociferous about how poor this was.

Having booked ahead we were told they could only offer a set menu - take it or leave it. My colleague negotiated a choice of two main dishes so we kept it really simple for them. We even confirmed the numbers for each dish the day before. We were the first customers of the evening -it really shouldn't have been a challenge to feed us all, given that they knew what everyone wanted.

We were told we'd get 'mixed starters' but the mix was very poor - bread, small pieces of cut cheese and some strange fried cod-fish in batter which was served too warm to be cold, too cold to be warm. I assumed these were pre-starter 'nibbles' and tried to save myself for what was to follow but these WERE the starter. Very poor quality, very little effort for the kitchen.

The people who had veal were on the whole happier than those of us who had the really poor 'monkfish and prawn arroz(rice)' which was sloppy, flavourless and disappointing. I'm not chef but I can do a lot better at home without resorting to a cookery book.

The waiter was really pushy about the puddings. He had lots of chocolate mousse and not so much of the alternatives (a crème brulee or fresh pineapple). He got quite stroppy that nobody wanted his chocolate mousse. We were the first guests of the evening - he simply could NOT have run out of puddings so early. The choc mousse was actually excellent but the crème brulee was overly burnt and most people left at least half of theirs.

My colleague paid 540 euros for the 14 - nearly forty euros a head - for food that tasted like it came from a cafeteria. A local colleagues declared "They treated us worse than tourists". Go for a coffee or a glass of wine and enjoy the view but don't expect fine dining or courteous service. We got neither.

Also the toilet (which I didn't try) was apparently like something on a train and had no lock on the door.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Koshkha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed D. Tonho also viewed

Vila Nova de Gaia, Porto District
Vila Nova de Gaia, Porto District
 
Vila Nova de Gaia, Porto District
 
Porto, Porto District
Vila Nova de Gaia, Porto District
 

Been to D. Tonho? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing