We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel with the Wow factor”
Review of The Yeatman

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Yeatman
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Vila Nova de Gaia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 5, 2014

This hotel really has got the wow factor, we stayed for 4 nights in July and enjoyed every minute of our stay.

Our room was very spacious with its own terrace with great views overlooking the Douro river and the city of Porto.

Although we did not use the pool or the Spa they all looked lovely. Breakfast was fantastic. It was nice early evening having a drink of the terrace watching the sun set and taking in the views.

The staff were all very friendly & helpful

The hotel in at the top of the hill near many of the port houses. Its only a short walk down the hill across the river into the centre of Porto.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank KarinKidd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GR_The_Yeatman, Public Relations Manager at The Yeatman, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2014

Dear KarinKidd,

Thank you so much for such positive comments and feedback further to your stay at The Yeatman.

We feel honoured to know that so many things were to your liking and that you found the standard very pleasing, including the service.

It is true that much thought went into the planning of The Yeatman to heighten guest experience, encompassing the terrific views over Porto and the Douro river, the close proximity to the Port wine cellars, the spacious and comfortable rooms, to the extensive terraces. We were glad you were able to take advantage of the sunsets from our terraces and perhaps enjoyed one of our 82 wines by the glass available in Dick´s Bar, as well as from your own bedroom terrace.

We do hope we will have the pleasure of your company again in the future.

Best wishes,

The Yeatman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,882)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

641 - 647 of 1,883 reviews

Reviewed August 1, 2014

This was just an excellent experience throughout! The hotel is elegant, staff is exceptionally friendly and supportive, rooms are spacious with their own terrace and great view of Porto. The restaurant in the hotel offers excellent food and service, and the breakfast was varied and rich. The hotel is on the other side of the Douro river where all the port lodges are situated, so it was possible just to walk to one of them for port wine tasting. It was just an enjoyable stay and if we come back to Porto, this will be the place to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Franziska300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GR_The_Yeatman, Gerente de relações públicas at The Yeatman, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2014

Dear Franziska300,

Thank you for your review of your stay at The Yeatman. It is very useful for us to receive feedback from our guests.

We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed so many aspects including our decoration, spacious rooms, views, staff and food.

Our location is practical for visiting the Port wine lodges and there are many different ones to see within close range of the hotel and we always recommend visiting more than one whilst in Porto, to get a good idea of the styles and their production.

It would be our pleasure to welcome you back again to The Yeatman.

Best wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2014

We spend only 2 days in Porto (we will return!), but didn't see any other place I'd rather stay. Overlooking the Duero River and the city of Porto from Villa de Gaia -- where all of the port lodges are located -- this is an elegant, bright, intelligently designed property that works in every way. Dining on the patio is quite and experience, although I cannot say it was the best meal we had in Portugal, it was a pleasure, and the wine selections made for us were perfect. It is a short walk across the river to Porto, and after all the wine and food, much needed! All the rooms have a view and all (appear to be) great.

Room Tip: We were on the first floor and had easy access to pool and wonderful patio
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GR_The_Yeatman, Gerente de relações públicas at The Yeatman, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2014

Dear Robert M,

Thank you for contributing your highly complimentary review to TripAdvisor following your stay with us at The Yeatman.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed our hotel and facilities and that you would like to return!

We have several menus available to guests, all created by Chef Ricardo Costa, from the Michelin star gastronomic restaurant, to our Outdoor Pool restaurant (open from May until October for lunch and dinner), to a more informal menu in our Wine Bar. Weather permitting, one can eat on the terraces with panoramic views and one can also enjoy a meal from one’s own bedroom terrace with the same varied wine selection.

We would be delighted to have you return to visit us again and look forward to welcoming you back.

Best wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2014

My wife and I spent 6 nights in July at Yeatman Hotel in Porto. An excellent experience in every way, a warm welcome by friendly doormen and reception

A marvelleous view of Porto and Douro river from the room and terrasse

Great attention at breakfast buffet that offered even caviar and champagne.
We shall never forget the warm and friendly atmosphere and service. We have been at many top class hotels around the World, but never experienced anything like this. We will be back.
Torben Holm, Copenhagen, Denmark

Room Tip: Prøv at få et værelse med udsigt over by og flod
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Torben H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GR_The_Yeatman, Gerente de relações públicas at The Yeatman, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2014

Dear Torben H,

Thank you so much for your highly complimentary review of your long stay with us at The Yeatman.

Feedback from our guests on TripAdvisor helps us to keep track of our offer and service.

We are delighted to hear that you had such a great holiday at The Yeatman, enjoying many aspects that you describe such as an excellent overall experience, the friendly welcome, our extensive buffet breakfast and our warm and friendly service.

We have been fortunate to have won many awards since opening, however, the greatest award to the staff is to know that our guests felt that they were well taken care of and that they really appreciated the facilities and service.

We would be absolutely delighted to have the pleasure of your company again with us in the future and look forward to your next visit.

Best wishes,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2014

Amazing view of Porto from most of the hotel,high up over the Douro. Rooms spacious , large terrace with huge views.Staff efficient and friendly.Food good but a bit over the top in the Michelin starred restaurant .Excellent hotel ,good pool in and out and lovely Spa.We really enjoyed our stay with plenty to do in Porto and the the north of Portugal and the Douro.

Room Tip: All good with large terraces
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tjgtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GR_The_Yeatman, Gerente de relações públicas at The Yeatman, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2014

Dear tjgtraveller,

Thank you so much for contributing your review on Trip Advisor, after your stay at The Yeatman.

We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed the amazing views of Porto one can see from The Yeatman, your spacious rooms and the efficient service.

The Hotel was built with space, comfort and relaxation in mind, providing a retreat in the heart of the city, with ample room, plenty of terraces and beautiful gardens. In this environment, the leisure aspect is additionally highlighted with two panoramic infinity pools and a beautiful Caudalie Vinothérapie Spa with a wellbeing area which includes Roman baths, a barrel bath room and ten treatment rooms.

There is much to do in Porto and the surrounding towns, and between the interesting activities inside the hotel and the many sights to see, it is a good idea to save a few days for your stay at The Yeatman.

Our Michelin star restaurant is an excellent venue to try the delicious and creative menu of our Chef Ricardo Costa, with wine pairing and, in addition, we also have a pool restaurant on floor 1 where it’s possible to eat a more informal menu by Chef Ricardo in the relaxed atmosphere of our indoor or outdoor terrace.

Thank you again for staying with us and we hope to have the pleasure of your company again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2014

The hotel offers a splendid view on the Porto city over the Douro river. It offers great five star services, but when they organize events, the guests in the hotel become less relevant. Between 1 and 3 in the morning chairs and tables in the dining room were moved around after an event, but many rooms are just one floor down. Even calling twice to the reception did not help. In the morning, my complaint went to excuses but no refund. No sleep, then starts do not matter. There was nothing wrong with my money, and a "we're sorry for the inconvenience" is not going to change anything to the bad feeling this hotel left me.

Room Tip: ask for rooms on the lowest floors (2 and 1), since 3 is under floor 4 where the events are.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
6  Thank Jan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheYeatmanPorto, Owner at The Yeatman, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2014

Thank you for your most recent review and for coming to stay with us again at The Yeatman.

It is very unfortunate that you experienced noise on the last night of your stay. I understand that our Duty Manager has been in direct contact with you to explain why this happened and to resolve your complaint with you personally. Please accept my apologies for this inconvenience once again.

As a luxury hotel, The Yeatman does have events occurring from time to time and normally all events at the hotel are scheduled to finish at a reasonable hour ensuring that we do our utmost to respect the tranquility and privacy of our guests. However, on this rare occasion the noise that you experienced was caused by staff preparing the breakfast room following an event which finished later than expected.

In spite of this occurrence, we hope you enjoyed the rest of your stay and that we may have the pleasure of your stay with us again in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Adrian Bridge
CEO

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2014

This is a gorgeous hotel. It is situated to take advantage of the spectacular views. From the moment you pull up to the entrance you are met with smiling, extremely professional and warm staff.
You are a quick walk across the bridge to the historic areas and on the same side of the river as the Port houses.
The hotel restaurants are excellent and there are huge terraces to eat and enjoy drinks and take in the amazing view.
I will return to this hotel!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Sarah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GR_The_Yeatman, Public Relations Manager at The Yeatman, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2014

Dear Sarah S,

Thank you for your highly complimentary feedback about your stay at The Yeatman.

We are very happy to hear that everything went well and that you appreciated so many different aspects, from the hotel itself and its location, to our terraces, restaurants, staff and views.

We would be delighted to have you return with your family again and look forward to your next visit!

Best wishes,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vila Nova de Gaia
0.8 mi away
InterContinental Porto - Palacio das Cardosas
2.1 mi away
Pestana Palacio do Freixo
0.4 mi away
Pestana Vintage Porto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
NH Collection Porto Batalha
2.4 mi away
Sheraton Porto Hotel & Spa
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Porto Gaia
Holiday Inn Porto Gaia
#2 of 14 in Vila Nova de Gaia
847 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Yeatman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Yeatman

Address: Rua de Choupelo, Vila Nova de Gaia 4400-088, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Vila Nova de Gaia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Vila Nova de Gaia
#1 Romantic Hotel in Vila Nova de Gaia
#1 Spa Hotel in Vila Nova de Gaia
#1 Luxury Hotel in Vila Nova de Gaia
#1 Business Hotel in Vila Nova de Gaia
Price Range: $239 - $540 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Yeatman 5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Yeatman is a luxury wine Hotel and Spa in Porto, Portugal, set amidst the Port wine lodges in the beautiful historic district of Vila Nova de Gaia. The Yeatman nestles on a hill, with panoramic views overlooking Porto and the River Douro. The Yeatman's 82 spacious bedrooms (4 Master Suites, 8 Suites and 70 bedrooms) all face the view of Porto and the river offering a high level of comfort and a private, spacious terrace. The Michelin star restaurant provides a creative fine dining experience where local ingredients are privileged and presented with contemporary flair. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Yeatman reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Yeatman Hotel Vila Nova De Gaia
The Yeatman Portugal/Vila Nova De Gaia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing