We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional hotel, service and view!”
Review of The Yeatman

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Yeatman
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Vila Nova de Gaia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 1, 2014

My wife and I went there for a week-end. The view of Porto is exceptional and every room has a perfect version of it; this is an advantage of being in Vila Nova de Gaia and not Porto itself: you have a picture perfect view of the city. Walking to Porto itself is easy but bring sensible shoes. The rooms are very well appointed and there is plenty of space in the hotel so it never feels crowded (it was 100% occupied during our week-end); but the most important element is the staff! They are extremely helpful, friendly, consistent and efficient. Breakfast is very good and the tasting menu at the originally named restaurant "The Restaurant" is very very good, do not miss it. The Spa is also one not to miss. We had one of these treatments that you remember for a very long time.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Luis W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GR_The_Yeatman, Public Relations Manager at The Yeatman, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2014

Dear Luis W,

Thank you for leaving your feedback about your stay at The Yeatman.

We are delighted that you enjoyed staying with us, especially your experience at our restaurant and Spa.

Thank you for your kind comments about our staff and our service which will be passed on.

We hope you will have the opportunity to come and stay with us again in the future.

Best wishes,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,820)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

625 - 631 of 1,821 reviews

Reviewed June 30, 2014

Just back from a 3 night stay with my husband. Absolutely loved the hotel! Staff are friendly and make you feel welcome. All rooms face out onto the river and overlook Porto. The views were amazing. Breakfast was very good. All wines are offered by the glass which means you can taste a few without having to buy a few bottles. Rooms were bright, spacious and clean. Location was convenient to the Port houses.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shepardess2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GR_The_Yeatman, Public Relations Manager at The Yeatman, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2014

Dear Shepardess2011,

Thank you for contributing your comments about your stay at The Yeatman on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us and that our facilities and staff helped to make your stay a special one.

We are indeed privileged in our location, set within the historic Port wine cellar district and with incredible views over Porto. It is practical and fun to be able to visit many different Port wine lodges in the area, to get a really good feel and taste for Port and the different styles and houses which exist.

The Yeatman’s wine concept allows us to have 82 seasonal wines by the glass kept in optimum conditions and a huge breadth of choice among Portuguese wine producers. Our cellar holds 27,000 bottles and 1300 different wine references, from Ports to table wines, making our award winning wine list the most comprehensive of Portuguese wines in the world.

Thank you again for your review and we hope you will return in the future to stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for four nights with my wife, wonderful hotel, spacious rooms with the best view of Porto, great pools and spa, excellent staff superb food and wines plus the port houses, value for money at this level. Will be visiting again, order the chauffeur pick ups it's worth it.

Stayed: June 2014
2  Thank Davischance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GR_The_Yeatman, Public Relations Manager at The Yeatman, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2014

Dear Davischance,

Thank you very much for your succinct, complimentary review of your stay with us at The Yeatman.

TripAdvisor is a useful barometer for us to measure our service and our guests’ satisfaction.

We were delighted to hear your positive comments and enjoyment of your time spent with us, from the hotel and its location, to the rooms, views, pools and spa, food, wine and service.

Thank you again and please do come back and visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2014

Went with 3 friends end of May - two twin rooms. fantastic stay. Beautiful hotel, with great rooms - fantastic views. wonderful breakfasts and the staff at breakfast were very helpful and remembered on the second morning the table where we wished to sit for breakfast. We had long leisurely breakfasts and the staff were very attentive and kept bringing us lots of tea and checking we had everything we needed. An extra special thanks to the reception team who went out of their way to locate my sunglasses that were lost on the last day in a taxi from hotel to town. They rang the taxi company and located the glasses and the taxi company returned them to the hotel - amazing!! Very special service!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lazyturtle48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GR_The_Yeatman, Public Relations Manager at The Yeatman, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2014

Dear Lazyturtle48,

Thank you for your complimentary review of your time at The Yeatman.

We were delighted that we were able to make your stay a special one and that your opinion of The Yeatman and its facilities matched the service that you were enjoying and experiencing.

The Yeatman was planned with many details to provide heightened guest experience, including very comfortable rest and relaxation facilities and many other ideas that went into designing the hotel. These include the wine concept, attention to detail and impeccable service, which all staff strive to achieve on a daily basis.

In this respect we feel honoured to know that you appreciated the service and this will be passed to the staff.

We hope to have the pleasure of your visit again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2014

The pictures do not do the hotel justice. Every room has a beautiful view of Porto. Although the hotel is not in the city of Porto, we preferred to be near the port lodges. We were able to walk to the city every day - about a 20 minute, lovely walk.

The rooms are beautiful - the most comfortable beds, large bathrooms and a wonderful patio.

The breakfast was outrageous - eggs cooked to order, mimosas, every imaginable pastry, cheese, fruit - and we ate outside on the balcony overlooking the city if Porto.

This is a truly exquisite property - we did not want to leave!

Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
2  Thank pfk721
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GR_The_Yeatman, Public Relations Manager at The Yeatman, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2014

Dear pfk721,

Thank you for your highly complimentary review of The Yeatman and for sharing this with the TripAdvisor Community.

We always do our best to make our guests feel comfortable and welcome and the staff feel proud of this characteristic and of contributing to guest satisfaction through service and knowledge.

We are delighted that we made your stay a memorable one and that, in particular, you enjoyed the hotel itself from the bedrooms and bathrooms, to the views of Porto, our location and even the picturesque walk into Porto, old town.

Glad to hear that you loved our sumptuous buffet breakfast served in The Orangerie and on the terrace in warm weather.

We do hope you may be able to come back again in the future, it would certainly be our pleasure.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2014

The Yeatman Hotel is a beautiful property with stunning views and amazing service (with one caveat - see below). We stayed for two nights and upon arrival, the valet greeted us immediately and took our luggage and parked the car. Checkin was fast, efficient and friendly and then we were immediately taken to our room and shown the amenities, how everything works, etc . Our luggage was already in the room when we got there and, during the tour of the room, we were also greeted by the hotel manager. Our room was bright, comfortable, and spacious and, like all the rooms, had a huge balcony with a stunning panoramic of Porto across the river and the steel bridge. One great thing about the hotel’s location is that it is mere steps away from Taylor’s and a few of the other port houses. So it’s easy to go port tasting and to stumble home again. It is, however, a bit of a hike to Porto on the other side of the river and so we generally opted for a 5-10 euro cab ride to where we wanted to go.

After a drink and some snacks at Dick’s bar upstairs we asked Catarina the concierge for a dinner recommendation and she suggested Rui Paola's DOP (see my review of that superb restaurant). She made us reservations and even booked a taxi. Special thanks and kudos to Catarina for this, and also for arranging a boat ride to Quinta do Crasto in the Douro Vallery (where we were headed next) and a tour of the vineyard. She did all this even though we had just checked out and, technically, were no longer guests of the Yeatman. Everything she recommended and booked was simply amazing.

The breakfast buffet was wonderful with delicious menu items, great views, and excellent and friendly service.

One negative thing we encountered was the service at Dick’s bar. To say it was glacial would be an insult to the speed of glaciers everywhere. Generally, we’d sit down and wait 10 minutes for a menu. The odd thing was that once handed the menu, they’d come back in 30 seconds to take our order but, of course, we hadn’t had time to even start going through the wine list. Then, they’d go away and leave us alone for 10 minutes before coming back to finally take our order. And THEN, it would take another 10-15 minutes to get our 2 glasses of wine! I really don’t understand what it’s a 30 minute ordeal to get 2 glasses of wine (from sit down to delivery). The bar was not busy (3-4 tables occupied) and even the waitress said it was dead. Trying to order food was even worse…it took over an hour.

In summary, the Yeatman is a great hotel and I’d highly recommend it for it’s location, views, style, and general excellent service. They do, however, need to step up their game in Dick’s bar.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TexArcanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GR_The_Yeatman, Public Relations Manager at The Yeatman, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2014

Dear TexArcanada,

Thank you for your extensive review of your stay with us at The Yeatman.

It is very helpful to receive customer feedback so that we can keep track of our standards and evaluate areas that may not be working to our usual high level.

We are very pleased that you enjoyed our service, location and facilities, including all aspects of your welcome and check-in as well as the concierge elements that were booked for you.

We are keen to provide our guests with as much care and attention as possible and the generally excellent service you describe, is more in line with our usual style of service. For this reason, we were disappointed to hear that your experience in Dick’s Bar was less than perfect and we would encourage all our guests to please let us know when this happens whilst with us, when possible, either via the bar staff or the Duty manager, so that we can do our best to put things right whilst you are here. We thank you anyway for letting us know now.

We understand that this did not take away from your overall pleasure of staying at The Yeatman and please know that your comments will be put to good use in helping to ensure that the situation is corrected.

We hope to be able to welcome you back again to The Yeatman in order to surpass your experience with us next time.

Best wishes,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2014

We stayed 4 nights in this wonderful place.
Beautiful view on Porto, superb rooms AND BEDS!!
Michelin star rated restaurant (although you may have simple dinner at the pool restaurant).
Staff is extremely helpful.
This may be one of the best hotels in Portugal, maybe Europe.
The only negative point is the location, in case you have difficultiy with walking, unless you take a car/taxi.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank HSLB1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GR_The_Yeatman, Public Relations Manager at The Yeatman, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2014

Dear Hein B,

Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor which helps us to track guest satisfaction and measure our standards of service.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay overall, from the facilities to the views overlooking Porto, the bedrooms and comfortable beds.

Our staff work hard to produce the high level of service we are accustomed to providing and to help make our guests’ stay a memorable one, so we were delighted to know that you found the service friendly and helpful.

Besides our Michelin star gastronomic restaurant, Chef Ricardo Costa has created two informal menus, one in Dick’s Bar and the other at our Pool Restaurant. All three restaurants provide creative cuisine, excellent wine service and outstanding views.

Our location provides a peaceful setting, similar to a resort within a city, near to the Port wine cellars and within a short walking distance to Porto via a picturesque walking route (approximately 20 minutes). There are also trams, taxis and sightseeing buses nearby.

Thank you for your positive comments and we hope to be able to welcome you back again soon to The Yeatman.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vila Nova de Gaia
0.8 mi away
InterContinental Porto - Palacio das Cardosas
0.4 mi away
Pestana Vintage Porto
2.1 mi away
Pestana Palacio do Freixo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
NH Collection Porto Batalha
2.4 mi away
Sheraton Porto Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
Porto River Aparthotel
Porto River Aparthotel
#2 of 108 in Porto
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Yeatman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Yeatman

Address: Rua de Choupelo, Vila Nova de Gaia 4400-088, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Vila Nova de Gaia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Vila Nova de Gaia
#1 Family Hotel in Vila Nova de Gaia
#1 Romantic Hotel in Vila Nova de Gaia
#1 Spa Hotel in Vila Nova de Gaia
#1 Business Hotel in Vila Nova de Gaia
Price Range: $240 - $799 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Yeatman 5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Yeatman is a luxury wine Hotel and Spa in Porto, Portugal, set amidst the Port wine lodges in the beautiful historic district of Vila Nova de Gaia. The Yeatman nestles on a hill, with panoramic views overlooking Porto and the River Douro. The Yeatman's 82 spacious bedrooms (4 Master Suites, 8 Suites and 70 bedrooms) all face the view of Porto and the river offering a high level of comfort and a private, spacious terrace. The Michelin star restaurant provides a creative fine dining experience where local ingredients are privileged and presented with contemporary flair. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Yeatman reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Yeatman Hotel Vila Nova De Gaia
The Yeatman Portugal/Vila Nova De Gaia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing