We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost to perfect, but if you ask for the price, you can not afford it.”
Review of The Yeatman

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Yeatman
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Vila Nova de Gaia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 15, 2014

We stayed 4 nights in this wonderful place.
Beautiful view on Porto, superb rooms AND BEDS!!
Michelin star rated restaurant (although you may have simple dinner at the pool restaurant).
Staff is extremely helpful.
This may be one of the best hotels in Portugal, maybe Europe.
The only negative point is the location, in case you have difficultiy with walking, unless you take a car/taxi.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank HSLB1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GR_The_Yeatman, Public Relations Manager at The Yeatman, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2014

Dear Hein B,

Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor which helps us to track guest satisfaction and measure our standards of service.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay overall, from the facilities to the views overlooking Porto, the bedrooms and comfortable beds.

Our staff work hard to produce the high level of service we are accustomed to providing and to help make our guests’ stay a memorable one, so we were delighted to know that you found the service friendly and helpful.

Besides our Michelin star gastronomic restaurant, Chef Ricardo Costa has created two informal menus, one in Dick’s Bar and the other at our Pool Restaurant. All three restaurants provide creative cuisine, excellent wine service and outstanding views.

Our location provides a peaceful setting, similar to a resort within a city, near to the Port wine cellars and within a short walking distance to Porto via a picturesque walking route (approximately 20 minutes). There are also trams, taxis and sightseeing buses nearby.

Thank you for your positive comments and we hope to be able to welcome you back again soon to The Yeatman.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,870)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

655 - 661 of 1,870 reviews

Reviewed June 15, 2014 via mobile

Great views and great service.
Exceptional breakfast.
I managed to over eat but the choice was very wide. High quality.
Dinner very good , my wife thought the chocolate desert was fantastic.
The room large and comfortable, very nice indoor swimming pool.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank Barneyq101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GR_The_Yeatman, Public Relations Manager at The Yeatman, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2014

Dear Barneyq101,

Thank you for posting your succinct report of your stay at The Yeatman.

Customer feedback is very helpful to us and we greatly appreciate our guests writing in with their reviews.

We are honoured to know that you enjoyed in particular our views, service, breakfast and dining facilities. Since The Yeatman was designed and built from scratch on a large plot, the owners wanted to privilege space hence the hotel was designed with plenty of room in both common areas and bedrooms to promote comfort and relaxation, as well as building other details such as our Spa.

Thank you for your time and we hope we may have the pleasure of your company again in the future.

Best wishes,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2014

The view is amazing. You overlook all of Porto. The staff is very competent and all at least bilingual and very accommodating.
With a Michelin star you can imagine how good the food is. I had pigeon.
A must visit if you are in Porto, even if it is just for a glass of wine.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1910Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GR_The_Yeatman, Public Relations Manager at The Yeatman, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2014

Dear 1910Traveler,

Thank you for your review of The Yeatman on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to know that you found our hotel to be ‘simply gorgeous’. It fills us with pride and helps us, above all, to measure our facilities so that we can keep track and adjust service, wherever necessary.

We warmly welcome our in-house guests, as well as guests who just wish to visit our gastronomic restaurant, or to come to The Yeatman to enjoy a meal or a drink in Dick’s Bar, where you can choose from one of our 82 seasonal wines by the glass.

We hope that we may be able to welcome you back again soon and thank you again for your support.

Best wishes,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2014

This very well appointed hotel has great facilities for travellers looking to explore inner Porto. Set amongst the Port warehouses nestled up to the Douro River you are only minutes away from all the action of the old part of town. This very elegant hotel has excellent Dining facilities, fantastic buffet breakfast which was hard to beat. Rooms very well appointed and roomy, fantastic view! Very generous common areas and lobbies, this place is certainly something special and well worth a visit I think it would be hard to be disappointed.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GR_The_Yeatman, Public Relations Manager at The Yeatman, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2014

Dear Paul H,

We would like to thank you for your highly positive review of The Yeatman.

It is truly an honour to know that you enjoyed your stay, from our prime location in the historic Port wine district close to the cellars; to our proximity with the old town of Porto, Unesco World Heritage; to our comfortable and spacious facilities.

Our aim is to provide an all-round experience for our guests, with excellent wine and dining facilities, so we were delighted that you were able to appreciate this in your time with us.

We hope that you may have the opportunity to return to visit us again sometime in the future.

Best wishes,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2014

This is the best hotel Porto has to offer! The view is spectacular on any day (sunny and rainy had their own individual beauty), the service is unbeatable and the wine selection is amazing! To top it all off, the majority of port houses are a 10-minute walk away.

One thing that we did not enjoy as much was the food. It was more of an "us" thing as we are not big fans of Portuguese cuisine or fish in general. They will, however, make you a nice and simple off-menu meal if you ask politely.

Overall it was a wonderful experience and we will be back to visit should we have a week to spare.

Room Tip: All rooms have a view of Porto and are away from the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GR_The_Yeatman, Public Relations Manager at The Yeatman, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2014

Dear MarkM,

Thank you for your review of The Yeatman. Our guests’ feedback helps us to keep track of our level of service and our customers’ experience.

In this respect we were delighted to hear that you loved your time at The Yeatman, from the views on ‘all-weather’ days to our service and wine selection.

Our location is often complimented and we feel that being in the Port wine district is a great plus for visiting the various different cellars.

Our Michelin star restaurant is frequently complimented and it is usually possible to speak to the staff and request something that may be off menu.

Besides our gastronomic restaurant, Chef Ricardo Costa also has two informal menus, one in Dick’s Bar and one in the Pool Restaurant (Dick’s being open all year round; the Pool restaurant from May until September). Both offer delicious and more casual style food.

Thank you again for your positive feedback. We hope we may have the pleasure of your company again soon!

Best wishes,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

This is the best Hotel in Portugal. The breakfast is perfect, nice view and the rooms are simply the best! The Spa and swimming pool are great and the view is realy unbelievable. Probably is the best hotel I ever stayed in my life. Strong recomendation.

Room Tip: All rooms are very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rodrigo T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GR_The_Yeatman, Public Relations Manager at The Yeatman, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2014

Dear Rodrigo T,

Thank you for your excellent review of The Yeatman.

We are extremely pleased that you considered your stay at The Yeatman to be ‘unbelievable’ and to give us such a strong recommendation.

We strive on a daily basis through professionalism and dedication, to provide the best service possible for our guests and our greatest compensation is in knowing that we succeeded in creating a wonderful experience.

Thank you again and we hope that you will be able to return to visit us in the near future.

Best wishes,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2014

Our stop in Porto was short, and we wished it was longer. The Yeatman was a perfect hotel. They treat you so well -- very nice, very helpful, personal touch. The rooms were lovely. Views were spectacular. It's the perfect location. Of all the places we stayed on our trip (we had 6 different hotels -- all 5 start hotels), this was the best, by far. I highly recommend this hotel and spot. It's perfect.

Room Tip: I don't know what to say here. I thought the hotel was really quiet, and learned later that it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank TheStriders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GR_The_Yeatman, Public Relations Manager at The Yeatman, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2014

Dear TheStriders,

Thank you for your very positive comments about The Yeatman and for taking the time to write.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed many aspects of your stay at our hotel, from our perfect location and views to our helpful and friendly staff.

Our primary concern is our guest’s satisfaction and their overall experience and so we are extremely happy to know that you felt you had found the ‘perfect spot’!

We really hope that you can come back and visit us again soon and thank you again.

Best wishes,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vila Nova de Gaia
0.8 mi away
InterContinental Porto - Palacio das Cardosas
0.4 mi away
Pestana Vintage Porto
2.1 mi away
Pestana Palacio do Freixo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Sheraton Porto Hotel & Spa
0.8 mi away
NH Collection Porto Batalha
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Porto Gaia
Holiday Inn Porto Gaia
#2 of 14 in Vila Nova de Gaia
833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Yeatman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Yeatman

Address: Rua de Choupelo, Vila Nova de Gaia 4400-088, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Vila Nova de Gaia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Vila Nova de Gaia
#1 Luxury Hotel in Vila Nova de Gaia
#1 Business Hotel in Vila Nova de Gaia
#1 Romantic Hotel in Vila Nova de Gaia
#1 Family Hotel in Vila Nova de Gaia
Price Range: $237 - $506 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Yeatman 5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Yeatman is a luxury wine Hotel and Spa in Porto, Portugal, set amidst the Port wine lodges in the beautiful historic district of Vila Nova de Gaia. The Yeatman nestles on a hill, with panoramic views overlooking Porto and the River Douro. The Yeatman's 82 spacious bedrooms (4 Master Suites, 8 Suites and 70 bedrooms) all face the view of Porto and the river offering a high level of comfort and a private, spacious terrace. The Michelin star restaurant provides a creative fine dining experience where local ingredients are privileged and presented with contemporary flair. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Yeatman reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Yeatman Hotel Vila Nova De Gaia
The Yeatman Portugal/Vila Nova De Gaia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing