We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the best hotels we have ever stayed”
Review of The Yeatman

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Yeatman
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Vila Nova de Gaia
Certificate of Excellence
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“One of the best hotels we have ever stayed”
Reviewed October 18, 2013

Excellent food, magnificent wines, great service, beautiful views of Porto, rooms with all amenities anyone can ask for, across the street from the Taylor port wine house, great fitness center and resident seagulls bathing in the pool. What more can you ask for. Definitely the place to stay when visiting the north of Portugal.

Room Tip: All rooms have a view to the city of Porto. Try to stay on third floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RichardS853
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GR_The_Yeatman, Public Relations Manager at The Yeatman, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear RichardS853,
Thank you for posting a review about your time at The Yeatman. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed yourself and that you rate The Yeatman so highly. For us it is truly an honour to be able to serve our guests as a great deal of effort and ideas went into creating the hotel and with our guests’ experience and satisfaction in mind. Please come back and visit us again. It would be our pleasure to welcome you as our repeated guest. Best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,680 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,441
    178
    41
    9
    11
See reviews for
273
899
38
135
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed October 17, 2013

My wife and I spent two fantastic nights at the Yeatman Hotel. Yes the rooms are gorgeous, the views of Porto stunning, great food and relaxing spa but what makes this a special place is the staff. Carlos the front desk manager was kind enough to escort us on a mini tour of their wine cellar. It turned into a 1.5 hour information session on the different wine regions in Portugal. Even though he was very busy he spent all this time with us before we went upstairs to our wine tasting scheduled in the their bar. The information that he provided made the wine tasting even more enjoyable. I highly recommend the Yeatman Hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eric g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GR_The_Yeatman, Public Relations Manager at The Yeatman, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear eric g,
Thank you for writing a response about your stay at The Yeatman. We are delighted to hear that everything was to your liking, including the facilities, views, food and staff. Much thought has gone into providing great facilities and an exciting experience to all our guests, hence we feel very proud when we hear that our customers appreciated their time here. Staff training is a top priority, since service is so important, so we thank you for commending the staff. Your comments will be passed on to the management. Do come back and visit us again, it would be our pleasure. Best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mombasa, Kenya
Level Contributor
201 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2013

fantastic location. spectacular view of porto esp at night. decor is very classic. rooms are average on size. all rooms have a view with a balcony. bathrooms are okay. staff are friendly. service is slow. breakfast is okay. indoor pool is fantastic. gym facilities are good.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank afrequenttraveller20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GR_The_Yeatman, Public Relations Manager at The Yeatman, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear afrequenttraveller20
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay at The Yeatman. Receiving customer feedback is really important to us, as The Yeatman has been designed to include many special details with our guests’ experience in mind. We are pleased you enjoyed the hotel, from our views and location to our comfortable and classic décor. Our apologies however if whilst here, you experienced the service to be below our usual high standard. The staff work hard to provide the service befitting of a world class hotel and usually we are commended for this, however your comment has been passed to senior management. We hope to have the pleasure of your company on a future trip, perhaps for leisure next time, where we hope to surpass your expectations. Best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2013

I can heavily recommend staying at the Yeatman. The rooms are extremely spacious and luxurious, with a beautiful view of the Porto riverside. You just can't get enough of that view. The Spa was a delight, very relaxing and serviced to the highest standard. Great location, just a stone's throw from some of the main cellars, and a convenient walk to subway stations and the riverside area. The question is not whether to return, but when!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andremsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GR_The_Yeatman, Public Relations Manager at The Yeatman, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear andremsmith,
Thank you for your rounded review of your stay at The Yeatman. It is very important for us to receive customer reviews as this way we can judge what our guests think of their experience and monitor our service. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your entire experience at The Yeatman. We are honoured you felt at home here and look forward to having you back with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Can even a 5-star hotel improve? The answer for The Yeatman is "Absolutely YES!" On our visit a year ago, we had a completely wonderful stay in this gorgeous property which had every element of a 5-star property in place but, at only two years old, you could feel an underlying tension of having to work at it. This year, every moment of our stay felt not only perfect but also effortless!

We arrived early in the day and treated ourselves to a delicious lunch on the deck overlooking the Douro River and Porto. The view from the bar, the Michelin-starred restaurant, every single guest room, the swimming pools, the workout room, the spa and the grounds is one of the most beautiful anywhere on the planet. Each day of our stay, we had to force ourselves to leave the hotel and that view!

Our extremely spacious room had beautifully built cabinetry which concealed hanging space, shelves and drawers as well as fully stocked mini-bar and all manner of personal toiletries. The bookshelves hold travel and art books on Portugal as well as both fiction and non-fiction titles for those who want to spend their days and evenings on their room's private terrace which is furnished with table, chairs and chaise lounges.

Even if you don't avail youself of the spa services, be sure to at least walk through it. The approach is through a corridor filled with bits of Portuguese lore including a wonderful little exhibit on cork and some absolutely beautiful works of art, The central core of the spa has a spectacular circular staircase and again the stunning view of Porto.

The staff at The Yeatman was exceptional, from our seamless check-in where our bags were wisked away while we went off to lunch, to the Concierge who found the perfect answer to each of our questions (and somehow we didn't seem to have any simple questions!), to the wonderful Bruno who last trip discovered our cell phone still sitting in the cab when we arrived back at the hotel one night and this year discovered our room key still in the car when we exited, to Vida, the warm and welcoming waitress at the bar who instantly made us feel at home.

We cannot wait for our next visit and I envy you your first visit!

Room Tip: All of the rooms have a gorgeous view and are very generously proportioned. The bathrooms in the su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GR_The_Yeatman, Public Relations Manager at The Yeatman, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear Mark W,
Thank you for such a warm and wonderful review about your time with us at The Yeatman. One can tell from your very personable comments that you know the hotel very well including some of our staff members. We are truly honoured to have you back and to know that you are still appreciating The Yeatman so much, to the point where you feel we have even improved with what is now an ‘effortless service’. Certainly we aim to be attentive to details and it is our intention and objective to provide a wonderful and unique stay to all our guests, on every occasion. Thank you for your idea to visit the spa. It is indeed an oasis with a beautiful design with its natural wood and marble, the aroma of the Caudalie products and the huge and dramatic spiral staircase created in a Port barrel. We look forward to your next visit and to serving you once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

This was our second stay at The Yeatman, and it was as exceptional as the first. It is very difficult to criticise anything about this hotel - the staff are wonderful, and nothing is too much trouble, the rooms are beautiful and palatial, everything is spotless. The restaurant is one of the best we have ever eaten in - who could ask for more than Michelin starred cuisine, with a table by the window overlooking Porto at night? This year, we had breakfast included - wow!! Champagne, caviar, smoked salmon, an incredible array of meat and cheese, pastries, fruit, breads, and then cooked choices. Absolutely incredible.

We have stayed in some excellent hotels all over the world, but for us, The Yeatman is the best we have found. We will be back next year ( and the year after, and the year after.....)

Room Tip: All the rooms are amazing. We have stayed in both a superior room and a suite, and, whilst the suit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GEMBLUEEYES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GR_The_Yeatman, Public Relations Manager at The Yeatman, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear GEMBLUEEYES,
Thank you for the lovely and positive comments you have written about The Yeatman, which will be passed on to the staff. Your kind words are an honour for us to receive, and make our efforts even more worthwhile. A great deal of thought and planning went into creating The Yeatman and since opening, we strive daily to provide a unique and exciting experience to all our guests. We are extremely pleased to receive our repeated guests back again and again, so nothing can make us happier to know that you look forward to returning many times. Thank you too for your wonderful comments about our restaurant. We are proud to know that the food, quality and service is appreciated. We look forward to your next visit. Best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stourbridge
Level Contributor
157 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Lovely hotel. Great views over the city at night. Our room was lovely, and the staff were very hardworking and accommodating. Beautiful outdoor pool which I regret I didn't get to use because the weather was pretty awful when we were there. Ate in the restaurant which was good, but not stunning.

Room Tip: We had a lovely balcony, which overlooked Porto. It looked like most rooms had them, but it was wort...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sprogg2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GR_The_Yeatman, Public Relations Manager at The Yeatman, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear Denise M,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about The Yeatman. For us, it is an honour to know that you loved the hotel and appreciated virtually everything from the beautiful view at night, to your bedroom with its comfort and decoration, to our staff. Our hotel was designed with guest satisfaction in mind and all rooms have panoramic views facing the historic, UNESCO world heritage part of Porto. Our Michelin star restaurant has been awarded for its food and good wine service under the leadership of our Chef Ricardo Costa. We are fortunate that the hotel has received many awards in recognition of our work, but the greatest of all is to receive such positive feedback from our guests. We hope that we will have the pleasure of your company again in the future. Best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vila Nova de Gaia
0.8 mi away
InterContinental Porto Palacio das Cardosas
2.1 mi away
Pestana Palacio do Freixo
0.4 mi away
Pestana Vintage Porto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Flores Village Hotel & Spa
0.8 mi away
Hotel NH Collection Porto Batalha
0.5 mi away
Porto River Aparthotel
Porto River Aparthotel
#3 of 104 in Porto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Yeatman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Yeatman

Property: The Yeatman
Address: Rua de Choupelo, Vila Nova de Gaia 4400-088, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Vila Nova de Gaia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Vila Nova de Gaia
#1 Spa Hotel in Vila Nova de Gaia
#1 Business Hotel in Vila Nova de Gaia
#1 Family Hotel in Vila Nova de Gaia
#1 Romantic Hotel in Vila Nova de Gaia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Yeatman 5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Yeatman is a luxury wine Hotel and Spa in Porto, Portugal, set amidst the Port wine lodges in the beautiful historic district of Vila Nova de Gaia. The Yeatman nestles on a hill, with panoramic views overlooking Porto and the River Douro. The Yeatman's 82 spacious bedrooms (4 Master Suites, 8 Suites and 70 bedrooms) all face the view of Porto and the river offering a high level of comfort and a private, spacious terrace. The Michelin star restaurant provides a creative fine dining experience where local ingredients are privileged and presented with contemporary flair. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your The Yeatman reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Yeatman Hotel Vila Nova De Gaia
The Yeatman Portugal/Vila Nova De Gaia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing