We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible property, well worth it”
Review of The Yeatman

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Yeatman
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Vila Nova de Gaia
Certificate of Excellence
US
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Incredible property, well worth it”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Spectacular views of Porto from every room. Great restaurant, hotel bar, amenities, wine cellar/selection, art collection, gym, and the rooms are nice and large. Great place to stay, I hope to be back again soon. My only complaint is the service was consistently slow. Restaurant, front desk, and spa were all slower than what I accustomed to at a hotel of this quality.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank konadogUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GR_The_Yeatman, Public Relations Manager at The Yeatman, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear konadogUS,
Many thanks for your response with the mainly excellent comments about so many of our facilities. We would certainly enjoy having you back with us and hope that we will have this pleasure soon. Our primary concern is guest satisfaction so your positive feedback has been noted, but equally, with regard to the service aspect, your comments will be shared with the management. Our service is usually complimented and we have won awards in the restaurant, Spa and indeed for the overall accommodation service, hence we are keen to ensure high standards. You can be sure that we will take your comments on board in our continued efforts to improve our service for the future. Meanwhile, we look forward to your next visit and hope that we can surpass your expectations next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,758 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,502
    187
    48
    10
    11
See reviews for
287
948
39
137
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

My boyfriend and I have stayed at the Yeatman a couple of times now - the second time I was afraid to go back as the first time had been so wonderful that it couldn't possibly be repeated, could it?

I needn't have worried. As soon as we arrived, our bags were taken away to our room, and the ever personable front desk staff welcomed us as if we were the only guests in the hotel. I was especially impressed that the doorman took the trouble to note my name from (I presume) the luggage tag, and greeted us personally for the rest of the stay.

The rooms are huge, even at the lower end of their prices, and the beds are so big and so comfy that after our first stay we bought ourselves a similar one for home. I believe every room looks out over the river and across to the old town on the other side - there is very little noise from the other guests, or from the town itself.

We felt like nothing was too much trouble for the staff, who gave us good recommendations for dinner, and advice about the individual lodges. I believe that we are probably a little younger, being in our mid 20s, than the usual clientele, and so the initial restaurants recommended were a little too generic and touristy. When pressed for "where do you eat round here", some really good places came up!

The port lodges are a simple roll downhill (coming up again is harder!) and the rest of Porto is no more than a 30mins walk - but the front desk will arrange taxis, which we used to get us to the metro when heading back to the airport.

The spectacular views go without saying, but the infinity pool is definitely not to be missed.

We don't usually stay in such top end hotels, but whenever we come to Porto we now make an exception and stay in the Yeatman, it feels like a second home!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fizzyfish998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GR_The_Yeatman, Public Relations Manager at The Yeatman, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear Fizzyfish998,
Your comments make us feel very proud – thank you indeed for taking the time to give us such positive feedback which will be passed on to the staff and management. The hotel has been built with guests’ comfort in mind and it is an honour for us when we are congratulated on our facilities, location, views and service especially by repeated guests. Above all, our primary concern is your satisfaction, so our compensation is to know that you felt at home in our hotel and that all the staff did a good job in assisting you during your stay. We very much look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

I bought this trip as a Christmas present for my husband as he had had a very bad year with one thing and another and I was really quite nervous that it should be just right. I needn't have worried! As soon as the taxi drove up the steep drive I knew I had made the right choice. The greeting from the staff at the door was superb, and as we approached the desk someone whisked away our luggage and made sure we had a comfy seat. Our room wasn't ready as we arrived at 09:30 in the morning but we had coffee in the sitting room overlooking the Douro and Oporto and soaked up the atmosphere until our room was ready. The wow factor as the door of our room was opened for us was phenomenal! The view from our balcony was superb, right across the river to Oporto. Our few days away went from better to best and we had a wonderful time. We had dinner in the hotel the first night, which was extremely expensive (check out the tasting menu!!) but absolutely delicious. I would have no qualms at all at recommending this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Attrac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GR_The_Yeatman, Public Relations Manager at The Yeatman, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear Attrac,
Thank you for taking the time to answer us after your enjoyable stay. It is extremely positive for us to know that you had an incredible experience and that you loved the welcome, the facilities, your room and the Chef’s special tasting menu you ate in the restaurant. Your encouraging feedback will be passed on to the staff and management as our main concern is our guests’ satisfaction. We hope we may have the pleasure of welcoming you again in the future at The Yeatman.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2013

My wife and I stayed for 3 nights at this excellent hotel. The quality of our superior room was very good with beautiful views of the Douro River and the city of Porto on the opposite bank.

We ate for all 3 nights in the Michelin starred restaurant. The food and service were excellent at the restaurant. Unfortunately on the 3rd night, my wife's fish terrine starter was off and she was very sick. The service in the restaurant ,whilst impeccable, was slow. Dinner took between 2 - 3 hours plus with the chef's specials. Choosing a slightly more limited selection from the menu made it a bit quicker.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClydeKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GR_The_Yeatman, Public Relations Manager at The Yeatman, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Dear ClydeKent,
Thank you for your positive feedback of The Yeatman. We are glad you enjoyed your stay at our hotel, in particular the room, our beautiful views and the standard of our restaurant. Being a wine hotel with a strong focus on gastronomy and food and wine pairing, it is encouraging to know that you enjoyed dining in our Michelin star restaurant. We are very sorry to hear of your wife’s sickness on the last evening. Our ingredients are of the utmost freshness and the kitchen is run to rigorous health standards, with regular and frequent inspections, and we sincerely hope that your wife's sickness was not due to food standards. Nevertheless, your comments will of course be passed to the kitchen for their analysis and review. Thank you for your kind words about our staff and the service which will be passed on to the Chef and our restaurant manager. We consistently work to improve our service and your comments will be taken on board. We hope to see you again soon at The Yeatman where it will be a pleasure to serve you once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina, United States
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2013

Tour co offered three choices and we picked this. Sited on a hill overlooking Porto, the view is stunning. Small hotel with 82 rooms. Rooms are substantial, all facing the city. This is a first quality, true 5 star hotel. Four Seasons 5 star. Outstanding service and the food at the restaurant....the best you will find, anywhere. Of course the wine is truly excellent as this hotel is owned by the co that owns Taylor and ( I think) Fonseca.
The business concept didn't make sense at first. How can a hotel so small, so well situated ad so very, very nice make money, but what a smart thing to do. The company can entertain their distributors and collectors and we mere drinkers get the same excellent experience.

Room Tip: No worries, they are all excellent with a wonderful view. Even a very large patio and smokers are a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GR_The_Yeatman, Public Relations Manager at The Yeatman, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear NancyN,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about The Yeatman. The level of service provided by our staff is important to us as we strive to make our guests' stay a memorable one. Your positive comments make a difference and we will pass these on to our staff. Being a luxury wine hotel and of the Relais & Chateaux association, wine and gastronomy are indeed very important to us and our aim is to provide a service of excellence in this field. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you again soon at The Yeatman.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
257 reviews
138 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 324 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We had a very nice 5 night stay at this Hotel when sightseeing around Porto.

The Hotel is great and lives up to the hype on here with only a couple of small niggles. The rooms are gorgeous and very big, we had a superior room and it was excellent and large with breathtaking views over to Porto. The terrace and pool was nice on our room and it must be lovely to sit out there in warm weather, which we didn't really have during our early April stay.

All the staff we encountered where excellent and very friendly. The area is good although there is little in the immediate area apart from of course the Port Houses. We toured the only private one left, Taylors which is across the road and it was really interesting and good value.

The niggles we had at the Yeatman didnt really detract from our stay, but I am surprised they happened at a Hotel aiming for the top. We had issues over charging us for breakfast even though we were on an inclusive rate. It was sorted immediately on us questioning it, but should not have come up. We were out one day from 9.30 to 4.30 and very surprised to return to an unmade room. We had left the "please make up room" sign on the door and it was still there on our return. They dispatched a maid as soon as we called reception, but we had to vacate the room for 30 mins or so. Also we did not have our complimentary water replaced for a couple of days. Not a nightmare, but shouldn't happen at a high end Hotel. Thought the shower cubicle was a touch small and a bit poor with only a nozzle type head attached to the wall, a bit weak for a room and bathroom of this standard.

Overall, we would return. Its lovely hotel, nice rooms, excellent bed linens etc. Pool and Spa sensational. Dicks Bar was ok. Very slow service, but with that view its no big deal, but again could be snappier. Food was amazing in the Restaurant apart from the main course, apart from the Pork for 2 on the ala carte. Presentation and cooking method (big pan for 2) didn't live up to the style and presentation of the rest of an excellent dinner.

We attended the wine evening (Cartuxa) which was great food and wine, but did feel like you were slight afterthoughts at a corporate event where the company were pitching to their invited local customers. We wouldn't attend another, even though we enjoyed the food and wine. The ambiance when on holiday didn't work for us, as the corporate speeches (in Portuguese) to their local customers went on for ages.

Also another tip is we were scammed twice by Taxis picked up in town who amazingly do not have any change whatsoever when returning guests to the Yeatman ! Turning a 5 or 6 Euro fare into a nice tip if you only have a 10 or 20 note as we did the first time. The Hotel appeared wise to it, and immediately rushed out with change.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bax52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GR_The_Yeatman, Public Relations Manager at The Yeatman, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Bax52,
Many thanks for your review. It is encouraging to read the positive reviews but also important to us to receive your opinion about some areas where the experience was less positive. Customer satisfaction is of utmost important to us at The Yeatman and your comments will be analyzed and feedback will be given to the various departments. It is satisfying to hear that your overall comments were good, in particular the size of our rooms, the comfort, the views, the quality of the Spa, the pools and the standard of the experience in the restaurant. All rooms at The Yeatman have views over Porto and the river and comfort has always been a very important concern for us. We are proud of our facilities that have been designed with our guests’ experience in mind.
We apologise for not corresponding on all levels and the negative points you mention have already been addressed as these are not common occurrences for us. Our staff are all highly trained and we strive to provide our guests with a memorable stay.
Our wine dinners are usually enjoyed by local and foreign guests. We try to make our foreign guests feel completely at home so that they can get the maximum benefit from the evening, not only through the unique meal with the specially chosen wines that are being presented but also through the exchange with the wine partner and our staff who are in attendance, so our apologies if the ambiance didn’t match up to your expectation. We shall continue to look for ways we can improve our service in these areas. Thank you again for your comments and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again soon at The Yeatman.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potomac Heights
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

We had a reservation at the Pestana Porto, but they couldn't accommodate us. We were then transfered to the Yeatman -- our good fortune!!! While the hotel is spacious and the rooms are beautiful, what really differentiates it from all of the rest is the staff. There was no request that we had that was not instantly accommodated. But not only were they helpful in doing as we asked, they were proactive in suggesting even better solutions to our requests than we had thought of ourselves. You immediately get the feeling that you need have no care in the world, because they will take care of you. I have never stayed in a hotel with a better staff. They are all to be congratulated.

Next visit to Porto, my reservation will be directly for the Yeatman.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank seenitallpprune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GR_The_Yeatman, Guest Relations Manager at The Yeatman, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear seenitallpprune,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback about your visit to The Yeatman and for recommending our Hotel. We are very happy to read that you plan to return to The Yeatman again and it would be our pleasure to welcome you on each visit.
Our entire team is very grateful for your review and very kind accolades with regards to our service, location and facilities. Please do let us know if there is anything that we can do to assist prior to your next visit.

Kind regards,

The Yeatman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vila Nova de Gaia
0.8 mi away
InterContinental Porto - Palacio das Cardosas
2.1 mi away
Pestana Palacio do Freixo
0.4 mi away
Pestana Vintage Porto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
NH Collection Porto Batalha
2.4 mi away
Sheraton Porto Hotel & Spa
0.6 mi away
Porto A.S. 1829 Hotel
Porto A.S. 1829 Hotel
#7 of 108 in Porto
559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Yeatman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Yeatman

Property: The Yeatman
Address: Rua de Choupelo, Vila Nova de Gaia 4400-088, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Vila Nova de Gaia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Vila Nova de Gaia
#1 Spa Hotel in Vila Nova de Gaia
#1 Family Hotel in Vila Nova de Gaia
#1 Business Hotel in Vila Nova de Gaia
#1 Romantic Hotel in Vila Nova de Gaia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Yeatman 5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Yeatman is a luxury wine Hotel and Spa in Porto, Portugal, set amidst the Port wine lodges in the beautiful historic district of Vila Nova de Gaia. The Yeatman nestles on a hill, with panoramic views overlooking Porto and the River Douro. The Yeatman's 82 spacious bedrooms (4 Master Suites, 8 Suites and 70 bedrooms) all face the view of Porto and the river offering a high level of comfort and a private, spacious terrace. The Michelin star restaurant provides a creative fine dining experience where local ingredients are privileged and presented with contemporary flair. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Expedia, Orbitz, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Yeatman reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Yeatman Hotel Vila Nova De Gaia
The Yeatman Portugal/Vila Nova De Gaia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing