We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Yeatman
Nearby Hotels
Mercure Porto Gaia(Vila Nova de Gaia)
$76
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Cliphotel(Vila Nova de Gaia)
$76
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Holiday Inn Porto Gaia(Vila Nova de Gaia)
$123
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Ibis Porto Gaia(Vila Nova de Gaia)
$69
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Novotel Porto Gaia(Vila Nova de Gaia)
$96
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villa Sandini Hotel & Spa(Vila Nova de Gaia)
$149
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$159
$151
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Park Hotel Porto Gaia(Vila Nova de Gaia)
$54
$52
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Gaia Porto Hostel(Vila Nova de Gaia)(Great Value!)
$94
$88
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Ibis Budget Vila Nova De Gaia(Vila Nova de Gaia)(Great Value!)
$41
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,978)
Filter reviews
1,978 results
Traveler rating
1,677
218
55
12
16
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,677
218
55
12
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsacross the riverdouro riverindoor pooloverlooking portoby the glasswine dinnerdick's barmichelin star restauranttasting menumajor portprivate terraceportuguese winetaylor's portcaviarcaudalie spasuperior roombeautiful hotel
Filter
Updating list...
889 - 894 of 1,978 reviews
Reviewed November 7, 2012 via mobile

Panoramic view from all the rooms and hotel teracces, Michelin star restaurant, 82-item wine list selection by glasses in the bar, indoor and outdoor swimming pools etc. it's unbelievable value for 250 euro / night....

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Slonik220v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GR_The_Yeatman, Guest Relations Manager at The Yeatman, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2012

Dear Slonik220v,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments about your recent experience in our Wine Hotel, and we would be pleased in welcoming you back to The Yeatman on your next visit to Porto.

Kind regards,

The Yeatman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Two years old hotel. Excellent facilities and top professional staff. Unique river and Porto view.

Wine lovers will love this hotel, as it is very focused in Port wine and Portuguese wine in general.

Very good food in Michelin starred restaurant. The wine list has more than 1500 wines!

Do not miss the SPA and the pool.

Two things I would change: they should have shutlles to take client to the city and back; they should not charge €16 for the parking of clients. For portuguese standards its is very, very expensive.

Not really the sort of hotel to take your kids with you.

Room Tip: River view as much as possible.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank msv19650916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GR_The_Yeatman, Guest Relations Manager at The Yeatman, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2012

Dear msv19650916,

Thank you for sharing your valuable feedback about your stay at The Yeatman.

Our team does our best to provide the comforts of home to our all guests, whether with us for business or a leisure break with their families. For the youngest guests we have a child minding service. The Kid’s Club at The Yeatman is an area devoted for the children to have fun during their stay in our Hotel.

We would be pleased in welcoming you back to The Yeatman on your next visit to Porto. I have taken good note of your very kind recommendations. Please let us know if we can be of any assistance prior to your visit.

Kind regards,

The Yeatman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

This is a review of the dining experience at the restaurant, no, we didn't stay at this hotel (and very glad we did not). The lunch we had was actually pretty good, but we were treated with no hospitality, or to the point with no respect!
We like to walk everywhere when we travel. So, we walked up to Yeatman and expected to have the most memorable lunch of our trip. The 4 of us were wearing our "comfortable" walking outfits, sneakers, jeans.. but in no way sloppy. When asking the front desk if the restaurant was open for lunch. We were asked if we have a reservation (we later found out only 2 tables were occupied) and was also "informed" there is a casual dress dress code for the restaurant, and he will need to "check" with the restaurant if there is lunch availability.
We then were left standing waiting in the lobby for 5 min. We should have walked out!
I can't imagine this is how a 5 star hotel treats its guests. We stayed in another 5 star hotel across the river in Porto and were never treated differently because what we wear.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Service
7  Thank Cindy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GR_The_Yeatman, Guest Relations Manager at The Yeatman, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2012

Dear Cindy T,

Thank you for taking the time to share your valuable feedback about your visit to The Restaurant at The Yeatman.

I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your meal during your stopover by our Hotel. I deeply regret the atmosphere during your request of a table by our Reception Desk; therefore, I would like to address our apology for the disappointment caused. Please be assured that we do our best to accommodate all the requests and to provide our best service at the highest standard. We look forward to a future opportunity to make you feel welcome so you could always take the best of your visit to all our facilities at The Yeatman. Please let us know if we can be of any assistance prior to your visit.

Kind regards,

The Yeatman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

We popped into The Yeatman for a cup of tea - and ended up having afternoon tea, a massage, a facial and a gastronomic meal. The full works!

We were staying across the river in Porto in a delightful B&B but had previously read about The Yeatman and were determined to take a look. So, on our final day in Porto, after a long walk in the morning, we caught the hop on hop off bus over to Gaia and walked down to The Yeatman.

It's not in the most salubrious of areas, well, the route we took to it wasn't....but once you're in the hotel environs, it's an absolute pleasure.

Despite being wet and somewhat bedraggled, the receptionist didn't bat an eyelid and we walked to the lounge where we ordered afternoon tea. For the first time in a week, we were given tea in the good old-fashioned English way. Cold milk, teapot, tea, beautiful crockery. For some reason, despite the Anglo-Portuguese relationship which has lasted well over 300 years, most places in Porto seem to serve tea with hot milk and have no idea what you're talking about when you ask for ordinary breakfast tea and everybody ends up getting totally confused. Luckily The Yeatman knew what we were after. Oh we Brits and our bloody tea!

Anyway, enough of tea!

The hotel is beautifully designed, fabulous interior decoration and, for a hotel, has one of the best city views I've ever seen. It's on the opposite side of the river to Porto and looks over the entire city. On a hot day, I'm sure it would be absolutely fantastic to drink a port cocktail on the terrace, watching the lights of the city slowly come on in the evening. Alas, it was raining while we were there so we missed this opportunity. To me, it's very much a summer hotel, very light, fresh decor and I suspect that during the grey winter months, it may well feel a little chilly, in both temperature and decor but I could be wrong.

Our afternoon tea was very pleasant, with plenty of little cakes and warm scones, with local tomato jam and other conserves. We then decided to treat ourselves further and booked a massage and facial respectively - to be followed by dinner.

The Caudalie Spa was a real treat although the treatments were a slightly more expensive than I would normally spend....approximately £105euros per treatment. From what I can gather, if you have a treatment, then you're entitled to use the spa facilities. Unfortunately we didn't have swimming costumes so we weren't able to make use of the gorgeous indoor pool - with yet another spectacular view of the city. The treatments, we both agreed, were fabulous, lovely heated beds, excellent therapists and clean and well-equipped changing rooms. The only thing they should change are the stools in the changing rooms - they're far too low and you can just about see the top of your head in the mirror!

After the treatments, we chilled out in the relaxation area and then, after getting dressed, moved back upstairs and sat in the library.

Dinner was an absolute sensation. You have to read the menu properly though. You can choose from a couple of tasting menus (well over 100euros) or choose 2 or 3 courses instead (approx 60+ euros) - which is what we chose but not what we ended up getting! Inbetween courses, we were offered little 'greetings', otherwise known as amuse bouches - and they were fantastic. There was far too much to describe to you but everything was beautifully presented and tasted absolutely amazing. Sea urchin, lobster, duck. You name it, we had it - frequently in an entirely unrecogniseable form - but all of it, a sensation. The waiters were very sweet and even though we were being relative cheapskates, were very kind and treated us beautifully. It did, at times, feel like you were eating in a library because they spoke very quietly which meant the guests were quiet too - but once the restaurant started to fill up, it started to get a bit of atmosphere and things improved. By the way, I'd forgotten my glasses so couldn't read the small print in the menu.....but this wasn't a problem, the head waiter presented me with....a pair of glasses! Now that's good service!

Finally after our gastronic experience, we rolled out of the hotel and into a taxi. I would have preferred to have walked off the meal but we weren't sure about the area, both in terms of distance and safety, so took the easy option instead.

All in all, it was a fab experience and I'm sure that if we'd stayed at the hotel, we would have enjoyed the entire experience. I guess the only thing against it is that it's not in Porto itself so you can't just pop out to the shops or down to The Ribeira by the river. It also looks like it's a fairly steep climb up to the hotel and I suspect that you'd have to get a taxi on a regular basis - but I could be wrong. I reckon it's a perfect 'retreat' hotel, somewhere to stay to relax entirely and enjoy the spa.

The other thing I would kill would be the 'muzak' - the usual 'lift' music that's added to rooms to add atmosphere. No need for it. Kill it please!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karen1050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GR_The_Yeatman, Guest Relations Manager at The Yeatman, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2012

Dear chaucer10,

We are delighted to read how a well-served Afternoon Tea at Dick’s Bar became the starting point for a memorable treating yourself day, passing by The Caudalie Vinothérapie® Spa at The Yeatman and closing with a gastronomic experience in The Restaurant.
It is also gratifying to read that our staff provides a warm atmosphere making you feel welcome.

We would be pleased in welcoming you back to The Yeatman on your next visit to Porto. Please let us know if we can be of any assistance prior to your visit.

Kind regards,

The Yeatman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

What a beautiful hotel this is. The rooms are superb, each with it's own terrace overlooking Porto just across the Douro river. Spacious, interestingly decorated, with excellent beds, enough light to read by and an outstanding bathroom with bath and shower, with a shutter opening up between the bedroom and bathroom, allowing a view of Porto, one felt immediately lapped in luxury. The rest of the hotel was also outstanding, the indoor pool must certainly merit a mention. An infinity pool with a curved side following the floor-to-ceiling windows, one could swim and enjoy the fabulous view. Those of our party who ate in the restaurant raved about their dinner. The breakfast was also excellent, with a very good buffet. And throughout the hotel, the service was superb. I cannot recommend this lovely hotel highly enough. Well done to all concerned.

Room Tip: I think all the rooms are equally wonderful.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Black_Doris36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GR_The_Yeatman, Guest Relations Manager at The Yeatman, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2012

Dear Black_Doris36,

Thank you for sharing your kind recommendation of The Yeatman.
We are delighted to read that you enjoyed the different facilities that we have available for our guests.
The rest of the team will be very pleased to hear your compliments since the quality of our service and guests’ satisfaction is of utmost importance to us.

We hope to welcome you back to The Yeatman again in the future.

Kind regards,

The Yeatman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews