We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beyond belief!”
Review of The Yeatman

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Yeatman
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Vila Nova de Gaia
Certificate of Excellence
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Beyond belief!”
Reviewed March 3, 2012

I'm here right now in room 015, sitting on a magnificent patio overlooking Oporto. It is thoroughly breathtaking! Our greeting was friendly and not the least bit snooty, but the hotel can live up to every and any standard. I can't imagine a better place on earth, honestly. The lobby boasts a 24 hour bar that has access to over 25,000 bottles of port! I made it through 8!!! The rooms are truly luxurious, but again, without attitude. The view from the patio is unbelievable, and a very short walk past every port winery you ever heard of to a historic city of breathtaking proportions. I know this sounds crazy, but I never review any place as high as this!!! Come to Oporto, and definitely stay here. This is heaven on earth!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alanglazen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,722 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,477
    181
    44
    9
    11
See reviews for
282
925
38
137
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Algarve, Portugal
Level 6 Contributor
459 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2012

Make no mistake - the Yeatman is a true 5 * hotel, not as others bearing the 5 * without deserving it, and is a deserving member of Relais & Chateaux.
New, well designed and decorated, with impeccable service.
All rooms have a balcony (a real balcony not a ridiculous thing to which some hotels call balcony), a large balcony with table and chairs to sit and lie down, and with a spectacular view of the river and the city of Porto. They are big, well furnished, based on the theme of wine, which runs throughout the hotel. The bathroom is spacious and has all requirements, with good brand Caudalie products.
It has great common areas like the bar open 24 hours a day, the Caudalie spa and a good restaurant that I revue separately because it deserves it. ( with one Michelin *)
The hotel is in Gaia, near the Port Wine Cellars.
Leave your car in the garage – you pay but it is safer.
The price is good for the quality of the room and the hotel (we paid 154 Euros without breakfast) but all other services, such as breakfast, bar, garage and restaurant are quite expensive.
We enjoy very much staying here and we recommend. If you want to visit Porto from a space of calm and luxury it is a great choice.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MEAFaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2012

Amazing location, overlooking the Douro and a short walk from the town centre. Friendly staff and wonderful facilities. Beautiful structure, very well kept.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dreamagent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2012

What a fantastic hotel! The views are outstanding, staff engaging & very helpful, and the food was exceptional! My wife & I loved our time here & would stay again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank csg3712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Landstuhl, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2012

Enjoyed our stay at this hotel. We were upgraded when we arrived at the hotel. Hotel staff were very friendly and helpful.. Our room had a wonderful view overlooking the douro river. The beds were comfortable and rooms were more than spacious. Their pool also had a wonderful view, beautiful at night. Didn't try the outdoor pool but the indoor pool was somewhat heated. There's a little pathway from the hotel in which you can walk down and it leads you to the front of the river. Walking back to the hotel can be a little tiresome because of the incline =) overall i really enjoyed this hotel and wouldn't mind coming back..

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joy704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lisbon
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2012

what a delightful place to stay. We stayed in the Bacchus Suite, and I can easily say that it has one of the most stunning views in the world. Overlooking the Douro river with a view of the old bridge, it is so romantic.
The food was very good and staff very helpful. I also really enjoyed the Spa. it is central and easy to find. we absolutely loved our room and our stay.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank miguelstanley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 31, 2012

My wife and I visited the Yeatman in January this year for a weekend break. From the moment we walked into the lobby we felt incredibly welcome and comfortable. The decor and layout of the lobby, bar and other communal areas were peaceful and sumptuous, the overall atmosphere was calm and sophisticated. The staff were friendly, smiling and courteous and made every effort to help us plan the time we had in Oporto.

The room we stayed in (and in fact every room in the hotel) has a breathtaking view across the river into the old town and was complete with a huge bed, massive bath and beautifully designed furniture. There was also a fantastic selection of reading material that inspired some of our outings.

The swimming pool also shares the amazing vista and the Spa and well-being area is one of the best we've ever visited. We felt so relaxed once we left.

The afternoon tea in Dick's bar is a must and the staff are all very knowledgeable about local wines and ports and will happily take the time to chat to you about the hotel and the city.

We didn't want to leave and can't wait to return. Although it's not the cheapest hotel you definitely get what you pay for.

Room Tip: Make sure you visit Taylor's port house, owned by the hotel owners and sample some free tasting...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dom H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vila Nova de Gaia
0.8 mi away
InterContinental Porto Palacio das Cardosas
0.4 mi away
Pestana Vintage Porto
2.1 mi away
Pestana Palacio do Freixo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
NH Collection Porto Batalha
2.4 mi away
Sheraton Porto Hotel & Spa
0.6 mi away
Porto A.S. 1829 Hotel
Porto A.S. 1829 Hotel
#7 of 106 in Porto
535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Yeatman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Yeatman

Property: The Yeatman
Address: Rua de Choupelo, Vila Nova de Gaia 4400-088, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Vila Nova de Gaia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Vila Nova de Gaia
#1 Luxury Hotel in Vila Nova de Gaia
#1 Spa Hotel in Vila Nova de Gaia
#1 Business Hotel in Vila Nova de Gaia
#1 Romantic Hotel in Vila Nova de Gaia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Yeatman 5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Yeatman is a luxury wine Hotel and Spa in Porto, Portugal, set amidst the Port wine lodges in the beautiful historic district of Vila Nova de Gaia. The Yeatman nestles on a hill, with panoramic views overlooking Porto and the River Douro. The Yeatman's 82 spacious bedrooms (4 Master Suites, 8 Suites and 70 bedrooms) all face the view of Porto and the river offering a high level of comfort and a private, spacious terrace. The Michelin star restaurant provides a creative fine dining experience where local ingredients are privileged and presented with contemporary flair. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Yeatman reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Yeatman Hotel Vila Nova De Gaia
The Yeatman Portugal/Vila Nova De Gaia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing