We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“what an amazing place and hosts”
Review of Roses Village

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Roses Village
Dublin
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“what an amazing place and hosts”
Reviewed June 28, 2013

My wife and I booked in for ten nights with our two children, aged 7 and 4 and were really unsure as what to expect...on arrival we were so delighted firstly with the accomadation: OMG the Noble room is amazing! Also our hosts, Carolina and Paulo met us with a glass of port on the poolside!!! and the welcome was being welcomed home rather than to accomadation! From the very first day Carolina was great she offered us other rooms as she said that the Noble room could be noisy with trains and to be honest yes there were trains but nothing that would affect your sleep! So we stayed in the room as it was so amazing......
The house is amazing we had other guests in the house for two nights from US: what a great time we all had together it all felt like a family....the area that the guests have is large, romantic and atmospheric with lots of seating areas and of course the POOL(salt water great for the skin and children)..thank God for that it helped exhaust the kids.
The hosts could not have been better as i said it was like visiting family....Carolina added a feeling of being looked after with her coffee strong in the mornings outside and we would wile away the morning talking and chatting...the obvious link was our Irish heritage....Paulo was such an amazing font of local knowledge and information. The piece de resistance was both escorted us into porto for St Johns celebrations and we had an amazing time with them, and their son, Renato...Of course there was Franciscia,Carolina has rased an amazing girl who got up when we came home at 1:30am from st johns celebrations because our kids wanted to see her and also to watch them put up paper lanterns....thanks for such a special memory guys
Location is great the Cafe does the most amazing pasteries near the firestation...Mr Rabbits does great portuguese chicken which is next door...also the rain station is 1 min from the house and brings u direct to Porto to San Benito station....it is an amazing city...my wife preferred it to Venice...the beach is beautiful but seas were rough but still fab walks..the church at mirimar is etheral...go to Elas Bar near the aquarium which is worth the visit with the children. There is a nice beach bar on the way to Mirimar which is lovely as are all the bars/cafes at Mirimar....
Carolina and her family made this trip for us a total dream...any reluctance we had dissipated on sight of her home and her welcome and her kindness. Roses Village is a very special place that feeds your soul and mind...we will be back for the laughs, coffees, chats and glasses of port!! XXXX

Room Tip: The train noise is there but honestly you wont notice it and Carolina was so worried for us she boug...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DrD247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    0
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
5
5
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

This familyhouse -with a ancien soul- is a great place to stay when you want to explore the northern region of Portugal. You can easily visit cities like Guimaraes, Porto and Braga by train.

The rooms are very comfortable, big, clean. The authentic breakfast is served with a great smile for a reasonable price..
You can eat very good in the nearest restaurants for a small price. You can discover the area by walking, hiking, swimming or running or you can just lay down, relax and enjoy the beautiful environment..

You wouldn't regret it!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lore D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

We had a great experience at Roses Village. The owner takes great effort to ensure that it is a pleasant experience. The rooms are nice and clean. The breakfast is fresh and served when you request. The owners were very helpful and made us feel comfortable and we had plenty of privacy. The salt water swimming pool is wonderful. The beach is very close and there are many good restraunts close by.

This is a little bit outside of the city but it didn't pose any problems with the tours that we booked. The taxi's are inexpensive and well worth the private and peaceful atmosphere.

Room Tip: All of the rooms were nice and on the same floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fred W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2012

My husband and I booked 4 nights at Roses Village in the Noble Suite for us and our 3 sons. The Suite was more than spacious for all 5 of us and the smaller beds for the boys were incredibly comfortable (not army cots).

The location of the B&B is ideal. You are steps from a train that will take you into downtown Porto for 2 euros and you are less than 300 meters from a long, wide, beautiful beach. The nearby restaurants are all tasty and welcoming to visitors. They all accomodated our unique needs and made us feel welcome.

Carolina and Paulo were terrific hosts and made us feel very welcome.

We enjoyed our 4 nights so much that we booked an additional 2 nights later in our trip so that we could come back.

Like some people have commented, the train is a bit noisy. But - you don't feel like you are next to a train station. The area is so beautiful and clean that the advantage of the closeby train station (quick access to Porto) outweighed the disadvantage of hearing a bell for a few minutes.

We will definitely be returning!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ott4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2012

The house is wonderful with à nice salt Water pool. It is close to the sea and Very easy to get in to Porto with the train.
Very nice places to eat in the village. Wonderful pathway to Walk by the sea. Ow ner of the house is lovely.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TittiRadle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 18, 2012

Roses Village Mansion in Aguda near Porto is a wonderful place to stay at ! Familiar, warm and friendly atmosphere, beautiful designed rooms, a lovely garden with a luxury mosaic pool to relax in made our stay very enjoyable ! We will with plaesure come back ! Maria from Sweden

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maria P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2012

My wife and I stayed for three days at the end of Sept 2011. We had initially planned for only 2 days but the warm and friendly reception by Carolina and Paulo and the great accommodations had us stay over for another day. During our 18 day trip to Portugal & Spain, we felt most at home here. The location is ideal for visiting the Porto area and the hostess and accommodations are next to impossible to beat. Friendly and very helpful, we felt like a member of the family. I have no hesitation in recommending the Roses Village Bed & Breakfast as THE place to stay in the Porto area.
Carson Payne

Room Tip: Ocean side rooms are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank cabotcraft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vila Nova de Gaia
1.5 mi away
Hotel Solverde Spa & Wellness Center
Hotel Solverde Spa & Wellness Ce...
#7 of 14 in Vila Nova de Gaia
458 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel PraiaGolfe
Hotel PraiaGolfe
#2 of 2 in Espinho
260 reviews
5.7 mi away
Golden Tulip Porto Gaia Hotel and Spa
Golden Tulip Porto Gaia Hotel an...
#12 of 14 in Vila Nova de Gaia
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
The Yeatman
The Yeatman
#1 of 14 in Vila Nova de Gaia
1,699 reviews
6.5 mi away
Novotel Porto Gaia
Novotel Porto Gaia
#3 of 14 in Vila Nova de Gaia
1,020 reviews
6.6 mi away
Ibis Porto Gaia
Ibis Porto Gaia
#5 of 14 in Vila Nova de Gaia
641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roses Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roses Village

Property: Roses Village
Address: | Aguda, Vila Nova de Gaia 4410-342, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Vila Nova de Gaia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Vila Nova de Gaia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Roses Village 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ROSES VILLAGE - Holidays in an ancient Mansion Roses Village is a centenary family house in the Metropolitan area of Oporto, in the beach of Aguda, 200 mts from the Golf Club of Miramar and 13 Km from the historical centre of Porto, with a total capacity of 10 + 4 people and it works as a B&B (from september to April) or in Private House regime(all year). Our rooms are big and sunny, with high ceilings and wood floor. The two complete bathrooms are comfortable and modern and has it are out of the rooms it's provided wardrobes and shoes slippers to all guests (B&B regime. Kitchen: We have available a simple kitchen with electric oven, dishwasher, cooking utensils, dishes, plates and cutlery. micro-wave, a fridge, a coffee machine, and electric kettle. It's also easy to order traditional Portuguese food from some restaurants in the area. The half part of the house for the clients (that you can see in the photos) it's completely independent from the owners house and you will have completely privacy on house, the pool and garden. Roses Village has a beautiful garden with roses and it´s a place where you can relax, enjoy the salt water pool, go to the beach or have a nice walk through the 15 Km pedestrian road on the beach. The weather is temperate and sunny. By train, in 15 minutes you arrive to the historical centre of Porto. We have special tourist programs for tours, traditional dinner's or to travel to Douro Valley, the Port wine region. Near Roses Village you have: Praia da Aguda - a small fisherman village, and other several beaches, Golf, Casino, Horse Riding, Swimming pool, Surf, Fishing, The Oporto Wines Cellars,and much more.. We hope to see you soon! Type of Rooms: Noble Room - 1 Bedroom(s) Suite 4 people - 40 m2 / 430 sqft, 1 King Size bed, 2 single bed(s), 1 double extra bed, Bathrobes+sleepers, Table and sofas, Fan, Heating, Wifi, Balcony ,Child's bed on request, View of Garden Front, side, view of the pool. Orange, Green and Roses rooms - 2 people - 20m2 - 15m2 / 215 sqft, 1 double bed(s), Bathrobe, Fan, Heating, Wifi , View of Garden, cot or child bed on request Bathrooms: 2 complete Bathrooms, with showers, out of the rooms. Note 2: We prefer groups with family ambiance. Activities: We have assembled a specialized group of teachers from Surfing, Painting, Golf and Horse Riding for your stay. Contact us for more information. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Roses Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roses Village Portugal/Vila Nova De Gaia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing