We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Living In a building site”
Review of Quinta de la Rosa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Quinta de la Rosa
Ranked #1 of 2 Pinhao B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Living In a building site”
Reviewed May 20, 2012

Stayed 3 nights. They are extending the building at present and workman arrive at 7.30 and start banging away so gets noisy and completely changes the peaceful serenity of the location. Stairs to the pool have not been completed and are mildly dangerous. However pool is lovely with a beautiful view over the river and terraced hills around. Bed was hard and I needed to use an extra Donna to sleep on top of to soften and keep me warm.
Will be lovely when the building works are complete. We booked 6 months ago and were told the works may still be underway so it's a slow build. Don't stay here till works are completed.

Room Tip: Get the room with the little balcony featured in the you tube clip, though I'm told the bed is s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nooneelsehasthisname
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
quintadelarosa, Owner at Quinta de la Rosa, responded to this review, June 19, 2012
The building works around the tourism had run over when this review was written now this has all been finished and we have three wonderful new suites all with great views of the river. We are still rebuilding some of the winery but this is away from the tourism and has not given any problems to recent guests who have stayed. I will look into the mattress. Some people like harder mattresses...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    247
    80
    37
    12
    1
See reviews for
43
233
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Villafranca in Lunigiana, Italy
Level Contributor
46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2012

I found this beautiful Quinta on the internet because I was after a stay in a Porto cellar and I think I made the right choice!
I heard of the beautiful landscape of the Douro Valley from some friends who travelled in Portugal just a year before and they recommended us a luxury Quinta where they staid.
Fortunately it was a bit to expensive for us and we didn't go. When we came back and showed them our pics they were very disappointed to know that they spent so much to be in a far place from the centre of Pinhao and with no special extra service than what we had.
Quinta de la Rosa is indeed on the River with stunning views on the vineyards but a short drive from Pinhao where all restaurants are. (Read the hotel suggestions you find in your room because the restaurant they suggested was the best meal we had in 1 week holiday around all Portugal!)
We had a lovely swim in the pool and a nice breakfast (help yourself, there is nobody around) on the terrace.
I must say that when we arrived the place was a bit "abandoned" but we guessed it was because of the wine season (October) so they were all working in the vineyards.
The room was lovely overlooking the river and the visit of the cellar very interesting with abondant tasting.
The 30 minutes drive along River Douro to get there is already a good reason to go!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simo4Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2012

We stayed at the Quinta for one night in mid-October. Everything was perfect. The woman who was staffing was very accommodating and helpful. We spent the afternoon on the terrace enjoying some late season temperate weather. It was not warm enough for the pool. It was cool for dinner. But we ate on the terrace wearing light jackets. We had come for the dinner experience and were not disappointed. The the help of 3 other couples we amply sampled the Quinta wines including an entire bottle of ruby port. Our room was in the upper part of the Quinta where I think there are 3 guest rooms. Ours was spacious, clean and comfortable. There was bottled water in the room. The next morning we had a tour of the wine/port making facilities followed by a tasting.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank triangletraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corvallis, Oregon
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2011

Overlooking the Douro River near Pinhao, this quinta is very cozy and comfortable. The water in the outdoor pool was too cold for us in October, but other guests were hardier and enjoyed it. We did enjoy a walk among the terraces grape vines. The dinner was delicious, the terrace a lovely place to dine and of course the Port was outstanding. Don't miss the tour and tasting.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mseldridge23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sundsvall, Sweden
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2011

We stayed here for four nights september 2010 and three nights september 2011. At both visits we had fairly large rooms in the family house with a terrace and views over the river.

We really enjoy staying at the Quinta de la Rosa. The people, the setting, the views, the breakfast terrace overlooking the river, the smell of fermenting grape juice in the morning. Everything is as we want it to be.

The reception and service has been close to perfect. The Bergqvist family, Alija (Tourism manager) and all their staff has made both our stays very memorable.

We have, during our visits att various Quintas in the valley, been offered other accomodatons but when (not if) we go back to the Douro we will definitely stay at Quinta de la Rosa.

The location, only 15 minutes walk from the restaurants in Pinhao, is for us optimal.

If you are taller than 180 cm, ask Alija or Sophia to verify the length of the beds. At our first visit our bed (in the Dona Sophia room) were 170 cm long and since I am 185 it was a bit cramped... The bed in the Dona Clara suite at our second visit was abslutely perfect (as were the rest of the suite).

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gunnar L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed December 18, 2011

Stunning views from the terrace and the wonderful pool, great food, very relaxing atmosphere. Rooms are clean and nice.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elineee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2011

We stayed at the Quinta de la Rosa for one night in September and it was without a doubt the most amazing location we stayed at throughout our holidays.

You're left in no doubt that this is the heart of port wine country, so if you have an interest in the production of port - and an interest in doing a few tastings - you have come to the right place.

The Quinta is set on the steep slopes of the vineyards, on the banks of the Douro and has the most amazing views. Accommodation in one of the double rooms was comfortable and entirely adequate. The rooms have all you need for the night and the breakfast buffet (not extraordinary, but tasty) is served on a terrace (or in cold weather a breakfast room) with - again - the most amazing views.

The same room/terrace are also open for guests during the day and in the evenings - a good place to enjoy a nightcap from the honesty bar.

All the staff we were in touch with were very nice and helpful and always available for a little chat. The highlight of the visit was the tour of the winery, given by the owner herself, and the subsequent tasting. (Admittedly, we were lucky because ended up in a group that was given a rather more detailed tour - and tasting. I don’t think they do such an extensive tasting all the time.)

We stayed in the middle of the harvesting season and therefore got to see the winery in full flight – bustling with activity at every moment of the day. Guests were even invited (if they felt like it) to partake in the traditional treading of the grapes for this year's port – a method still used by many producers for their top range wines.

This in itself was fun, but we were very impressed how readily available and approachable everyone was, even in this hectic season.

All together, we had a lovely stay at the Quinta - an experience most reviewers here seem to share. I cannot understand the complaints of some fellow reviewers about stairs they have to negotiate and about tired rooms. Yes, the furniture in the rooms is not brand new. Some it it is antique, some of it is local traditional furniture - in keeping with the style of the Quinta itself. If I go somewhere, this is what I want to see - not the bog-standard (but new) modern business hotel rooms you can find all over the world. Secondly (and more importantly), as the Quinta's website states very clearly, it is a working agricultural farm offering some B&B in an old house built in the traditional style. It is not a hotel. Therefore, I do not expect hotel-like accommodation with a porter service and lifts, but an original, warm and personal welcome and an opportunity to see what the place I visit it really like.

For this, Quinta de la Rosa can only get full marks from me.

One or two tips for people visiting the area: do a tour of Quinta de la Rosa and try their wines, do a tour of the vineyard at nearby Fonseca (and do a posh tasting, even if you have to pay), drive up to the Miradouro de Casal de Loivos in the evening sunshine, do a 2 hour boat trip on the Douro, and above all, enjoy the lovely countryside!

Room Tip: All rooms have great views, but some come with their own balcony. I didn't feel this was necessa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank eurofrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pinhao
0.7 mi away
The Vintage House Douro
1.7 mi away
Quinta do Pego
Quinta do Pego
#1 of 1 in Valenca Do Douro
265 reviews
0.9 mi away
LBV House Hotel
LBV House Hotel
#4 of 4 in Pinhao
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.2 mi away
Vila Gale Douro
Vila Gale Douro
#1 of 6 in Lamego
205 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hotel Quinta do Silval
3.1 mi away
Quinta de Santo Antonio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quinta de la Rosa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quinta de la Rosa

Property: Quinta de la Rosa
Address: Pinhao 5085-215, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Vila Real District > Pinhao
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Pinhao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Quinta de la Rosa 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Quinta de la Rosa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quinta De La Rosa Hotel Pinhao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing