We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Views, Wonderful Service, Relaxing Stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Vintage House Douro

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Vintage House Douro
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Pinhao
Certificate of Excellence
Khartoum, Sudan
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great Views, Wonderful Service, Relaxing Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2014

After a long journey from Lisbon we were warmly welcomed by the staff and offered a delicious glass of port (inexpensive and can be bought in the Wine Shop).

Upon arriving to our rooms we noticed the considerable size of the bed, great for the two of us and our 2 year-old, and the spectacular views over the Douro river and surrounding vineyards from our balcony.

A great size bath tub which was fantastic for our little one who loved splashing about in it a lot!

The breakfast was delicious, with a wide variety of goodies and fresh fruit juice. We did not try the Hotel restaurant due to the prices being too much for us.

The service during our stay was of an excellent standard and we always found all hotel staff to be positive, polite and helpful.

Just a suggestion - bring your own corkscrew!

Room Tip: Try and get either on the 1st or 2nd level so that you have a view from your balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank donovanhallnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

707 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    447
    182
    58
    15
    5
See reviews for
134
384
10
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2014

Arriving by train was a cinch..the hotel has its own entrance adjacent to the station. We were a bit confused when challenged by an exotic spiral staircase considering luggage, so I guarded the goods while my partner found the reception. In moments, a delightful young man appeared and informed me that the luggage would be delivered to our room and to go down to the reception area (there is a video camera to capture guests who arrive in this manner). We were given a glass of Port and escorted to the river veranda to wait while the very efficient (and extremely handsome) Gabriel sorted out our reservation as the hotel was full due to a seasonal festival.
The room was above expectations, although every room seems to face the river. Tantamount to all else, I grade beds and these were far above acceptable. I have stayed at far more expensive hotels and give the Vintage an applaud. Room service was at the door before I hung up the phone. The restaurant was inviting and the menu very good. Try it…you will like it.

Room Tip: All rooms have balconies/terraces. The rooms in the main building are pushing opulent with suede dra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nzuzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sparwood, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2014 via mobile

This hotel has a great view of the Douro River, incredible grounds, friendly staff and soft beds. The rooms are large and have a full bathroom including a tub. We spent a day by the pool and had great service there too. I didn't try the restaurant in the hotel but wish I would have as I had a bad experience at another restaurant in town. This is a steal for the price! I would recommend you make your Douro stay here! Don't miss out.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Robyn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2014

After staying at a hotel that was barely a 3 star, getting to this plush 5 star was an oasis. A glass of port was served as we arrived. The staff was great. The beds were outstanding. The breakfast was really really good, not just baked goods, but eggs, sausage, bacon, fruit, cheese, sparkling wine, various fresh juices.

Room Tip: Restaurant is a little pricey and limited in options, there are some solid restaurants by the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2014 via mobile

Our room had a fabulous view. We could see the grapes, watch the activity on the river and my husband watched the football all at the same time! There is not much to see in the one street but I could see new shops being fitted out in response to the large river cruise boats that stop there overnight. The bed was huge and exceptionally comfortable but the arm chairs need replacing. It was like a step back into old style British which was interesting. We did venture into the restaurant and I thought it was very expensive for what we had. A duck risotto and some veal for mains was not 5 star. The white Gavais wine was exceptional but they bamboozled us by serving bread which was dry and then saying it included a sparkling white. By bringing it in bits they take advantage of your not wanting to appear stupid but you should be given the chance to say no. We did a river cruise and a wine tasting both OK. The WiFi is intermittent but you just need to restart it.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Gerri S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelspruit, South Africa
Level Contributor
281 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2014 via mobile

Stunning hotel in a quaint town. Perfect overnight stop after a full day river cruise. Rooms are beautiful and luxurious. Only complaint was the after dinner bar service. 1 waiter trying to serve cognacs to 10 people. We eventually gave up and went to bed.
Overall, highly recommended !

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank 492ricardop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loveland, Colorado
Level Contributor
53 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2014

Just a few meters from the Duoro River, this hotel is first class all the way. The room we had had a balcony facing the river/valley--absolutely spectacular. Pillow top mattresses were very comfortable. Free oranges n the hallway. Buffet breakfast was very good--although perhaps not excellent. While we didn't use the pool; others did in our group and seemed to enjoy it. Pinhao is a very small town--so any location is "good". My one criticism of this place is that our group dinner in the restaurant was pretty average--especially for what might be considered a 5 star hotel. Overall-- clearly a safe bet for a hotel, although you might eat dinner elsewhere.

Room Tip: Make sure to get a room facing the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IMDigger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pinhao
2.4 mi away
Quinta do Pego
Quinta do Pego
#1 of 1 in Valenca Do Douro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
0.2 mi away
LBV House Hotel
LBV House Hotel
#4 of 4 in Pinhao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
3.8 mi away
Casa das Pipas
Casa das Pipas
#1 of 2 in Sabrosa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.8 mi away
Vila Gale Douro
Vila Gale Douro
#1 of 6 in Lamego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
24.8 mi away
Douro Palace Hotel Resort & Spa
Douro Palace Hotel Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Santa Cruz do Douro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
0.7 mi away
Quinta de la Rosa
Quinta de la Rosa
#1 of 2 in Pinhao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Vintage House Douro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Vintage House Douro

Property: The Vintage House Douro
Address: Rua Antonio Manuel Saraiva, Pinhao 5085-034, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Vila Real District > Pinhao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Pinhao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Vintage House Douro 5*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the Heart of Douro Valley's Demarcated Wine Region, considered World Heritage by UNESCO, you will find the The Vintage House - Douro, a 5 star luxury hotel overlooking the Douro river. In fact, when you get there you won't believe how close to the water it actually is. Once in your room, your first instinct will be to walk to the balcony to take in the unique landscape before you, already thinking how wonderful it will be to have lunch in the restaurant esplanade, making the best of the view. At night, after a meal in the award-winning "Rabelo" Restaurant, chat the night away with your friends in the "Library Bar", sipping a nice Port Wine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your The Vintage House Douro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cs Vintage Hotel
Cs Vintage Pinhao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing