We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely Delightful hotel in a fantastic location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Vintage House Douro

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Vintage House Douro
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Pinhao
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Absolutely Delightful hotel in a fantastic location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights in July after a wonderful 3 nights on Oporto. This hotel, with great food and service and the most perfect of locations was an absolute joy. Easy going, informal and relaxed. The hotel is located on the banks of the Douro river and was perfect for enjoying a walk and a cruise up the Douro valley. The CS Vintage is one of those hotels you wish you had booked in for a longer stay or earmark it for a return visit.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rayawilk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

707 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    447
    182
    58
    15
    5
See reviews for
134
384
10
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
58 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

The hotel has a fantastic location just by river, the building is beautiful as all the surrounding scenery.
On top of the great infrastructure, the hotel's staff was great, they couldn't be more helpful with everything! The breakfast was very good, quality and diversity.
We were really happy with our choice, we will definitely go back - great value for money!

Room Tip: Ask for a river front room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WVSJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

CS Vintage House hotel is a tremendous old fashioned hotel on the bend of the Douro river in Pinhao. The hotel is a charming old fashioned agglomeration of several old port houses resulting in a quite long walk from one end to the other.
The standard double room was spacious enough and although plain perfectly comfortable with a balcony and stuning view of the vine encrusted hills of the opposite bank of the Douro river.
The hotel is located in Pinhao convenient for the train station, restaurant and the small number of shops.
Service at reception was good, with good English spoken by mostly keen and always attentive staff. Service in the lovely wood and stone structured bar/lounge could be a little slow at times.
Breakfast was a good selection of fresh ingredients indoors or on the balcony.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oedwards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

First thing I would like to say about this hotel where we stayed with my husband for 3 nights in Pinhao is that it's really well located in the heart of Douro making it easy to travel around sightseeing the countryside. The building and the gardens are really nice, our bedroom was very comfortable and with enough storage space, including the bathroom. Room had small balcony overlooking Douro river and vineyards. The bathroom had a good size, it was clean, had bath robes, nice quality soap and shampoo. The room service was fast and generally the hotel staff was professional and eager to help us out with any questions. In my opinion this hotel is really something to consider if you're planning to visit the Douro region.

However there are some things I would like to point:
1- the bedroom doesn’t have enough lights. Even with the bed side lamps turned on its a bit dark. If you drop something on the floor or if you're looking for something inside your bag it can be hard during the night.
2- somehow the bedroom cleaning service was arriving really late - even if we left the card asking for it at the door after we left for breakfast at 9.00am - it happened when we returned to the hotel around 2pm room was not clean yet, we still had the wet towels from the morning shower there.
3- the hotel has a pool located on the west side of the beautiful gardens. The pool isn't big but it has a reasonable size (around 12x6 m). To be at the pool could be really pleasant but:
3.1- the pool towel service is really bad. Most of the time there is no one there to give you the towels, you need to walk back to the reception in order to let them know you're needing towels.
3.2- again if you're needing a drink or some snack you need to wait ages until someone arrives. When the girl arrives she stays there 2 minutes and then she goes away again.
3.4- there's a sign at one of the pool's entrances alerting guests its not allowed to dive. Even so several guests (with kids) were doing it not really caring. The kids were shouting and running like crazy not respecting anyone, jumping and diving and spalshing water all the time making it really noisy. We alerted the girl taking care of the pool and her answer was "there’s nothing I can do because even if i say something they don’t care". Well... I believe an hotel like this one should have a pool for kids separated from the adults. To stay at the pool could have been a terrific experience, enjoying the amazing views over the river and the gardens but instead it turned to be a nightmare. If you're looking for some peaceful moments to read a book and swim a bit just forget it (or at least go there on early hours when there are less people).

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the river have spectacular view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IlzeMarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portugal
Level Contributor
56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is worthy to spend at least one night. The only thing making it a 5 stars and excellent rating review are the facilities. The rest is really to far from 5 stars:
- Almost no amenities. You must ask in the reception for more such as comb, cotton, slippers, etc.
- no bath robe available
- one shampoo and one bath gel
- swimming pool lady only around sometimes. We had to walk to reception to ask for towels because she disappeared. This happened more times during our stay. In the morning no one showed up until 11:00, so again we had to walk back to reception to ask for towels.
- expect plenty of flies around swimming pool as it is just in front of the river.
- non laundry bag in the room
- I told the receptionist I had some bags. In the absence of answer, I took them myself from my car. Then I told them to send someone to take the remaining bags. In a 5 stars hotel, it is compulsory to have such kind of service without needing to ask for it.
- breakfast is good, well presented, good variety.
- bar and breakfast staff at the only ones I can rate 5 star. The reception staff, fat from that

The restaurant is too expensive, I recommend going to VelaDouro just 3 minutes walk away on the river side or LBV at same distance. Also DOC is 15 minutes away by car and same price.

I suggest staying here one night or two, then move to LBV House Hotel!

If you found this review helpful, please vote below. Thanks

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SEMIDEUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edegem, Belgium
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

Absolute superb place to stay. We drove directly from Porto to Pinhao and immediately experienced the holiday feeling. Our room gave immediate access to the terras nearby the pool, which creates a great feeling of freedom. We also tried the lunch and that was exceptionally tasteful too.

Room Tip: If you arrive at night.... the hotel is located immediately after the bridge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Francois R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheering, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

Stayed here for 3 days on a car tour with 11 other cars .our room overlooked the garden and the Douro and had a small balcony.The room was beautifully equiped large comfortable double bed.there is a swimming pool with service at the pool we ate outside one night on the terrace food was delicious with excellent service.cannot praise this hotel enough,the outstanding feature was the staff who did everything possible to make your stay enjoyable

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pinhao
2.4 mi away
Quinta do Pego
Quinta do Pego
#1 of 1 in Valenca Do Douro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
0.2 mi away
LBV House Hotel
LBV House Hotel
#4 of 4 in Pinhao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
3.8 mi away
Casa das Pipas
Casa das Pipas
#1 of 2 in Sabrosa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.8 mi away
Vila Gale Douro
Vila Gale Douro
#1 of 6 in Lamego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
24.8 mi away
Douro Palace Hotel Resort & Spa
Douro Palace Hotel Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Santa Cruz do Douro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
0.7 mi away
Quinta de la Rosa
Quinta de la Rosa
#1 of 2 in Pinhao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Vintage House Douro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Vintage House Douro

Property: The Vintage House Douro
Address: Rua Antonio Manuel Saraiva, Pinhao 5085-034, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Vila Real District > Pinhao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Pinhao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Vintage House Douro 5*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the Heart of Douro Valley's Demarcated Wine Region, considered World Heritage by UNESCO, you will find the The Vintage House - Douro, a 5 star luxury hotel overlooking the Douro river. In fact, when you get there you won't believe how close to the water it actually is. Once in your room, your first instinct will be to walk to the balcony to take in the unique landscape before you, already thinking how wonderful it will be to have lunch in the restaurant esplanade, making the best of the view. At night, after a meal in the award-winning "Rabelo" Restaurant, chat the night away with your friends in the "Library Bar", sipping a nice Port Wine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Vintage House Douro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cs Vintage Hotel
Cs Vintage Pinhao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing