We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasant stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Vintage House Douro
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Pinhao
Certificate of Excellence
Lisbon, Portugal
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Very pleasant stay”
Reviewed May 1, 2013

We stayed 3 nights as a family with 2 connected rooms. Lovely base to visit the region. Rooms were cosy with each balcony overlooking the river. Staff is very friendly and helpful. The weather did not allow us to use the pool and tennis court. Direct access to the station through spiral staircase is both handy and fun.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank antoine c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

787 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    506
    195
    66
    15
    5
See reviews for
152
431
12
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 30, 2013

The CS Vintage House is an elegant, comfortable and friendly place to stay and well situated for exploring the Douro Valley by car, train or walking. The fact Pinhao itself is not a tourist mecca, at least in April, added greatly to its appeal for us.

Room Tip: Get a room with a balcony overlooking the river. A great place for a glass or port before/after dinn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level 6 Contributor
207 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Pinhao is a very lovely place in the Douro river. The hotel has a prime-location (river waterfront) and completely deserves the 5 star rating.
Is is an old wharehouse that has been transformed into a hotel, with a very classical decoration.
Clearly the hotel for a romantic getaway, not so for family holidays with kids.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TudelaMartins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
178 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Very quiet in March (though apparently quite busy in peak season). This hotel is wonderful. Lovely rooms, nice convenient location (well, once you get to Pinhao), great staff, wonderful restaurant. We just stayed one night and wished we had more time to stay and enjoy it.

Room Tip: Definitely get a room on the river side! Beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Balfour S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vila Nova de Milfontes
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is excellent and to be recommended, the staff are helpful to the extreme and the rooms are comfortable, they all have views over the river. We stayed 4 nights and enjoyed our stay, however our Friends, the Portuguese, do themselves no favours with the state of the town. Pinhao is a perfect place for seeing much of the region and the Vintage House Hotel is an excellent place to stay. However the town could be a gold mine for the locals if they bothered to take care of it. There are buildings just collapsing before your eyes and buildings that would look so much better with a lick of paint and restaurants which need to wake up to meals at other times than the rigid slots of lunch and dinner, some people like to eat dinner before 19.30 for example. The Douro is an outstanding river and with wonderful scenery but, please, some of the wine companies need to do something about the state of their Quintas and other buildings. Portugal is in need of help and financial support so why do they still build fantastic and expensive motorways (A4 for example near Vila Real). Spend that money on the local area and get the money to the people. People do more, you have a fantastic resource make the most of it!

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank caprontee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013

We had some trouble on our trip to Pinhao. Our car broke down, the weather was absolutely atrocious, and were were basically stranded. Thank god we were staying at the Vintage House. First of all, they really helped us. We were having trouble and we really needed help, and they were there for us, which was touching and truly invaluable. Second, the hotel is beautiful, the food is great, there is a huge, elegant game room with a pool table and wing-back leather chairs and a roaring fire. They have a beautiful wine shop and a few special handicrafts (fliligree) for sale, so we had the feeling that we enjoyed ourselves in spite of really difficult circumstances. The whole staff really deserves recognition for flawless service, under duress. We are grateful.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NatMcN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tralee, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2013

My wife and I stayed in this hotel in September. I left a jacket in the wardrobe in room 003. I rang the hotel about 1 hour after I had departed indicating exactly where I had left the jacket.The hotel rang back and confirmed they had my jacket (describing it in detail) and would post it on to me in Ireland. When the jacket did not arrive I rang the hotel only to be told they never found the jacket.
The manageress (Paula Maques) was dismissive and arrogant when confronted with the facts. I have complained the hotel and the Manageress to the Portuguese Embassy in Ireland and I indend complaining to the Tourist Office in Oporto. Horrible people just horrible.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pat w w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pinhao
0.3 mi away
LBV House Hotel
LBV House Hotel
#4 of 4 in Pinhao
141 reviews
2.4 mi away
Quinta do Pego
Quinta do Pego
#1 of 1 in Valenca Do Douro
275 reviews
12.8 mi away
Vila Gale Douro
Vila Gale Douro
#1 of 6 in Lamego
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Casa das Pipas
Casa das Pipas
#1 of 2 in Sabrosa
114 reviews
6.6 mi away
Hotel Casa do Tua
Hotel Casa do Tua
#1 of 1 in Foz Tua
33 reviews
14.3 mi away
Six Senses Douro Valley
Six Senses Douro Valley
#1 of 1 in Samodaes
547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Vintage House Douro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Vintage House Douro

Property: The Vintage House Douro
Address: Rua Antonio Manuel Saraiva, Pinhao 5085-034, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Vila Real District > Pinhao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Pinhao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Vintage House Douro 5*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the Heart of Douro Valley's Demarcated Wine Region, considered World Heritage by UNESCO, you will find the The Vintage House - Douro, a 5 star luxury hotel overlooking the Douro river. In fact, when you get there you won't believe how close to the water it actually is. Once in your room, your first instinct will be to walk to the balcony to take in the unique landscape before you, already thinking how wonderful it will be to have lunch in the restaurant esplanade, making the best of the view. At night, after a meal in the award-winning "Rabelo" Restaurant, chat the night away with your friends in the "Library Bar", sipping a nice Port Wine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Vintage House Douro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cs Vintage Hotel
Cs Vintage Pinhao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing