We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fairy tale place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Vintage House Douro
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Pinhao
Certificate of Excellence
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
62 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Fairy tale place”
Reviewed June 7, 2012

My husband and I spent one night here. The hotel is beautiful, quaint and furnished with antiques. You really feel pampered. The views from all rooms are amazing. There is a good pool, and tennis court, but no gym. The menu is limited but serves a items that are local and international...pasta. It is expensive but worth it if you want to get away from the busy city and indulge for a couple of days. Pinhao is a small town, not much to see or do, but has a very relaxed laid back feeling. The train station is right behind the hotel. To enter the hotel walk along the train tracks and cross to the White wall, there is a small metal gate through which u can enter onto the back of the hotel. Staff are friendly, rooms are luxurious, the views, most rooms have balconies are amazing. It's not cheap, but we were happy we had splashed out for a night before returning to porto

Room Tip: The junior suite is expensive but well worth it, if you want to splurge
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sumatrastraa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

735 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    467
    187
    61
    15
    5
See reviews for
139
401
10
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2012

Truly fantastic property, especially the public spaces. They created a tasteful lodge environment right on the beautiful Duoro River. Very low key and relaxing; nice large outdoor pool and outdoor dining available. This was just a one night stay in connection with our Rick Steves Portugal tour (12 days) which I highly recommend to everyone - a great experience from start to finish! My only complaint is that they provided neither computers nor wi-fi for guests who need to be connected, even on vacation.

Room Tip: Higher floor offers a nicer river view from your private balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kevinbernardi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2012

This was my favorite hotel of all I stayed in while in Portugal. The person who claimed it isn't "modern" didn't get the point. It is a tasteful, old-style hotel with the most spectacular views from the balcony (every room gets a river view, edged with terraced vineyard hills beyond). To not appreciate the the stunning azuleijo (Portuguese-tiled) bathrooms, aged leather couches, the soft throws, the spiral staircase, the log ceiling, similar to one I saw at a winery in Porto, is to be looking for something that doesn't spell "Portugal." There are people who want to stay in "modern" hotels no matter where they go. This hotel is the right place to be if you want a taste of the Douro region and the country you're actually in. The staff is serious and professional, but not stuffy in the least. We brought our own olives and cheese to the public room, and they still brought us our free glass of Port. Great hotel.

Room Tip: All rooms have river views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marta M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
287 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2012

We enjoyed 3 nights at the Vintage House Hotel. The service was friendly and very good. The hotel was very well positioned on the Douro River and we enjoyed the river and surrounding views. It was very quiet and peaceful. The rooms were comfortable however very dark. There were only 3 lamp shaded table lights to light up the whole room which made reading very difficult. There was an over the bath shower with shower curtains which we didn't expect from a top class hotel. The restaurant, lounge and bar areas were really elegant. We enjoyed the port tasting at the hotel one afternoon. It was a short walk to the village and there were good long walks through the vineyards to surrounding areas.

Room Tip: Rooms with river views are really good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JHJHGC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2012

Good and spacoius room, a little dark during the night. The balcony offers a wonderful view of the river. A restaurant is excellent. The staff is good although they´ve made some confusion concearning a boat cruise in the river.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Henrique R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2012

We were expecting a lot more based on the positive reviews but I feel compelled to provide some constructive comments here after a two night stay. The location is lovely and the building is quite something - particularly the dining terrace. Also, the food at the restaurant is amazing (although pricey). However, the decoration is well out of date and the staff, although polite, seem trained not to be friendly or attentive. We had to ask for help on numerous occasions and quite often the staff couldn't assist (this happened with directions, internet and a drink order). We felt alone. This led to a feeling of being in 'The Shining' coupled with the dated decor. I'm not trying to be harsh, but this hotel really needs to modernise - the decor, the service, the music, the breakfast... if not, someone entrepreneurial will set up a new offering that caters for the modern traveller. And the word is out - the Douro is being written about in international travel publications so people want to come and experience the incredible food, wine, port and scenery here. But they need somewhere modern (yet affordable) to stay...

Room Tip: All rooms have a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank writetomarlon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2012

Last year we did a trip from the Algarve to Porto. Excellent train connection from Faro to Porto by ALFA PENDULA, fast modern train with airline reclining seats. From Porto we took the regional train all along the river Douro foothills, passing the wine growing vineyards with spectacular views on route. We got off at PINHÃO and stayed at the VINTAGE HOUSE for 3 nights.Absolutely fabulous hotel amongst the vineyards.....reminded me very much of Constantia in Cape Town. Good food, lovely rooms, and friendly staff. A recommended stopover
We continued back by boat "THE DORA AZUL" down the Douro back to Porto. A trip that I would certainly want to repeat sometime later.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a view towards the Douro river
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HilmarPortugal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pinhao
2.4 mi away
Quinta do Pego
Quinta do Pego
#1 of 1 in Valenca Do Douro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
0.3 mi away
LBV House Hotel
LBV House Hotel
#4 of 4 in Pinhao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
3.8 mi away
Casa das Pipas
Casa das Pipas
#1 of 2 in Sabrosa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.8 mi away
Vila Gale Douro
Vila Gale Douro
#1 of 6 in Lamego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
24.8 mi away
Douro Palace Hotel Resort & Spa
Douro Palace Hotel Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Santa Cruz do Douro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
0.7 mi away
Quinta de la Rosa
Quinta de la Rosa
#1 of 2 in Pinhao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Vintage House Douro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Vintage House Douro

Property: The Vintage House Douro
Address: Rua Antonio Manuel Saraiva, Pinhao 5085-034, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Vila Real District > Pinhao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Pinhao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Vintage House Douro 5*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the Heart of Douro Valley's Demarcated Wine Region, considered World Heritage by UNESCO, you will find the The Vintage House - Douro, a 5 star luxury hotel overlooking the Douro river. In fact, when you get there you won't believe how close to the water it actually is. Once in your room, your first instinct will be to walk to the balcony to take in the unique landscape before you, already thinking how wonderful it will be to have lunch in the restaurant esplanade, making the best of the view. At night, after a meal in the award-winning "Rabelo" Restaurant, chat the night away with your friends in the "Library Bar", sipping a nice Port Wine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your The Vintage House Douro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cs Vintage Hotel
Cs Vintage Pinhao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing