We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely tops.”
Review of Hotel Douro

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Pinhao
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Douro
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Pinhao
Certificate of Excellence
Paris, France
Level Contributor
68 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Absolutely tops.”
Reviewed November 11, 2011

A joy to stay in this hotel. Like visiting old friends in their house. An excellent two star hotel but in Portugal it only has the rating of one star ?? The rooms which are spotlessly clean are not big but offer all comforts including air conditioning. Décor is classic Portuguese (see photos). The hotel is on the main street of the village and there is some traffic that passes. There are some trains (not many) that pass each day but they all seem to stop at the station so the noise is no problem. There doesn't appear to be any night trains. We opted for rooms on the street as they offered a splendid view of the river Douro. The windows are well sound proofed and sleeping for us was not a problem. However, if you are sensitive to noise and need total calm, I'd recommend taking a room at the back of the hotel but you won't have the view. The owners went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable. We had the honour of having a dinner with local fresh products especially prepared by the mother of the owner (24 hours notice needed). What a treat! The town is a good base to explore inland and on the river. There are two hour boat trips from Pinhâo on the river Douro which are excellent. Inland you can visit the wine estates and caves (called Quinta). We were five people and used a big taxi for our trips inland. The taxi, like most things in Portugal, was not expensive; cheaper than hiring a car for our say. If you are happy with good quality and friendly but not expensive hotel accommodation which includes lots of family care from the owners, then look no further than the Hotel Douro in Pinhâo.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank deadeggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    63
    13
    3
    1
See reviews for
22
97
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2011

If you are looking for a hotel to stay in Pinhão, right in the middle of the Douro Valley, in the Cima Corgo region, (or "Higher Corgo," where most of the top Porto wines come from,) the Hotel Douro is an excellent choice.
My group needed two rooms. Both rooms were spacious enough, if you don't plan to use them except for a good night's sleep. The rooms had good air conditioning, international TV, great internet access, (Free Internet access is available everywhere in the hotel,) and were immaculate clean.
Luis, (the hotel is family owned and his Dad sits most of the day at the entrance,) will do everything to help. From recommending a good local restaurant, to help organize your visit and boat river cruise.
The hotel is situated right in the middle of town, with a wonderful view of the river from its terrace, a short walk from the train station, the river pier, and restaurants.
You will leave feeling that your stay was worth every single penny you spent. No one can ask for better value for the money!
And for me, paying what I feel the place is worth, is the most important aspect, regardless of price.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lu A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
457 reviews
175 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2011

This hotel is very good value for the price.
Small but bright and clean rooms.
Free Internet that actually worked.
They also had CNN news channel which is rare even in three star hotels in Europe.

Elizabeth Hall
Sydney

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 1954Elizabeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2011

This very friendly and well run hotel was an oasis for us as we traveled by bicycle through the Douro wine country in Portugal. It is a family business, run by Luis, his father Antonio Luis, and his mother who provides a good breakfast in their bright and spacious restaurant. Rooms are clean and comfortable with a view of the river and (if you are their at the right time) of the grape harvest rolling by in trucks under your window. Free Wi-fi, across the street from the train station and the river. We had our dinners with local wine on the terrace watching the sun set over the Douro hills, an experience we will remember and dwell on in the Canadian winter months we have ahead. The Hotel Douro is great value, hosts excellent, and we would highly recommend a stay there.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank mhurlburt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland, UK
Level Contributor
216 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2011

This is not a luxury hotel, but is probably just about worth the €55 per room per night. The breakfast is very good and you are asked if you want more of anything. Everything works and it is quite comfortable. We asked for a quiet room and Luis gave us a room on the back, which was fortunate as we arrived when the grape harvest was in full swing with loads of lorries banging along the road outside the front of the hotel.There is a small balcony area for the hotel, but we preferred to walk along the street to the Cafe Imperio which is a little bar, for a drink or two before dinner.
The roast goat dinner that has been raved about was OK, but nothing special, though there is not a great deal of choice in the small town. We had a decent dinner one night down by the river at the Vela Douro. It is easy to miss, as it is behind the other restaurant on the riverside. The "cow neck" was absolutely brilliant.
The hotel prefers you to pay in cash and will charge for card payments.
The train to Regua is frequent, but there's not much there either, though we had a great lunch in a Pizzeria that sits at the far end of the town.
So, overall, we were quite happy for the price.

Room Tip: Quiet rooms on the back. Rooms with a view of the river etc are on the front on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank firtreecott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2011

We had a fantastic time staying here, Louis was an excellent host. His mothers home cooked lamb was the best food we had in Portugal!! Amazing location river views and across the road from the train station. We had the best time here!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TnANewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2011

This was a cute hotel with very nice staff. Important to note that there is no elevator and lots of steps. The room was clean with a beautiful view of the Douro river. Parking was available on the street on a first come first serve basis. Free wifi included!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank madtchr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pinhao
0.1 mi away
The Vintage House Douro
0.2 mi away
LBV House Hotel
LBV House Hotel
#4 of 4 in Pinhao
136 reviews
2.4 mi away
Quinta do Pego
Quinta do Pego
#1 of 1 in Valenca Do Douro
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Hotel Casa do Tua
Hotel Casa do Tua
#1 of 1 in Foz Tua
29 reviews
12.7 mi away
Vila Gale Douro
Vila Gale Douro
#1 of 6 in Lamego
206 reviews
0.7 mi away
Quinta de la Rosa
Quinta de la Rosa
#1 of 2 in Pinhao
377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Douro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Douro

Property: Hotel Douro
Address: Rua Antonio Manuel Saraiva 39, Pinhao 5085-037, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Vila Real District > Pinhao
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Pinhao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Douro 1*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are in the Pinhao...Pinhao is a village from the Alijo County, located on the right side of the Douro River. This little town is also one of the most beautiful places of Portugal.The peaceful village has an area of about 300 acres.Pinhao is 17 kilometres far from the county seat Alijo and 38 kilometres from the capital of the district, Vila Real. The toponymy of Pinhao is justified by the fact that you can find there the junction of the Pinhao River, which is an affluent of the Douro. Pinhao is located on the very heart of the Upper Douro Region. It`s a village where the astonished landscape is dominated by the mountain, shaped in terraces all along the Douro River. The quality and the good reception of our house make the difference. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing